Page 26 of 54 FirstFirst ... 16242526272836 ... LastLast

Thread: FAI Junior Cup 2006/07

your manager converted me last week when i met him must of been all that talk of the minors he was going playing.fair play to ye

51 Posts
    Any more results from yestarday?

1 GRATTAN UTD v CLONMEL CELTIC
    2 NEWTOWN v ST. JAMES GATE
    3 CORDUFF v LAKEWOOD ATH/COACHFORD
    4 GALWAY HIBS
    5 WEMBLEY
    6 STRAND ATH/SHANGAN ATH v ABBEYFEALE
    7 BALLYMUN UTD v MALAHIDE UTD
    8 LAGAN HARPS
    9 VILLA
    10 LISADELL UTD
    11 CLONMEL TOWN
    12 NEWCASTLE WEST
    13 CARRICK UTD
    14 WEST UTD
    15 KILLINARDEN ATH/DRUMCONDRA/TOLKA ROVERS v GLEBE
    NORTH/FINGAL ATH/TRINITY CORTHS.
    16 KILLARNEY CELTIC v ROCKMOUNT/BALLYPHEHANE CELTIC
    17 WOODVIEW CEL
    18 SALTHILL DEVON v DCU
    19 CAHIR PARK
    20 PEAKE VILLA
    21 CASTLEREA CELTIC v KILUMNEY UTD/HILLINGTON
    22 BALDOYLE UTD
    23 KILLESTER UTD
    24 BELLURGAN UTD v CHERRYFIELD UTD/OLD CHURCH
    UTD/BLACKDITCH UTD
    25 PORTMARNOCK
    26 ST JOHN BOSCO/ST VINCENTS HOSPITAL v ERRIS UTD
    27 W.F.TA FC v MELVILLE/MULLINGAR ATH
    28 PIKE ROVERS
    29 BALLINA TOWN
    30 ABBEY UTD
    31 JANESBORO
    32 CAREW PARK

115 Posts
    Some results off Aertel:

BALLYMUN 1-0 MALAHIDE UTD
    SHANGAN ATH 3-2 ABBEYFEALE FC
    PORTMARNOCK FC 2-1 WESTPORT UTD
    TWO ML BORRIS 0-6 KILLESTER UTD

Apart from here is there any website that has this updated?!
    I phoned the speaking clock to hear a voice speak, it said - "At the tone you will be very much alone"

51 Posts
    Any more results from yestarday?

1 GRATTAN UTD v CLONMEL CELTIC
    2 NEWTOWN v ST. JAMES GATE
    3 CORDUFF v LAKEWOOD ATH/COACHFORD
    4 GALWAY HIBS
    5 WEMBLEY
    6 SHANGAN ATH
    7 BALLYMUN UTD
    8 LAGAN HARPS
    9 VILLA
    10 LISADELL UTD
    11 CLONMEL TOWN
    12 NEWCASTLE WEST
    13 CARRICK UTD
    14 WEST UTD
    15 KILLINARDEN ATH/DRUMCONDRA/TOLKA ROVERS v GLEBE
    NORTH/FINGAL ATH/TRINITY CORTHS.
    16 KILLARNEY CELTIC v ROCKMOUNT/BALLYPHEHANE CELTIC
    17 WOODVIEW CEL
    18 SALTHILL DEVON v DCU
    19 CAHIR PARK
    20 PEAKE VILLA
    21 CASTLEREA CELTIC v KILUMNEY UTD/HILLINGTON
    22 BALDOYLE UTD
    23 KILLESTER UTD
    24 BELLURGAN UTD v CHERRYFIELD UTD/OLD CHURCH
    UTD/BLACKDITCH UTD
    25 PORTMARNOCK
    26 ST JOHN BOSCO/ST VINCENTS HOSPITAL v ERRIS UTD
    27 W.F.TA FC v MELVILLE/MULLINGAR ATH
    28 PIKE ROVERS
    29 BALLINA TOWN
    30 ABBEY UTD
    31 JANESBORO
    32 CAREW PARK

was down at the clonmel - glass game yesterday, great game of cup football, town scored early on and should have gone in at half time at least 2 up, crystal came out fighting as you would expect from champions and equalised , after that it was all town again and the glass keeper was outstanding in goal stopped everythin.Penalties were brilliant only one missed in the whole lot...the poor centre half, as for the borris killester post, mate no offence but ya don't know too much about the TSDL if ya think borris are decent, they're quiet poor actually and still held there own for long periods, in saying that killester looked good and took their chances, as fa as i know the draw for the next round last 32 is being made on the sports bag on 2FM next sunday morning same as last year it may throw up a few interesting ties alot of big teams left still......

