Page 68 of 95 FirstFirst ... 1858666768697078 ... LastLast
Results 1,341 to 1,360 of 1885

Thread: Clare League 2006/07

many people posting are annoyed a team from north clare can win the league. Soccer doesn't just exist to serve clubs in shannon and ennis.[/QUOTE]

Rubbish, Not true at all.
    If you're in the penalty area and don't know what to do with the ball, put it in the net and we'll discuss the options later

FORM IS TEMPORARY, CLASS IS PERMANENT

Quote Originally Posted by hacker View Post
    any truth newmarket told clare league they won't travel to moher on monday..
    Fair play to them if they did.
    If you're in the penalty area and don't know what to do with the ball, put it in the net and we'll discuss the options later

FORM IS TEMPORARY, CLASS IS PERMANENT

Quote Originally Posted by hacker View Post
    any truth newmarket told clare league they won't travel to moher on monday..

No there is no truth in this. Newmarket had requested this weekend off as 1 of the lads involved with the club is having his stag this weekend, then they find that they are down to play Moher on Monday evening when most of the group are only scheduled to comeback on Monday.
    It looks again as this is another indication of Moher receiving beneficial treatment from the League. And before anyone else starts harping on about people having a problem with Moher winning the league, I can tell you no one from Newmarket has a problem with it. If they win the league , good luck to them , but as most would agree the treatment of other clubs by the Clare League in facilitating Moher leaves alot of open questions. Newmarket will fulfil their fixture but with a very weakened side , unfair on the other clubs challenging for the league and also unfair on Newmarket who need points to avoid having the best facilities in the first division.

[QUOTE=First;673878]No there is no truth in this. Newmarket had requested this weekend off as 1 of the lads involved with the club is having his stag this weekend, then they find that they are down to play Moher on Monday evening when most of the group are only scheduled to comeback on Monday.
    It looks again as this is another indication of Moher receiving beneficial treatment from the League. And before anyone else starts harping on about people having a problem with Moher winning the league, I can tell you no one from Newmarket has a problem with it. If they win the league , good luck to them , but as most would agree the treatment of other clubs by the Clare League in facilitating Moher leaves alot of open questions. Newmarket will fulfil their fixture but with a very weakened side , unfair on the other clubs challenging for the league and also unfair on Newmarket who need points to avoid having the best facilities in the first division. [/Q Sounds like you need to get this match cancelled if obviously doesnt suit ye.Time to play the olde moher card worth a try anyhow

Quote Originally Posted by 3rd booking View Post
    [/Q Sounds like you need to get this match cancelled if obviously doesnt suit ye.Time to play the olde moher card worth a try anyhow
    Do you actually know how the whole thing works???. Newmarket have already put their case to Lydon and he has refused...yet he allows Moher play when they want. They do not play ANY sundays because it doesn't suit them. Newmarket did not want a game THIS Sunday or Monday..a one time request...and guess what...they have a match on Monday ...................... go figure that one out
    you are only a loser when you stop trying. Playing sport does not build character, it reveals it.

"The reason our club started a second team was as a reserve team to give any player ,who was not choosen in the first team,a game.In other words all signed players were open to selection for the first team.NEVER and I repeat NEVER to only be available for selection for the second team."

I never implied your club restrict players playing for the A team. My point is that if you are a player not good enough for your club A team and "current" A team players get a run ahead of you to get fit or whatever you would get tired of this and either go elsewhere or give up.

At my club the set up is the same any b team player has the opportunity to make it on to the A team but the reality is that if you are not getting a game you will get fed up, add to that the prospect of no promotion then what is the motivation for a lad who is not A team material........in my opinion this will drive out the honest lads who always turn up on a Sunday morning for a div 3 game as opposed to some of the prima donnas that are around....

I am interested to hear what exactly are the facts, at the moment i think its a bad idea but perhaps once the rules are known it could be the way to go...but all the factors for ALL the players have to be discussed not just the needs of OT and premier teams.

Quote Originally Posted by papa-j View Post
    Do you actually know how the whole thing works???. Newmarket have already put their case to Lydon and he has refused...yet he allows Moher play when they want. They do not play ANY sundays because it doesn't suit them. Newmarket did not want a game THIS Sunday or Monday..a one time request...and guess what...they have a match on Monday ...................... go figure that one out
    Sounds like you dont know how it works either pops.It was just a suggestion didnt realise they tried to get it called can the powers of the clare league be overthrown and maybe a democracy can finally rule???

Quote Originally Posted by Sweetchips View Post
    "but all the factors for ALL the players have to be discussed not just the needs of OT and premier teams.
    no matter what you do it will upset somebody...its how you do it. Any decisions should be openly discussed,explained and voted for within the clubs an then voted for by the club delegates at the league meetings. Clubs need to decide the fuction of their B or C teams...are they there

1. exist completely separately from the A team and accomdate players of all levels who want to enjoy a game of football. Including ex A team players who have stepped down for what ever reason.

