Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Thread: Gartland-The cruellest defeat ever

Quote Originally Posted by Sheridan View Post
    Would have expected Connor to get hands on more than 1/12 too.
    He got his hands on 3 or 4 of them. He nearly saved the 11th he touched on to the underside of the bar

International Prospect DmanDmythDledge's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Dyl10 View Post
    He got his hands on 3 or 4 of them. He nearly saved the 11th he touched on to the underside of the bar
    Agonising. So close to winning it.

well done Drogs,

So unlucky, couldn't have been closer in the end.........
    Well done to all though, ye done yourselves proud...

It's amazing the difference between winning and losing.If the ball had hit the bar and bounced out you would've had at least two more huge games,more income from games and probably tv rights,it would've been the greatest night in europe for the league.I'm really sickened for all loi supporters and especially the drogs support and gartland.
    No Comment.

Quote Originally Posted by nshoop View Post
    It's amazing the difference between winning and losing.If the ball had hit the bar and bounced out you would've had at least two more huge games,more income from games and probably tv rights,it would've been the greatest night in europe for the league.I'm really sickened for all loi supporters and especially the drogs support and gartland.
    we lose out too!

At least Gartland's had a very good career thus far in Ireland.

Is he the only player to win 3 FAI Cups in a row?

Add a league cup & a setanta cup to that and it's not a bad haul for 5 yrs work!

I know we got the co-eff points and they had a good campaign but it still puts a sour taste on a sweet night,f*cking sickened
    No Comment.

82 Posts
    Hard luck Drogs. The radio was absorbing (when it was working) and made the journey back to Dublin from the Brandywell go much quicker.

Terrible way to go out but the fans sounded brilliant, singing right to the end and not missing a beat when the final penalty went in.

Quote Originally Posted by OneRedArmy View Post
    The radio was absorbing (when it was working) and made the journey back to Dublin from the Brandywell go much quicker..
    Mine went right dodgy at the very end....I thought I was going to miss out. It was the most exciting radio I've ever listened to. Well done to Gabriel Egan and Eoin Hand.

Foot.ie!

What a night for Drogs, team and support.The big break through is imminent.The list of teams beaten by EL opposition is impressive, Malmo,Odense,Start, Djurgardens, Split,Gothenburg[3 times],Ekranes,Aberdeen.Remember its not that long ago that Pats lost 10 nil over 2 legs to Eastern European opposition....Doubt ya Drogs...

21 Posts
    It was really a great game to be at - I mean, the quality of the play was not great (both teams completly lost their shape for most of the second half & much of extra time), but just to be there for the 24 pennos - I was in the Des Kelly stand, right behind the goal, where you could see the whites of their eyes! The quality of the pennos was top class - the 3 that were saved were really the only 3 that could have been saved - Connor got his hands to one of the best shots too (but could only palm it into the top corner )
    The atmosphere was great & fair play to all the Drogs supporters who never let up with the chants, songs & clapping
    A great night
    just not the right result

112 Posts
    was glued to the Sky box listening to commentary when i heard there was a penalty shootout in progress. hard luck to Drogs, would have been great to see them in the draw. gutted for Gartland too, so unlucky. wonderful commentary from RTE too.
    'Fascists dress in black and go round telling people what to do, where as priests.....'

Quote Originally Posted by DmanDmythDledge View Post
    It had to be the same order second time round.

I feel really sorry for Gartland, so unlucky that he was the only Drogheda player to miss. I'm sure that the Drog fans won't hold it against him.

Sorry for Gartland, very good player. However, as far as I know you DO NOT have to go in the same order. Once all 11 players have taken a penalty, they can change the order for the second set of penalties.

Drogs were unlucky alright. Great atmosphere at the game-the Drogs lads kept the volume up for the full 120+mins. Fair play.

I felt physically sick listening to the penalties....my son and I were on the edge of our seats. God was gutted for them....Poor Garto.

Want to add my congrats to all the Drogs fans for their creation of athmosphere. They are such a nice bunch of lads & deserve the congrats.

Cheers for the kind words folks.

Totally gutted after that. I thought that once it went to peno's that luck would be on our side. But I have to say that the quality of the peno's were outstanding. IK Start's peno's were top class, all their players were very cool, same as us really.

Garto can hold his head up high. He was immense last night and has been all season. Unfortunately someone was going to be dealt a bad card and last night was him.

The atmosphere was great again, another reason why more people should go to EL games.

We'll bounce back and hopefully this will be a springboad to challenge for the league.
    Forzadrogs.....A blog by a Drog with an opinion!

Comiserations Drogs fans, like the rest of the ground I was sure for a split second that Dan had kept out the penultimate one. Great night, fair play to the crowd in the shopping centre end of the Jodi, kept singing all night. The barstooler I brought to the game was gutted coming out - said he hadn't expected the game to be so good. The Start players celebrated like they'd won the world cup - definitely Norwegian teams will show a lot more respect in future I think.

At least there was a coefficient point out of it, so there are plenty of positives after the perfomances from both Irish teams.
    Foot.ie's entire existence is predicated on the average idiot's inability to ignore other idiots

144 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by joeSoap View Post
    Mine went right dodgy at the very end....I thought I was going to miss out. It was the most exciting radio I've ever listened to. Well done to Gabriel Egan and Eoin Hand.
    Yeah, mine too , think when the line went (again) during the shootout they went to mobile phone thats probably why it sounded crap but at least we didn't miss out.
    Disappointed for Drogheda, mixed feelings for Connor but kept expecting him to save another one every time Drogs scored. Cruel way to go out but credit for the victory.

Quote Originally Posted by Dodge View Post
    Patricks Reject...

Idiot
    you are my sunshine, my only Sunshine......

How so? He was at Pat and at the time wasn't good enough. Therefore we rejected him (played one league cup game, never played in the league)

(Not denying I'm an idiot mind...)

poor crowd, only 4124, ie half the ground empty.

Thought there would have been way more than that at it.

Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast