Page 17 of 114 FirstFirst ... 715161718192767 ... LastLast

Thread: Limerick Division 1A 2006/07

Quote Originally Posted by magicman View Post
    Dunno if many people have heard this but with the amount of players Wembley are taking off other teams in town, other clubs are begining to get p****d off.

From what i have been told unofficially, clubs in Wembley's U16, 17 and minor leagues are considering forming together to give Wembley walkovers in all their games. In other words handing them the title.

Talking to club manager's, their problem is not the poaching by Wembley to improve the teams, its the taking players to stop all other competition against them.
    It has gotten to the stage where in these age groups Wembley are sitting on squads of 18 or 19 players, all of which would walk onto any other team in town.

It is not sour grapes either, because every team will admit that Wembley are one of the best teams in the country but what good is it for schoolboy or even junior soccer in the town?
    wembley dont approach players to come and sign for them....... they never had and they never will.....its always the player approaches the club by contacting someone involved with wembley..... these young players have seen the success the underages have had in past years and know that a good fai run could lead to an international call up(e.g. liam barrett, shane treacy and shane clarke) or even better getting spotted by a scout from england.....

Quote Originally Posted by scoobysham View Post
    wembley dont approach players to come and sign for them....... they never had and they never will.....its always the player approaches the club by contacting someone involved with wembley..... these young players have seen the success the underages have had in past years and know that a good fai run could lead to an international call up(e.g. liam barrett, shane treacy and shane clarke) or even better getting spotted by a scout from england.....
    ha ha are u for real, easily known u arent with wembley that long anyway, wembley were banned from schoolboys a few years back for poaching players and all there schoolboys teams were kicked out of the league, they are only reformed again in last couple of years so i dont know where u got "never have" and believe me they are poaching players, i know only too well.its management contacting players not other way round.

Well you seem to be some expert on the subject?? So come on give us some facts instead of just throwing allegations around like this! Yes WEMBLEY were thrown out of schoolboys for poaching but that was ten years ago, not the last couple of years!!! Not the same committee not the same managers so not the same problems.

Quote Originally Posted by kalyani View Post
    ha ha are u for real, easily known u arent with wembley that long anyway, wembley were banned from schoolboys a few years back for poaching players and all there schoolboys teams were kicked out of the league, they are only reformed again in last couple of years so i dont know where u got "never have" and believe me they are poaching players, i know only too well.its management contacting players not other way round.
    this is my 7 th season with wembley...... have been with them since minors and they have had a scoolboy sides for a lot more than a couple of years as u put it... look the best underage players want to play with the best underage teams and wembley are streets ahead of everyone else.... a main reason why the junior team have struggled to get out of 1a is because the management have a policy of not approaching players and this means it is difficult to attract players.......

maybe still in 1a because the players go back to their original clubs

if wembley are streets ahead in the schoolboys they shouldnt have to chase players for the A team should they?

My club have been approached to meet regarding this issue. Wembley have already received two walkovers at youth level this season. The thinking is "let them have the league" by each club giving two walkovers Wembley will have no local opposition.
    Clubs are sick of nurturing players until the are "good enough for Wembley" then have to get hammered with the help of your former schoolboys when they meet.
    This is serious. Clubs would be fined twice but still within the limits of being thrown out of league.
    The lack of games should force Wembley to rethink their policy.

What policy????? Players are leaving for Wembley of there own free will!!
    Why arent these clubs doing more to hold onto ye're players and instead giving walkovers which is just punishing all the other players on the team for NOT moving club!!

Quote Originally Posted by leather View Post
    maybe still in 1a because the players go back to their original clubs
    thanks, took words out of my mouth, go back to original clubs, exactly, thats why wembley struggle with junior cos have no players coming through there own ranks. sorry i didnt quote correct number of years but the main fact of my point is correct, wembley do poach and believe me i know only too well as i said. have done in the past, and are still doing it today, but i know wembley have to a certain extent because there is no real estates our houses or one particular area for wembley to choose from, im not getting at wembley at all, i was cheering them on when they won both fai in last couple of years, great for limerick soccer to take a few of underage national cups away from dublin.and i say fair play to a certain extent to the 3 or 4 people who are running that club on there own.its just a pity we cant have 3 or 4 teams from limerick in every age group good enough to challenge the dublin teams, we have to ruin every other team in limerick to make up 1 very good team to challenge them.

Talking

Quote Originally Posted by barryk View Post
    My club have been approached to meet regarding this issue. Wembley have already received two walkovers at youth level this season. The thinking is "let them have the league" by each club giving two walkovers Wembley will have no local opposition.
    Clubs are sick of nurturing players until the are "good enough for Wembley" then have to get hammered with the help of your former schoolboys when they meet.
    This is serious. Clubs would be fined twice but still within the limits of being thrown out of league.
    The lack of games should force Wembley to rethink their policy.
    Sounds like every team at youth level are a pack of babies. you might remember pike rovers about ten years ago, with the likes of Niall Mac from Garryowen and Mike Costelloe from Clonmaken (Origionally from England), both of whom went to England to play, Notts Forest and Tranmere Rovers respectively to be exact, not to forget the rest of the pike team also. They were winning there games in limerick pretty easy too, and were known for poaching players all over the place, but never did a team shy away from them. All of the youth teams thinking of giving Wembley a walkover, stop letting managers tie yeer boot laces and grow up. It isnt the little girls soccer league yee are playing in.

