Page 28 of 95 FirstFirst ... 1826272829303878 ... LastLast

Thread: Clare League 2006/07

Quote Originally Posted by CousinSylDolan View Post
    Its in January sometime.

I would expect there to be a break for games for Christmas in Clare. Limerick have games on 16/17 of December and again on the 6/7 of Janurary but none in between.
    Anyone know if its the same in Clare... Has to be really with Christmas eve and NewYears eve fallin on a Sunday. I just hope they dont do anything mad like have games on Stephens day like a few years ago
    anything is possible with the clare league what else would we be doing on stephens day / new years day .. :

" football is a simple game "

I think every Clare Club should be and will be supporting Newtown in the Fai now that they are the only Clare rep left in it. Who have Newtown beaten so far...
    Rd 1 Bunratty (a)
    Rd 2 Lissellton (h)
    Rd 3 Killarney Athletic (h)
    Rd 4 Tralee Dynamoes (h)

Will ye be looking for an away trip next to bring that vocal support ye have or would ye prefer to stick with Ballcasey for Rd 5.
    Gues what home to St James Gate!!!!!!Start praticing the singing again.Used to be a League of Ireland team.Formed by Guinness for employess,maybe a mile or two from Inchicore!!Does that ring any bells.I think they were formed C.1920.
    Come on the Nordies!!!!

On a different note(oh how apt under the circumstsnces)did anyone see the new Newtown website newtownfc.com
    Last edited by shelbourne1904; 29/11/2006 at 6:37 PM.
    "You'll not see nothing like the Shelbourne team"

Foot.ie!

Quote Originally Posted by First View Post
    I hear that Brendan O'Mara signed for Park. Good to know that they are bringing back the old lads to try and stay in 1A.
    How short your memory is!!! Is it not just a few years ago Brennie was helping Newtown to a double is that how you lot treat your former players. Werent Newtown relegated back a few years ago. Only to have the kids haul you up a division. Then you were a club in bits after donal magee left you in an awful mess. Only for the legendary Jimmy Rocks to pull you through the ****e auld days. Who by the the initiated the emalgamation talk.. Now park were arragant not to accept. In jimmy's favour he is dead right there is room for only one team in Shannon!!!

Cool

Oi OI.Can someone do me a favour and tell what date Newtown are playing St.James' gate...i think its time to be booking the aul flights home innit!
    Sure it was a grand ole team to play for....Sure it was a grand ole team to know..

Hail Hail!!

FAI Junior Cup

Game is on 10th December

Quote Originally Posted by Goals4fun View Post
    why is asking a player to sign for you classed as poaching ? Surely it isa free world ?
    Its not classed as poaching as long as you request permission from his club before you talk to him.They cannot refuse.

Quote Originally Posted by thecritic View Post
    Any one know when the next oscar traynor match is on is it before christmas ?
    The 7th of January has been set for games in the Oscar Traynor for some groups. It may also be the same for the Clare League. Who are you due to play next?

Quote Originally Posted by parkfan View Post
    How short your memory is!!! Is it not just a few years ago Brennie was helping Newtown to a double is that how you lot treat your former players. Werent Newtown relegated back a few years ago. Only to have the kids haul you up a division. Then you were a club in bits after donal magee left you in an awful mess. Only for the legendary Jimmy Rocks to pull you through the ****e auld days. Who by the the initiated the emalgamation talk.. Now park were arragant not to accept. In jimmy's favour he is dead right there is room for only one team in Shannon!!!
    dear parkfan i heard brendy came down to play for newtown B team played one friendly who play in the 3rd div in clare found it hard so that is probably why he is signing for your A team. must be much easier to get a game
    MY name is XXXXX i am a Soccerholic

Quote Originally Posted by Spot Kick View Post
    The 7th of January has been set for games in the Oscar Traynor for some groups. It may also be the same for the Clare League. Who are you due to play next?

At home to Limerick...

Quote Originally Posted by shelbourne1904 View Post
    Gues what home to St James Gate!!!!!!
    Are you hoping for a starting place Shels... I see you have been putting in the hours on the training field. A game against the Dubs and your back like a 19 year old again.

Best of luck to ye anyway. Any word on St James Gate????? They are probably a Leinster Senior Lg club. I remember them in the LOI alright.

They might bring a few kegs down from Inchicore to put behind the bar in the Lodge after the game.... Then there would be singing win, lose or draw.

6 Years ago now since Brendy played with Newtown.How is Brendy getting bad treatment As i said before your just trying to stir it up.
    If you're in the penalty area and don't know what to do with the ball, put it in the net and we'll discuss the options later

FORM IS TEMPORARY, CLASS IS PERMANENT

Quote Originally Posted by thecritic View Post
    dear parkfan i heard brendy came down to play for newtown B team played one friendly who play in the 3rd div in clare found it hard so that is probably why he is signing for your A team. must be much easier to get a game
    maybe it is.. there aint many good players down there. so its only natural to play him instead of c team players. quirke, mac donald, mc keogh, hedgey, shane mc carthy, kissane, young o donnell, lockers are the only A team players park have, i remember the days when you lot had to bring back your old guard.

