Page 82 of 95 FirstFirst ... 3272808182838492 ... LastLast
Results 1,621 to 1,640 of 1885

Thread: Clare League 2006/07

Quote Originally Posted by Murphman View Post
    Thanks to all you guys for the fair comments - The heads are still wrecked!!
    Enjoy the pics..

Bridge Celtic Season in 4mins 50 secs..
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=F4APkTEuOkE
    Nice touch Murphman. Congratulations to all involved. Stevey seems to improve the longer the night went on.
    Deserving winners, at long last.

Quote Originally Posted by Pretender View Post

How can the league champions lose 9-0 in a final?

Any of the Newton lads care to help shed some light on the situation?

Has something happened that changed a league winning team into... well I don't know what to call a team that loses 9-0 in a final?
    call them crap fairly obvious... seen them a couple of times this year a few good players & a lot of posers who think they are ronaldo's / ronaldino always seem to lack heart & bottle in a tough game... but to get beat 9-0 in a cup final is a disgrace for any team... i'm sure a few senior lads in newtown must be very disapointed by this performance and if this is the future of newtown it dont look to good..:

" football is a simple game "

Quote Originally Posted by CousinSylDolan View Post
    Lifford won the youths league comfortably...
    small bit embarressed now... i was sure i read here that Newtown had won youths league.... 17s? or am i just losing my mind?? In my defence I'm a small bit stressed at the moment!

you'd think a Lifford man would know if his club won the league... thought for some reason they hadn't and was disappointed because they had such a good group of players... good few had played in 21s league and with A team (no Mr T comments please! ).

Congrats to the Lifford Youths and Congrats to Bridge Celtic... the league table never lies... well deserved winners!
    They think its all yogurt.
    It is not!

[QUOTE=Pretender;690953] small bit embarressed now... i was sure i read here that Newtown had won youths league.... 17s? or am i just losing my mind??

Ya Newtown did win the 17's league, but most of this team was made up of a very strong 16's team. u16's lost both cup final and league playoff to moher after extra time. Youth are an average side but will be a lot stronger next year. Not an excuse but 4/5 of the players had played a match already that day for the school and clearly not physically able for a second game. Comes down to priorities!!!! Just to clarify it was an area final not the clare cup so maybe was not as valued, i dont know!!!!!!

Newtown Youths

1.Don't think that i heard once this year that they were a great team.
    2.Too many shapers that think they are great.
    3.Some players on the team,Football (soccer) is their second sport.
    4.Some players turn up when ever they want.
    5.some players don't listen cause they already know everything there is to know about the game.
    6.Manager can only do his best with what he has.
    7.This must be the biggest defeat ever in the history of the Newtown youths.
    8.I feel sorry for the players that did care about this team.
    9.And the part timers in the team should be ashamed in the result.
    Last edited by smellyfeet; 23/05/2007 at 9:39 AM.
    If you're in the penalty area and don't know what to do with the ball, put it in the net and we'll discuss the options later

FORM IS TEMPORARY, CLASS IS PERMANENT

Quote Originally Posted by old git View Post
    call them crap fairly obvious... seen them a couple of times this year a few good players & a lot of posers who think they are ronaldo's / ronaldino always seem to lack heart & bottle in a tough game... but to get beat 9-0 in a cup final is a disgrace for any team... i'm sure a few senior lads in newtown must be very disapointed by this performance and if this is the future of newtown it dont look to good..:
    The youths have had an ear-full off people saying these area cup finals are micky mouse trophys that dont mean anything at all,i dont know if they are but this is what they have being filled with,so the lads pressumed there league was already over and went out the night before this area final,if this was the clare cup final,there would have being a different attitude about this game,old git to say that the future of newtown dont look good after a area final is bitter,you must have got out of the wrong side of the bed this morning,the future couldnt look anybetter with those 17s and youths players,quality all over the pitch,
    besides there just a bunch of young lads who want to play a game of ball not league of ireland superstars YET

Quote Originally Posted by smellyfeet View Post
    1.Don't think that i heard once this year that they were a great team.
    2.Too many shapers that think they are great.
    3.Some players on the team,Football (soccer) is their second sport.
    4.Some players turn up when ever they want.
    5.some players don't listen cause they already know everything there is to know about the game.
    6.Manager can only do his best with what he has.
    7.This must be the biggest defeat ever in the history of the Newtown youths.
    8.I feel sorry for the players that did care about this team.
    9.And the part timers in the team should be ashamed in the result.
    Lads there a bunch of kids who just want a game of ball,the way ye lot are going on is that there top junior players already,let them learn the game before you jump down there necks,sven goran eriksson didnt even get it this bad with the english media.