Quote Originally Posted by scoobie2 View Post
    Sounds like every team at youth level are a pack of babies. you might remember pike rovers about ten years ago, with the likes of Niall Mac from Garryowen and Mike Costelloe from Clonmaken (Origionally from England), both of whom went to England to play, Notts Forest and Tranmere Rovers respectively to be exact, not to forget the rest of the pike team also. They were winning there games in limerick pretty easy too, and were known for poaching players all over the place, but never did a team shy away from them. All of the youth teams thinking of giving Wembley a walkover, stop letting managers tie yeer boot laces and grow up. It isnt the little girls soccer league yee are playing in.
    if anything teams should be more determined to go out and try beat wembley!

Quote Originally Posted by allab View Post
    Exactly so stop giving out and just get on with it.....

the last 2 posts i have to agree with...... so childish to give walkovers.... wouldnt it give ye more motivation to beat wembley and show the players that left ye re club in the first place that they made a mistake in leaving....... most of the players after minor have moved on to premier clubs and to limerick so that is a problem for the junior team........

so stop whining and crying and get on with it.......

well i will be supporting Wembley for promotion in 1a now... least i won't have to read qoute after quote about them on this thread next season...starting to get bit stupid now lads.

Quote Originally Posted by see's it View Post
    if wembley are streets ahead in the schoolboys they shouldnt have to chase players for the A team should they?
    cause after minor they are approached by limerick and premier teams......and its only common sense that they will move on because it is an opportunity to play at a higher level.......

If you expect anyone to believe that Wembley arent poaching players you got to be mad. All sucessful teams in this country, Home Farm, Cherry Orchard, Tolka etc all poach players (this is done is a subtle way and the clubs will never admit it). They dont get caught because its in the leagues best interest. The difference between Dublin and Limerick is the scale of the problem (Limerick its one or two clubs, in Dublin its a full league).

The shout of "if anything teams should be more determined to go out and try beat wembley!" isnt really a valid one. When a club have the best 15/16 players in a age group, most clubs will never te able to get a result - no matter how motivated they are, if Wembley's 1A were to play, say Derry in the FAI cup would they win - only once in a 100 I would say, that is the difference between Wembley and the rest of the league.

Quote Originally Posted by allab View Post
    well u see there is your problem....... a lot of teams do.
    take corbally for example, a while back Corbally played Wembley in the minors and got hammered 8-0, the following week the same fixture arose but the minor Corbally players didnt want to have to do it again.

the Corbally managment went out and got 14 or 15 under 15s and 16s so they could fulfill the fixture for Wembley.
    But that wasnt enough, apart from putting another 8 past Corbally, the Wembley sideline had to degrade the schoolboy players shouting their useless and they're the worst team we ever played.........

Wembley are after taking on this persona of "were better than everyone else".

Quote Originally Posted by Soccer Lover View Post
    If you expect anyone to believe that Wembley arent poaching players you got to be mad. All sucessful teams in this country, Home Farm, Cherry Orchard, Tolka etc all poach players (this is done is a subtle way and the clubs will never admit it). They dont get caught because its in the leagues best interest. The difference between Dublin and Limerick is the scale of the problem (Limerick its one or two clubs, in Dublin its a full league).

The shout of "if anything teams should be more determined to go out and try beat wembley!" isnt really a valid one. When a club have the best 15/16 players in a age group, most clubs will never te able to get a result - no matter how motivated they are, if Wembley's 1A were to play, say Derry in the FAI cup would they win - only once in a 100 I would say, that is the difference between Wembley and the rest of the league.
    bit of an exaggeration there i think!!

Quote Originally Posted by magicman View Post
    well u see there is your problem....... a lot of teams do.
    take corbally for example, a while back Corbally played Wembley in the minors and got hammered 8-0, the following week the same fixture arose but the minor Corbally players didnt want to have to do it again.

the Corbally managment went out and got 14 or 15 under 15s and 16s so they could fulfill the fixture for Wembley.
    But that wasnt enough, apart from putting another 8 past Corbally, the Wembley sideline had to degrade the schoolboy players shouting their useless and they're the worst team we ever played.........

Wembley are after taking on this persona of "were better than everyone else".
    Looks like another jealous person. babies. all babies. get over it. they are clearly better than everyone else if teams are running scared.

Youth 1

20 Aug Wembley 7:2 A/A
    25 Aug Ballynanty Rovers 1:7 Wembley Rovers
    30 Aug Wembley Rovers 7:0 Fairview Rangers
    03 Sep Geraldines 0:2 Wembley Rovers
    17 Sep Aisling Annacotty 0:7 Wembley Rovers

P 5, W 5 F 30, A 3

Under 17
    23 Aug Wembley Rovers 8-2 Ballynanty Rovers
    27 Aug Mungret Regional 0-7 Wembley Rovers
    1 Sep Wembley Rovers v Corbally United - Match awarded to Wembley

exaggration, I think not.

"Looks like another jealous person. babies. all babies. get over it. they are clearly better than everyone else if teams are running scared."

- All because Wembley POACH players, no good for themselves or the league!

Page 17 of 114 FirstFirst ... 715161718192767 ... LastLast