lads would all this moher crap still be going on if they were bottom of the league with no points? honestly would ye ever give over
Yes it would and should.2 years ago the same stroke was pulled when mountshannon declared they could only play on Friday night.
Why dont all the other clubs ring Mike Lydon and Jim Madden and say they only want to play on Sunday!!!!But if we all just keep moaning on this website nothing will happen
"You'll not see nothing like the Shelbourne team"
Its probably would, But the fact is they are fighting for the tital and are getting every chance to win it because they don't have to play when it clashes with GAA. They are located in the back of nowhere so trying to get out there to play on weekdays is a joke, at least at weekend (sunday) teams can make the journey with no problems. They (Mohar) are getting favour's because they have GAA players on their team, Lets not forget GAA is a different sport so why accomadate it.Ive said this before, If the GAA have a game on that clashes with Football "soccer", do they refix or cancel their games, NO, and rightly so, so why do the Clare League![]()
If you're in the penalty area and don't know what to do with the ball, put it in the net and we'll discuss the options later
FORM IS TEMPORARY, CLASS IS PERMANENT
A piece of history will accurr tomorrow evening that may ripple through the anals of time. A group of young men will head to the fabled and feared land of the north west of Clare to battle the now mythical giants of the men from Moher. A group of men known as the Olympians, they carry the hopes and fears of many on their young shoulders, that they can vanquish this monster whose tentacles are spreading to the once powerful bastions of a game called soccer in Clare. Hopes are high that at least a wound can be inflicted on these giants so that the job can be completed by another formerly feared group of men from Tradaree. This is ever looking less and less likely because the stories abound of sorcery and witchcraft been part of the armoury of the men who worship the cliffs.They have taken over the minds , it is said of the leaders and organisers of said battles and have managed to engage all comers at times when they are at their weakest. This they say is only happening because of these giants worship of another God known far and wide in the country of Hibernia as the GAA. Let us hope that these barve 11 from Olympia do not become the latest sacrifices to the Gods that live , it is said at the bottom of the cliffs and only rise as the sun rises on the day of the Moon and again on the twilight of the week.
A few questions i hope the wise men of the forum can answer.
Does anyone know the date of the A.G.M?
What has to be done to get Summer football discussed/ratified at said meeting? Shels perhaps you can guide us on that one if you were involved in schoolboy move to summer season.
Has anyone heard the facts on the "reserve" league proposed for next year consisting of only "b" teams?
p.s...great post First!
It is a lot simpler to do junior football than schoolboys because you dont have to take into account a scenario where kids are forced to make a decision on which game they will play before they are old enough.
After that you could look at the GAA programe for the year and where there is no need to clash,avoid the days they play on.You might offer to meet the GAA at board level out of courtesy.Advise the clubs to do this at local level.If this cant be done so be it, decide a start and end date.Say May to October.Decide whether you will include or exclude weekdays,there maybe no need as you will get little or no weather cancellations.Talk to the referees so they know whats going on.Use Friday Saturday Sunday nights and days.You could ask the clubs to decide their home preference and give it to them.
You could include a holiday break but not absolutely neccessary as you will not agreement on which weeks due to the old "last week in July 1st week in August" no longer being the norm.Would suggest no games on August BAnk holiday weekend.
As far as I know this is being included in Liffords proposals to the AGM this year.This needs to be confirmed with them.If it is not then get them or some other club to do it written on the proposal form not verbally on the night.Get it seconded and voted in.Marjority rules so if you do an accesment of the real footbal clubs versus the half GAA lads,counting per team because its a vote per team,make sure you get a delegate per team there on the night then itshould be passed.Dont forget it cannot be talked down if it has a seconder.Make sure it is proposed to come into play for next year(May).
Appoint a summer soccer committee to discuss any other minor issues and plan the implemetation for next May with monthly progress reports back to the clubs at delegate meetings(do they still have them??).
Do not allow the threat of country clubs folding to stop you.Various reasons are put forward for this including farmers fields not being available as well as the GAA clash.It was not allowed stop the show in schoolboys despite this early scaremongering.
Lastly stress the fact that flooded pitches is no longer the problem.Long grass is
So basically you need to send a proposal to the commitee in writing A.S.A.P. and all proposals are heard on the night?
Anyone heard about this reserve league?
From what I hear (2nd hand), the 3rd division will be scrapped and the reserve division will consist of only B teams and there will be no promotion or relegation!! Except for current B teams in 1st and 2nd Division who will be relegated. The function it seems is to allow A team players play for the reserves if they need to!
Correct me if I am missing something here.......the Clare league on one hand cancel all Premier games for OT (who get hammered), then fix cup games for the day after and then try to drive any lad who plays for a B team out of the game so an out of sort A team player can get a game. Who are they actually serving?
Or am I wrong and could a reserve league change everything!!!
"then try to drive any lad who plays for a B team out of the game so an out of sort A team player can get a game. Who are they actually serving?"
The reason our club started a second team was as a reserve team to give any player ,who was not choosen in the first team,a game.In other words all signed players were open to selection for the first team.NEVER and I repeat NEVER to only be available for selection for the second team.
Last edited by shelbourne1904; 26/04/2007 at 11:32 AM.
Sure it was a grand ole team to play for....Sure it was a grand ole team to know..
Hail Hail!!
If the Clare league did get rid of the sides who have GAA players it would be a massive incentive to players to come back to the league. reason being travelling to moher on a friday evening because they have a GAA match saturday and the boys want to go on the lash afterwards. its a disgrace.[/QUOTE]
There is a clear prejudice here. I notice this site is anti GAA. We have a couple of players playing both codes and are very committed to both. I also think that while moher shouldn't get preferential treatment on what days they play games, many people posting are annoyed a team from north clare can win the league. Soccer doesn't just exist to serve clubs in shannon and ennis.
There is a clear prejudice here. I notice this site is anti GAA. We have a couple of players playing both codes and are very committed to both. I also think that while moher shouldn't get preferential treatment on what days they play games, many people posting are annoyed a team from north clare can win the league. Soccer doesn't just exist to serve clubs in shannon and ennis.[/QUOTE]
Dont think people mind a team from north clare winning or doing well the problem here is the fact teams are been made to make the long journeys to Liscannor on friday nights and monday nights why cant they arrange fixtures for sat or sunday so it would be easier for teams to travel. There is no point in a club saying they dont want to travel to Liscannor on those nights as they will be told that is when game is on.