Thumbs down Referee's Performance Against Portmarnock!!

Beaten against Portmarnock and were unlucky. Could have been 3-0 up before we went 1-0 down. The gaffer equalised and we were under a bit of pressure. In the first period of extra time, the ref, who was somewhat bordering on "hometown" denied us a blatant penalty when David "Spiderman" Hoban was taken down by both the goalkeeper and the centre half. To rub it in, they went on to win the game. Porto were a nice bunch of people and looked after us very well but teams travelling to the Capital should expect fair play from the match officials. There were a lot of very angry people at the game over the referee's performance.
    Never play leapfrog with a unicorn!!

Give it up will you Thunderblaster you were beaten fair and square yesterday. We were fitter, stronger, faster and wanted it more.

Yes you had chances first half but second half we murdered you, even your number 4 (Bren?) admitted it after the game, you were dead on your feet last 20 minutes. Your keeper pulled off 3 or 4 unbelievable saves and if he could kick the ball out he would be a Junior International. The penalty incident was NO penalty, as the player involved admitted it was a brilliant last-gasp tackle by our sweeper who was man of the match. Take your beating and shut up belly aching about the ref! By the way you will be very lucky if the abusive eejits (should be old enough to know better) who abused him all the way back to the dressing room do not result in a hefty fine or worse for your club. They are a shame on your good name.

Ask any Dublin or AUL club about that ref and they will tell you he is anything but a friend of Portmarnock, quite the opposite. I won't even talk about the many times we have encountered dodgy country refs on our travels, Galway Hibs springs to mind, officials sneering and laughing at our players after the game. Its all about the scoreline, the rest is hot air and bull$hit ....

Can't believe you didn't see that as a penalty

Hoban was clearly fouled (by two defenders), well inside the box. There was no other decision for the ref to make other than give the peno. And no, it's not about us being sore losers, it's about fair play. Think of the match as a whole and how many frees did we get within twenty/thirds yards of the Portmarnock goal? One is the answer. Oh yeah,we got plenty on the half way line and in our own half but nothing where we could hurt them. Now look at how many they got close to our goal. I can think of five off the top of my head, immediately after we equalised Joe Lawless was penalised for a perfect tackle just outside our penalty area. It was like that all day and that's the truth whether you want to accept it or not.
    On your football points;I can't accept that you would have won clearly were it not for our keeper. He did make some good saves but remind me again, what about your keeper and the saves he made,or is that just my imagination. Ye weren't fitter, stronger and faster and you certainly didn't want it more and to suggest so is insulting to your opponents. Were you privy to the mindset of the United players when you made that remark. Listen, we'll get on with it and our club has been getting on with it for nearly one hundred years at this stage. We know the game and we know how it works, there are winners and there are losers, it's the world we live in and yes, you're right, the only thing that counts is the result. But it doesn't mean we have to pretend that everything was alright there yesterday. It wasn't and you know that. Best of luck in the next round and that's being sincere.

Ask Hoban was he fouled. Because I did, and he said no.

Take the beating lads, the whinging isnt doing ye any favours.

Actually, I did and he said he was, not once but twice.

We're not whinging, just stating a few facts. Isn't that what this forum is all about. And by the way, if the ref wasn't a homer, why no red card for the player who hit Fahy, the ref saw it and gave a yellow!

Same reason as no yellow card at all for any of your players in the whole game, despite some that I felt warranted a card. A weak ref. PLUS the corner that led to your equalizer should have been a free out for offside, dont hear you commenting on that? PLUS the foul that led to our player pushing (not punching) your player deserved a yellow as well. We could go on an on but lets agree to differ? And how about a comment on the abusive treatment of the ref after the match, do you condone that?

I think that your number 8 and 9 are two of the best players I've seen at Junior level in a long time, but your defence is badly wanting for pace and also were a bit naive? 5 short corners in a row and still you only sent one man out to mark two taking the corner? Thats not the hallmark of a Cup winning team. Not that we are going to win the Junior Cup this year (because Killester will) but it gave us great pride to get the win yesterday in what is a re-building season after losing all our great senior players in the summer.

