Page 49 of 95 FirstFirst ... 39474849505159 ... LastLast

Thread: Clare League 2006/07

Quote Originally Posted by spoongebob View Post
    How can u say this if they win the cup they r good enough for the premier. If you dont finish in the top 3 in the 1st division your not good enough for the premier simple as thats where you have to do it to get into the premier not in the cup
    well if they won the cup last 2 years in a row,they must have beating a few prem things,so they must be good in my opinion

Formerly: vidic-class
    Quote Originally Posted by 2legged tackle View Post
    Lads does anyone know is there any bookie giving odds on the cup?
    Wonder What price i'd get on Corfin making it three in a row?
    Newtown are favourites @5/1, Corofin are at 6/1 but I really cant see 'em doin it,they'l be lucky to get past nxt round. Newmarket were 6-1 but gone up to 8/1. Rineanna were 11 but now 10/1. Bridge are around 7/1.Bunratty started at 15s but are now 12/1 shot.Moher are 6/1.Mountshannon are around 18/1 and Avenue are 6/1

Quote Originally Posted by brutus View Post
    well if they won the cup last 2 years in a row,they must have beating a few prem things,so they must be good in my opinion

Fair enough would disagree with u but thats your opinion everyone is entitled to one.

Quote Originally Posted by vidic-class View Post
    Newtown are favourites @5/1, Corofin are at 6/1 but I really cant see 'em doin it,they'l be lucky to get past nxt round. Newmarket were 6-1 but gone up to 8/1. Rineanna were 11 but now 10/1. Bridge are around 7/1.Bunratty started at 15s but are now 12/1 shot.Moher are 6/1.Mountshannon are around 18/1 and Avenue are 6/1
    Thought thered be a better price on Corofin than that.

Any price on Olympic and who's giving these odd's??
    "1 day i will start hand.ie"
    Newtown F.C. 1977-2008 R.I.P.
    Hibs goin up!

corofin won the cup last 2 years on merit beating premier teams along the way... but then why are they still in first division .. looks like maybee not good enough or consistant enough to get into preimer league ..

" football is a simple game "

Quote Originally Posted by old git View Post
    corofin won the cup last 2 years on merit beating premier teams along the way... but then why are they still in first division .. looks like maybee not good enough or consistant enough to get into preimer league ..
    you could be right there but if you win the cup once,you can call it a lottery,but if you win it twice in 2 years,then they must be some bit decent and besides theres not a big difference between alot of 1 division sides and prem sides

big difference one is first division other is preimer...

corofin need to get into premier and prove they can stay there

big difference one is first division other is preimer...

In my opinion there is not a huge difference between these divisions,everytime a prem team play a division 1 side they always find it difficult,the way your talking i think you thinking of limerick prem and 1a thats a big difference but not the clare league even doh its improving

Formerly: vidic-class
    Quote Originally Posted by 2legged tackle View Post
    Thought thered be a better price on Corofin than that.

Any price on Olympic and who's giving these odd's??
    Leonard's aka 'the shed' aka Badblokes in newmarket. from wat i remember shannon olympic are priced high enough around 11/1 maybe even 15/1. the teams who get to the quarters will have a fairly good shout for a final appearance later this year. apart from burren i think the other 7 of my predictions are all in with fightin chance...i hope to god the cup doesnt go back to corofin again but its unlikely...

Agree with you old git, not consistant enough, always seem to be near the top of the table until it comes to the crunch games. They were unlucky in the play off last year though, got beat by a weekened Mountshannon team, spent too much time celebrating there cup win against Avenue B. (Priorities).
    They are in the shake up again this year for promotion but there are quite a few decent teams also fighting for promotion so it should be interesting.
    As for a hat trick of Cup wins, I cant see it happening this year, as surely either Moher, Newtown, Avenue or the Bridge must be fancied.

In my opinion there is not a huge difference between these divisions,everytime a prem team play a division 1 side they always find it difficult,the way your talking i think you thinking of limerick prem and 1a thats a big difference but not the clare league even doh its improving
    prem teams usualy get a fired up cup match against 1st division teams who want to prove they are as good as preimer teams on the day... but will add if a 1st division team is good enough / consistant enough they should be getting promoted and staying in preimer league ...

corofin need to get into premier and prove they can stay there[/QUOTE]

I agree we need to get into the premier to be considered a serious force. In the play off game last year we weren't up for it and were well beaten. It will be very difficult to win 3 in a row as we are no longer a surprise package. I would have thought we would be longer odds than 6/1.

Quote Originally Posted by Young Lad View Post
    I agree we need to get into the premier to be considered a serious force. In the play off game last year we weren't up for it and were well beaten. It will be very difficult to win 3 in a row as we are no longer a surprise package. I would have thought we would be longer odds than 6/1.[/QUOTE]

They probably gave ye them short odds because of ye being the cup holders

newtown for the double

nah i dont think so lads ye are the tottenham of the clare league! good players but always somethin missin! truth?

Quote Originally Posted by townie View Post
    nah i dont think so lads ye are the tottenham of the clare league! good players but always somethin missin! truth?
    disagree with you there,seen newtown play a few times this season and totally different team and system,even there sub-bench has alot of quality,bit too early to be writing newtown off,they will win silverware this season if they have there full team.

There hasn't been much talk of Avenue this season, maybe they might creep up and surprise us all?!

Quote Originally Posted by Offside View Post
    There hasn't been much talk of Avenue this season, maybe they might creep up and surprise us all?!
    you are right there,avenue havent been mentioned at all,totally agree with you there,there well up there 2

Whats the story with lifford this year...Last year they were contesting for the title and still in the cup,this year they seemed to be falling apart!
    You think it has anything to do with there Under21 team..? Surely it wouldnt have that big of an effect on there junior team,right?
    Sure it was a grand ole team to play for....Sure it was a grand ole team to know..

Hail Hail!!

Quote Originally Posted by Spudd View Post
    Whats the story with lifford this year...Last year they were contesting for the title and still in the cup,this year they seemed to be falling apart!
    You think it has anything to do with there Under21 team..? Surely it wouldnt have that big of an effect on there junior team,right?
    i think most of there junior team are there 21s team so it would have effected them alot playing for both teams

The under 21's play on a saturday don't they?... if the majority of the junior squad is made up of the under 21's they'd definitely be in trouble... I know if i was playin junior and U21's i'd want to go out boozin at least one night over the weekend! maybe this has played a part in their downfall!? One thing is for certain, The Boss is keepin a low profile lately ain't he!

Page 49 of 95 FirstFirst ... 39474849505159 ... LastLast