2. exist to develop / improve players who aspire to play for the A team and help them make the step. Including youth players who might be stepping up to junior football for the first time.

I dont think any decisions can be made until clubs decide the role of B teams.
    you are only a loser when you stop trying. Playing sport does not build character, it reveals it.

Thumbs up Reserve League

I'm delighted to hear about this reserve league and hope it happens...

Currently players with Lifford B, well capable of playing in the Premier, refuse to play with the Lifford A. They want to get promoted with their teammates on the B team, which I understand, but they are hurting the club doing so.

Hopefully the reserve league might change this situation!

Why would anybody prefer to play at a lower level than they are capable of playing in the Premier?
    They think its all yogurt.
    It is not!

The Moher manager is a ref in Clare, is it any wonder they are getting special treatment.

newmarket1 bridge celtic 3

it will be interesting to see if moher be happy about coming up to o briens bridge on a monday or friday night or will they look for it to be played on a sunday......
    I eats the beef......

Quote Originally Posted by Ice-man View Post
    The Moher manager is a ref in Clare, is it any wonder they are getting special treatment.
    Iceman, just to clear up your mis information for you. Registered Clare Referees are not allowed to be involved with Clubs, which is why most of them are ageing ex players.
    Clubs were given the option of sending in representatives to do a Referee's Course at the start of the Season, to help out with Schoolboy fixtures due to the shortage of Referees. These candidates who did the course were to help out at Schoolboy level, they were not intended to be used in Junior Football but like everything else the League tries, it seems to have back fired.
    The Moher Manager, or any other manager is not a member of the Clare League Referee's and doesn't get, nor will he get special treatment from Registered Referees.

Quote Originally Posted by gaffer View Post
    We requested a free weekend but were not given it had to travel to Moher reason we were given by the clare lge was there was an official ref down for the match and could not reschedule. Got down to Moher and Moher manager was the ref. Lyden just laughed when we question this. Any other club allowed to do this.
    INTERESTED - Just going by what I've read on this site.

As stated before, the Moher Manager or anybody affiliated with any Club is not a member of the Clare League Referee's Association.
    The point being made in the post you highlighted was that an Official Referee was appointed to do the game, but as he had not obviously turned up, the Moher manager did the game.
    The away team could have refused to play the game without an Official Referee, but I know from my own playing days that if you travel a long distance for a game, the last thing you want is to refuse to play and have to travel back again at a later date.
    If you win the game, no problem. Its when you dont that you start blaming the diabolic decisions of the home town referee or something/anything else.

By the way, don't believe all you read on this site

Clareleague

clareleague.com link offline but you can see it on www.freewebs.com/clareleague/index.htm

Any more club scorer updates guys - only Bridge Celtic and Rineanna scorers all accounted for...

Quote Originally Posted by Pretender View Post
    I'm delighted to hear about this reserve league and hope it happens...

Currently players with Lifford B, well capable of playing in the Premier, refuse to play with the Lifford A. They want to get promoted with their teammates on the B team, which I understand, but they are hurting the club doing so.

Hopefully the reserve league might change this situation!

Why would anybody prefer to play at a lower level than they are capable of playing in the Premier?
    I think this is a problem with most clubs that have an A and B team, players not wanting to play for the A team for what ever reason.
    Some players would leave the club rather than play for the A team not something you would want in a local community.
    How many B team managers would be happy to be involved in a situation where the players available to them each week is dictated by the A team manager not many I would guess.

Caught some of the Newtown Avenue match last night.
    Credit to both teams for a very entertaining game but the quality of some of the football was poor - miskicks and mistakes from both sides - probably because of the pitch. The surface was absolutely awful - what has happened to Lees Road - bumps and holes all over it. You would expect these 2 premier sides to be able to string good passing moves together but with the surface that was impossible.
    If summer soccer means having to play on bumpy pitches like that its time to forget it.

Quote Originally Posted by townie View Post
    and if avenue beat ye which is the more likely and ye lose yer game in hand ye will be about 2 places off relegation which is where ye finish most years after a season of talkin yerselves up for nothin!
    we are nicely placed but sayin that i wudnt be overly confident as in a newtown way of winnin the league! still hve lots of tough games left
    well what happened the overhyped / talked up newtown beat the mighty inform avenue last night

" football is a simple game "

Quote Originally Posted by chappie View Post
    newmarket1 bridge celtic 3

it will be interesting to see if moher be happy about coming up to o briens bridge on a monday or friday night or will they look for it to be played on a sunday......
    Well done to bridge celtic last night.Well worth the win and never stopped attacking.Can someone tell me who scored bridge celtics second goal.One of the best goals i have ever seen.

Page 68 of 95 FirstFirst ... 1858666768697078 ... LastLast