Quote Originally Posted by brutus View Post
    Lads there a bunch of kids who just want a game of ball,the way ye lot are going on is that there top junior players already,let them learn the game before you jump down there necks,sven goran eriksson didnt even get it this bad with the english media.
    Sure Newmarkets youth team are just a bunch of kids but still went out to win the game for themselve and their club.Nobody said that they were junior players already.Its not only about these KIDS but about alot more than that.Its a total embarrasment for Newtown to lose to Newmarket(1 of their rivals) 9 feckin nil).If these KIDS just want a game of ball can't they go and kick a ball against a wall and stop waisting peoples time.
    Its a cup final so nobody should be going out night before neither should they be if it is a league game.People put alot of time into teams and should get something back in return. So its OK to go out night before area cup final. Brutus you are way of the mark here and obviously think that this sort of thing is acceptable.

This is my opinion.
    Last edited by smellyfeet; 23/05/2007 at 11:37 AM.
    If you're in the penalty area and don't know what to do with the ball, put it in the net and we'll discuss the options later

went out the night before this area final,if this was the clare cup final,there would have being a different attitude about this game
    That is a terrible attitude... young lads will always get their heads filled with crap from older fellas... Its the way the world works unfortunately. I've no doubt some of them are fine footballers but surely they should have more sense... a final is a final... I played in a youths area cup a few years back that had more bite in it than the clare cup final I played in a few weeks before!

Beer is no excuse... I've seen lads young and old play with all their heart despite the fact that the might have been drunk as a lord the night before. Its a question of pride and respect for their manager... something they should have shown more of... in my opinion.
    They think its all yogurt.
    It is not!

Formerly: vidic-class
    Sure Newmarkets youth team are just a bunch of kids but still went out to win the game for themselve and their club.Nobody said that they were junior players already.Its not only about these KIDS but about alot more than that.Its a total embarrasment for Newtown to lose to Newmarket(1 of their rivals) 9 feckin nil).If these KIDS just want a game of ball can't they go and kick a ball against a wall and stop waisting peoples time.
    Its a cup final so nobody should be going out night before neither should they be if it is a league game.People put alot of time into teams and should get something back in return. So its OK to go out night before area cup final. Brutus you are way of the mark here and obviously think that this sort of thing is acceptable.

This is my opinion.
    you're right smelly feet,i'd agree with you. A final is a final and having a cupat the end of the year is a lot better than having absolutely nothing at all. I know some of the Newtown lads and they were really up for the game and would have loved to have won one of the area finals that they were in especially the one vs. Newmarket.

Drinking the night before?not more than 2 or 3 of them I'd say but that's no excuse for losing a local derby cup final 9-0.

This is my opinion.
    I can see your disappointed seen as your a newtown man, 9-0 is steep in any match,but im sticking to my word that these young lads are being told that these finals are just a bit of fun,you know yourself one player tells another player lets go for drinks,next minute the whole team are out because they are told the match doesnt mean anything big,thats what young lads will think and for the shaper thing we all thought we were **** hot at youths with are white boots and hair doos and all the girls from school coming down to watch us thats all part and parcel of schoolboys smellyfeet.
    These lads can only learn from there mistakes.

Quote Originally Posted by vidic-class View Post

Drinking the night before?not more than 2 or 3 of them I'd say but that's no excuse for losing a local derby cup final 9-0.
    I can tell you now there was alot more than 2 or 3.

[QUOTE=Brazil Nut;690960]
    Quote Originally Posted by Pretender View Post
    small bit embarressed now... i was sure i read here that Newtown had won youths league.... 17s? or am i just losing my mind??