Listen, we could go on and on and both of us

would find plenty to write about so let's just leave it at that. Ye won and on the balance of play that was fair enough. I was only making the points that I felt were worth making and no, I don't condone abuse of referees, but it happens. You make some valid points too and I do hope you go on and do well in the competition. Killester look the team to beat but I thought that last year too and they blew it so don't rule anything in or out yet. As for our team, well I don't think we were going to win it this year, we started on Sunday without five of the players that won the Junior Cup for us and lost the very influential Dave Cam in the first half. But we'll get stronger in the new year and I think the Connacht Cup is a realistic target for us this year and then after that, maybe we can look at the Junior Cup again next year but we do need to have a full squad to pick from. All the best again and a Happy Christmas.

Quote Originally Posted by Proud cove View Post
    would find plenty to write about so let's just leave it at that. Ye won and on the balance of play that was fair enough. I was only making the points that I felt were worth making and no, I don't condone abuse of referees, but it happens. You make some valid points too and I do hope you go on and do well in the competition. Killester look the team to beat but I thought that last year too and they blew it so don't rule anything in or out yet. As for our team, well I don't think we were going to win it this year, we started on Sunday without five of the players that won the Junior Cup for us and lost the very influential Dave Cam in the first half. But we'll get stronger in the new year and I think the Connacht Cup is a realistic target for us this year and then after that, maybe we can look at the Junior Cup again next year but we do need to have a full squad to pick from. All the best again and a Happy Christmas.
    when is the draw / nest round being played......................

Quote Originally Posted by ffffff View Post
    when is the draw / nest round being played......................

Draw Next Sunday
    "When faced with total negativity, a smile is a weapon of mass destruction"

Quote Originally Posted by Old keeper View Post
    Draw Next Sunday
    time+station?

Quote Originally Posted by Proud cove View Post
    We're not whinging, just stating a few facts. Isn't that what this forum is all about. And by the way, if the ref wasn't a homer, why no red card for the player who hit Fahy, the ref saw it and gave a yellow!
    Sounds like you are whinging to me. Everyone knows that once you have to travel in Cup games out side your County, you will rarely get a Ref who will favor the away team. As for Thunderblaster's point re missing 5 players from 2005, you cannot keep the same team for ever. Bring through you youths. Every team changes year in year out at Junior level. Players retiring, moving, etc.

51 Posts
    2005 Westport
    2006 Waterford Cystal

Both last 2 years champions are gone so who left will win it this year. - think it could be Killester year

Quote Originally Posted by swinfordfc View Post
    2005 Westport
    2006 Waterford Cystal

Both last 2 years champions are gone so who left will win it this year. - think it could be Killester year
    Definitely would like them to win it alright. A nice club, a nice team that play good football and nice people. If not Killester, put money on Pike Rovers or Clonmel Town.

Quote Originally Posted by Dr Mad View Post
    By the way you will be very lucky if the abusive eejits (should be old enough to know better) who abused him all the way back to the dressing room do not result in a hefty fine or worse for your club. They are a shame on your good name.
    We do not condone abuse to referees. The club has already got punished twice this year for abusing referees. It got a €250 fine and ordered to play a home league game away for abuse in the Mayo Cup semi final and it received a €50 fine for a similar offence in the previous round of the FAI Junior Cup. I am actually involved with kids and remonstrating with referees is a strict no-no in my department and never complained to a referee all season.

Quote Originally Posted by Dr Mad View Post
    Ask any Dublin or AUL club about that ref and they will tell you he is anything but a friend of Portmarnock, quite the opposite. I won't even talk about the many times we have encountered dodgy country refs on our travels, Galway Hibs springs to mind, officials sneering and laughing at our players after the game.
    I can believe that you encountered dodgy referees. Every club in the country experienced it. Back in 2003, Liffey Wanderers played us in Westport and we got a goal in extra time from a corner and it was clearly a goal kick. Liffey Wanderers were incensed ind rightly so. We beat them 4-2 after extra time, but that corner should never have been given.

At the end of the day, I don't want to fall out with anybody over this and as far as I'm concerned, Portmarnock are a nice club that looked after us very well. The battle is over, lets move on and the very best of luck in the remainder of your season as we now embark on the Connacht Cup.

Quote Originally Posted by JC_GUFC View Post
    Some results off Aertel:

BALLYMUN 1-0 MALAHIDE UTD
    SHANGAN ATH 3-2 ABBEYFEALE FC
    PORTMARNOCK FC 2-1 WESTPORT UTD
    TWO ML BORRIS 0-6 KILLESTER UTD

Apart from here is there any website that has this updated?!
    Abbeyfeale through away this game 2-0 up towards the end of the half when reduced to ten men, and it was all Shangan after that..
    Newcastle West had a great win against Wilton United 2-1, two strikes in the last 10mins stunned Wilton

Page 26 of 54 FirstFirst ... 16242526272836 ... LastLast