Newtown FAI

I remember watching Newtown beat Inchicore the last time down in StCaimans field, seemed like a massive crowd that day(granted I was much younger). Any surviving players from that day? Jay or Noel maybe???????

maybe it is.. there aint many good players down there. so its only natural to play him instead of c team players. quirke, mac donald, mc keogh, hedgey, shane mc carthy, kissane, young o donnell, lockers are the only A team players park have, i remember the days when you lot had to bring back your old guard.
    when did newtown bring back their old guard... as far as i know that double winning team with brendan o meara was the break up of the newtown team which included a lot of players who had played for newtown for numerous years..

Parkfan. my memory is good enough to remember when Brendan was willing to kick a ball for anyone. He has played with all teams in Shannon , bar Oly I think, and has also played for Newmarket and a few clubs in Limerick. The point I am making is that you have come on this thread having a go at Newtown for them not using the young players. Obviously you are trying to rattle a few to see if they may be available to the thoughts of moving. By the way I am not a Newtown club man (though I did kick a ball for the dream team a few years back ) but I will wish them all the best in the FAI as I would do with any club that are flying the flag for Clare in a national competition.

Quote Originally Posted by First View Post
    Parkfan. my memory is good enough to remember when Brendan was willing to kick a ball for anyone. He has played with all teams in Shannon , bar Oly I think, and has also played for Newmarket and a few clubs in Limerick. The point I am making is that you have come on this thread having a go at Newtown for them not using the young players. Obviously you are trying to rattle a few to see if they may be available to the thoughts of moving. By the way I am not a Newtown club man (though I did kick a ball for the dream team a few years back ) but I will wish them all the best in the FAI as I would do with any club that are flying the flag for Clare in a national competition.
    agree with u totally about wishing newtown & any team flying the flag for clare in any national competition .. you must have done more than just kick a ball for the dream team ... had a very good team a couple of years back

Are you hoping for a starting place Shels... I see you have been putting in the hours on the training field. A game against the Dubs and your back like a 19 year old again.

Best of luck to ye anyway. Any word on St James Gate????? They are probably a Leinster Senior Lg club. I remember them in the LOI alright.

They might bring a few kegs down from Inchicore to put behind the bar in the Lodge after the game.... Then there would be singing win, lose or draw.
    Leinster Senior League teams cant play in FAI Junior.
    Junior/Senior get it????I reckon they are James Gate second side maybe a Saturday team????They are a famous club who had full internationals playing for them including ,for all you United fans,Johnny(Jacky) Carey who would probably get in Uniteds and Irelands all time greats,however he wont be playing on the 10th!!!!!See http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/St_James's_Gate_F.C.
    Last edited by shelbourne1904; 30/11/2006 at 11:59 AM.

Quote Originally Posted by shelbourne1904 View Post
    Leinster Senior League teams cant play in FAI Junior.
    Junior/Senior get it????I reckon they are James Gate second side maybe a Saturday team????They are a famous club who had full internationals playing for them including ,for all you United fans,Johnny(Jacky) Carey who would probably get in Uniteds and Irelands all time greats,however he wont be playing on the 10th!!!!!See http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/St_James's_Gate_F.C.
    And on the 1st page of the above it says...

(St James's Gate F.C. is an Irish football club that currently plays in the Leinster Senior League.)

So ye are playin their 2nd team as you say. Do you know what lg they compete in if its not the LSL?????
    Last edited by CousinSylDolan; 30/11/2006 at 1:02 PM.

[QUOTE=OpenGoal;584053]I remember watching Newtown beat Inchicore the last time down in StCaimans field, seemed like a massive crowd that day(granted I was much younger). Any surviving players from that day? Jay or Noel maybe???????[/QUOTE

Yes, jay (18)and noel(17) both played that day. Damien Lindsay, current joint manager also played. Great day, Marty Russell scored a screamer from 30yards to win it in extra time. They say a Crowd of 2000+ watched that day in 1993. It seemed more like 10000 to me at the time
    you are only a loser when you stop trying. Playing sport does not build character, it reveals it.

[QUOTE=papa-j;584338]
    Quote Originally Posted by OpenGoal View Post
    I remember watching Newtown beat Inchicore the last time down in StCaimans field, seemed like a massive crowd that day(granted I was much younger). Any surviving players from that day? Jay or Noel maybe???????[/QUOTE

Yes, jay (18)and noel(17) both played that day. Damien Lindsay, current joint manager also played. Great day, Marty Russell scored a screamer from 30yards to win it in extra time. They say a Crowd of 2000+ watched that day in 1993. It seemed more like 10000 to me at the time
    remember watching game .. good match newtown never let inchicore settle into the game harried them all over the pitch and then played some excellent football... marty russell scored goal of his life .. and big crowd from all over shannon supported you that day ... 2 fresh faced youngsters jay stretton / noel donnelan and a few others as well .

Page 28 of 95 FirstFirst ... 1826272829303878 ... LastLast