Youth are an average side but will be a lot stronger next year. Not an excuse but 4/5 of the players had played a match already that day for the school and clearly not physically able for a second game. Comes down to priorities!!!! Just to clarify it was an area final not the clare cup so maybe was not as valued, i dont know!!!!!!
    they had players playin in a final the day of the munster area final vs. Lifford on the Tuesday,they played Newmarket on the Saturday morning.

Newtown were out of the Clare Cup for weeks before these area finals and their league challenge was well and truly over at that stage too so these were the only cups they could win so to say they were less valued??? and still could have won a double. Most of them definately would have wanted one of these cups anyway.
    If they didnt value them why did they bother turn up for the 2 games

The youths have had an ear-full off people saying these area cup finals are micky mouse trophys that dont mean anything at all,i dont know if they are but this is what they have being filled with,so the lads pressumed there league was already over and went out the night before this area final,if this was the clare cup final,there would have being a different attitude about this game,old git to say that the future of newtown dont look good after a area final is bitter,you must have got out of the wrong side of the bed this morning,the future couldnt look anybetter with those 17s and youths players,quality all over the pitch,
    besides there just a bunch of young lads who want to play a game of ball not league of ireland superstars YET
    not based on 1 area final result.. based on a few games i saw them play this year... if they could not even stay in the night before an area final (not to dedicated ) probally only hope of some silverware this season.. also how many of the current youth team played with a team this year .. cannot comment on 16's / 17 's as i have not seen them play ,,

I can see your disappointed seen as your a newtown man, 9-0 is steep in any match,but im sticking to my word that these young lads are being told that these finals are just a bit of fun,you know yourself one player tells another player lets go for drinks,next minute the whole team are out because they are told the match doesnt mean anything big,thats what young lads will think and for the shaper thing we all thought we were **** hot at youths with are white boots and hair doos and all the girls from school coming down to watch us thats all part and parcel of schoolboys smellyfeet.
    These lads can only learn from there mistakes.
    get a grip brutus ... played youth football myself a long while ago
    no final is a bit of fun.. why bother putting a team out so... never had white boots & would not be worried who was on line watching as long as i & teammates gave 100% for my club on the day

not based on 1 area final result.. based on a few games i saw them play this year... if they could not even stay in the night before an area final (not to dedicated ) probally only hope of some silverware this season.. also how many of the current youth team played with a team this year .. cannot comment on 16's / 17 's as i have not seen them play ,,
    well there 17s is pretty much there youths with just 2 or 3 others.

get a grip brutus ... played youth football myself a long while ago
    no final is a bit of fun.. why bother putting a team out so... never had white boots & would not be worried who was on line watching as long as i & teammates gave 100% for my club on the day
    wasnt white boots back in 70s or 80s

I can see your disappointed seen as your a newtown man, 9-0 is steep in any match,but im sticking to my word that these young lads are being told that these finals are just a bit of fun,you know yourself one player tells another player lets go for drinks,next minute the whole team are out because they are told the match doesnt mean anything big
    No final is a joke to any or most players anyway, Ive heard Bridge and Bunratty lads call these area finals 'a joke', but everyone else knows that if they were in them they'd take them serious but they werent good enough to be in them in the first place.

yes, they might have been told that but from what I heard from at least 7 of them they were really up for both area finals and from what I heard of them they werent taking any bit of notice of the bit of fun area final attitude bein handed down to them.

If they want to go out drinking the night before, let them off but there was not one from Newmarket out on the beer the night before or any Lifford or Turnpike lads on the beer the nite before their finals. Drinkin the night before a game will get them nowhere, waste of their time and the lads who didnt go, and wasting their managers' time. Dont bother waste time and money entering a team so. Drinking nites before games wont be tolerated at junior level in Newtown will it?hardly. So I'd say the Newtown youths are delighted

We'll see if the Newtown JUNIORS treat their area cups as 'just a bit of craic' so and go on the drink the night before.

well there 17s is pretty much there youths with just 2 or 3 others.
    yeah so what? fair play, ye won the 17s league and did well in the 16s but Newmarket had only 4 players in their last year of youths on the squad,the rest of them are underage for next year again and 2 of the lads who started against Newtown are UNDER 14

wasnt white boots back in 70s or 80s
    you'd be kicked from start to finish if you wore them back then

Page 82 of 95 FirstFirst ... 3272808182838492 ... LastLast