Page 38 of 54 FirstFirst ... 28363738394048 ... LastLast

Thread: FAI Junior Cup 2006/07

Talking

Quote Originally Posted by Goals4fun View Post
    while they are still in it they have as much chance as anybody else left in it.
    Maybe you think pike are above them but how did ye get on in the league this year ?
    ur mad carew are out of the league already plus how could any1 fancy them they have never even won a local trophy for nearly 5or 6 years

Quote Originally Posted by the only 1 View Post
    ur mad carew are out of the league already plus how could any1 fancy them they have never even won a local trophy for nearly 5or 6 years
    yeah but they are still in the fai. they will beat newtown handy if they make it through.
    anything can happen from now on in the fai. they are not consistant in the league but on their day they can cause problems.i wouldn't discard them just yet
    'You should never have a bad game, off the ball.......'

yeah but they are still in the fai. they will beat newtown handy if they make it through
    cup football, anything can happen. Sure didn't Park get to the last 8 with a poor team
    you are only a loser when you stop trying. Playing sport does not build character, it reveals it.

yeah but they are still in the fai. they will beat newtown handy if they make it through.
    anything can happen from now on in the fai. they are not consistant in the league but on their day they can cause problems.i wouldn't discard them just yet
    not consistant coz there **** they didnt meet a good team yet they are the wimbledon of the 80s

International Prospect abbeyvale's Avatar
    32 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by jimbo View Post
    fair play abbey, would be some achievement for tolka to qualify now for the last 8; is there a system of buy backs like in poker?? if so is going to be a long drawn out comp!!

predictions: kill clonmel to go to pens;would be suprised if port won in carrick but ya never know;castlerea to be the suprise and get to last 8
    Sorry lads typo, I meant Trinity
    68, 99, 08

Question grattans pitch

van as usual you are as helpful as ever,grattans pitch is just over 70 yards by 110 yards which is well within the FIFA regulations and its 8 yards from corner flag to the edge of the 18 yard box,it may not be the best pitch in the country but its all we have,the dressing rooms,though they are not great are only a stop gap till our new dressing room facilities which will be starting building work in May are done and any team that reguires the use of showers are facilitated no problem as we have the use of the dressimg rooms in knocknaheeney indoor complex which is as good as anything in the country and they are only 400 yards from our pitch just ask peake villa i'd say they were quite happy with our set up,though our set up may seem a little unorthadox it is excellent.You are incorrect in your discription as regards the slope of the pitch,it is not left to right but straight up with a slight rise in the very left hand corner if you are playing up and that only comes into play when you have to take a corner kick if you are right legged,but the surface is very good and the grass is short but lush,its great to play ball on,the FAI is open to all junior clubs in Ireland,with all types of pitches and dressing rooms,it is not the FAI junior ''its only open to teams with great pitchs and facilities'' cup,there is not a pitch on the planet that is totally flat or perfect,if pike can adapt they could win if they dont grattan could win,either way moanin about the state of the pitch or the dressin rooms just seems a bit snobish................
    Last edited by hooperlooper; 01/02/2007 at 7:58 PM.

I've only ever heard of Greenmount, Leeside, Maymount, Passage from cork any of these teams in the same league as Grattan?

teams in relation to grattan

greenmount have fallen from grace,seems like only a few years ago they won the mjc but they are in free fall now,that team got old together and had nothin comin through,pity though its a shame to see a great club side fall down the ranks,maymount,and leeside are decent but nothin special,maymount depepend a lot on there minor set up,they have promised a lot over the last few years but have not delivered,short fuses so to speak,leeside are there or there abouts most seasons,hit a purple patch a few seasons ago winning a few league titles and AOH cups,then fell quiet but they should have a go this year and look like the only side who will challange eithr Grattan or Kinsale for the premier cork aul title,passage last year went to the msl,they had spent the last 3 or 4 years just avoidin relegation by the odd win so it was timely that they left before they were finally relegated,maymount and leeside are in the aul premier,grattan are above these 2 with games in hand,greenmount are in the premier A, a division below and passage are in the msl premier,only god knows how the msl make any sense of there divisions because the correct title for passage ,they play in the MUNSTER SENIOR LEAGUE PREMIER DIVISION 1A ,if u follow that,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,Grattan are in 4th position in the cork premier aul,played 3 won 3,for 8 against 3,park utd are on top with 7 played and and about 12points,macroom next with 9 played then kinsale 3rd with 4 played and then grattan and the teams below them have 7 and 8 games played and less than 9 points so that says a lot for them,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,
    Last edited by hooperlooper; 02/02/2007 at 7:50 PM.

Any news of the FAI Youths draw?

what about kilunmney hooper; do they play in the same lge as yourselves

Hooperlooper.... 8 + 8 = 16. 16 plus 44(width of are)= 60

how you get 70 yards wide???

Last 16

Newcastle West V Villa fc, Ballygown Park kick off @2pm (outside officials)

Quote Originally Posted by leather View Post
    Hooperlooper.... 8 + 8 = 16. 16 plus 44(width of are)= 60

how you get 70 yards wide???
    we must borrow dermot finnans measuring tape

right lads prediction time for weekend; scores etc

46 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by the only 1 View Post
    not consistant coz there **** they didnt meet a good team yet they are the wimbledon of the 80s

i think thats an unfair comment i know for a fact none of the carew lads expect to win the fai there susprised themselves on how far they have come and with a home tie next there very relaxed because no one expects them to win it. jason o connor is buliding a team that can challange for the league on day its his first season and he is doing a very good job the first thing he got into the club was discipline which was the cause of carew losing so many cup finals and important games over the years. carew have not picked up one red card this season how many clubs can say that. you have to remember out of a squad of 20 all he has left out of the players who are with carew a long time are gordon, albert sla, ger ned, wheelen, koyce, mike carey, he has signed some excellant players who are doing very well for the club etc rhino,farmer,phil cla, ming, johnny corbett, and with the the work started on there new home which will rival any set up around things appear good for the future of the club

65 Posts
    Backed clonmel at 2/1 to beat Killester in ladbrokes
    "I'm just a chilled out entertainer"

Blog

cant see them doing killester in 90 mins to be fair; might beat them on pens; wont have come across 2 lads as quick as killester have up front; are clonmel coming up the night before?

Thumbs up jimbo and leather

leather,,,,,,,,,,,,the 18 yard box is only a reference to the distance from the end line to the edge of the penalty area,the width of the penalty area just has to be greater than that of the 6 yard box,which has to start at right angles to the end line 6 yards out from the goal and 6 yards to the side of each goal post,the edge of the ''box'' from left to right can be of any distance greater than this just as long as it is 18 yards from goal line to edge of area.there is a minimum distane to be used as a guide line but it is not obligitry,you can always look at the fifa web site FIFA.COM if you need any futher help with the rules,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,, ,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,, ,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,, ,,jimbo killumney play in the cork premier A just below the top teir,there pitch is in killeady,which is half way down to bandon,its a decent pitch flat and wide,they can be quite physcial at times but are a decent football side if left to run a game, a few good experienced players and they were one of the first teams down in cork to start crossin the palms of players so to speak in order to climb up the ranks,we played them last year and the best ad vice i can give is to have a couple of quick wide men and get them to take the full backs on as much as possible as they dont take any prisoners in d tackle,for a physcial side they dont like it bein done to them which is a common trait amoungst that kind of side so at them from the start and you should be sorted ''ps there keeper is quite good so keep your crosses away from him,hope this was of some help

Quote Originally Posted by hooperlooper View Post
    leather,,,,,,,,,,,,the 18 yard box is only a reference to the distance from the end line to the edge of the penalty area,the width of the penalty area just has to be greater than that of the 6 yard box,which has to start at right angles to the end line 6 yards out from the goal and 6 yards to the side of each goal post,the edge of the ''box'' from left to right can be of any distance greater than this just as long as it is 18 yards from goal line to edge of area.there is a minimum distane to be used as a guide line but it is not obligitry,you can always look at the fifa web site FIFA.COM if you need any futher help with the rules,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,, ,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,, ,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,, ,,jimbo killumney play in the cork premier A just below the top teir,there pitch is in killeady,which is half way down to bandon,its a decent pitch flat and wide,they can be quite physcial at times but are a decent football side if left to run a game, a few good experienced players and they were one of the first teams down in cork to start crossin the palms of players so to speak in order to climb up the ranks,we played them last year and the best ad vice i can give is to have a couple of quick wide men and get them to take the full backs on as much as possible as they dont take any prisoners in d tackle,for a physcial side they dont like it bein done to them which is a common trait amoungst that kind of side so at them from the start and you should be sorted ''ps there keeper is quite good so keep your crosses away from him,hope this was of some help
    mother of devine god mr.hooperlooper u either are the fastest typer in the world or ya have nout else for doin.......

Quote Originally Posted by hooperlooper View Post
    leather,,,,,,,,,,,,the 18 yard box is only a reference to the distance from the end line to the edge of the penalty area,the width of the penalty area just has to be greater than that of the 6 yard box,which has to start at right angles to the end line 6 yards out from the goal and 6 yards to the side of each goal post,the edge of the ''box'' from left to right can be of any distance greater than this just as long as it is 18 yards from goal line to edge of area.there is a minimum distane to be used as a guide line but it is not obligitry,you can always look at the fifa web site FIFA.COM if you need any futher help with the rules
    Incorrect.

The Box must be 18 yards from the endline to the edge of the box (as you say)

The box must also be 18 yards from the goalpost (Law 1 states)

The goal is 8 yards wide

The width of the box from one side to the other is 44 yards (18+18+8)

You can check FIFAs Law book if you require any further help with the rules!

The Ref
    Smile........ it confuses people

Page 38 of 54 FirstFirst ... 28363738394048 ... LastLast