Page 21 of 95 FirstFirst ... 1119202122233171 ... LastLast

Thread: Clare League 2006/07

Quote Originally Posted by Prem Rep! View Post
    Don't think Anto listens too much to his auld fella. Couldn't be more different, Mikey is 'Mr Bridge United' and Anto is 'Mr what club next'!
    Prem,
    you have to remember that junior players are not under contract and can play with as many clubs as they like. There are players that stay with the one club for there playing years and others that don't and thats the way it is.
    If you're in the penalty area and don't know what to do with the ball, put it in the net and we'll discuss the options later

FORM IS TEMPORARY, CLASS IS PERMANENT

Fair enough, i agree. If a) you are not getting your place and just want to play; b)you fall out with the management; c) you want to challenge for honours (although lame).
    Now if none of the above apply you would think a player would be happy enough to stay with his local side. Anto just left, but he did the same the last time we won the league. Makes no sense but I don't want to raise this again so lets just agree to disagree.

lads davy wall on his way back 2limerick plus hes bringing another player with him from newtown 2d view

Quote Originally Posted by the only 1 View Post
    lads davy wall on his way back 2limerick plus hes bringing another player with him from newtown 2d view
    Above is aload of bull....
    If i am right, you have posted something like this before and that never happened.
    If you're in the penalty area and don't know what to do with the ball, put it in the net and we'll discuss the options later

Quote Originally Posted by Prem Rep! View Post
    FAI Game off, Bridge originally down for Mountshannon but now changed to Newtown.

This baffles me.How can a Kerry team get an FAI game cancelled when there is such a song and dance made in Clare when a Clare club wants a change of FAI/Munster fixture????

We have already been told that FAI under 17 and Munster youths games,involving Clare clubs cannot be delayed?????
    "You'll not see nothing like the Shelbourne team"

Quote Originally Posted by shelbourne1904 View Post
    This baffles me.How can a Kerry team get an FAI game cancelled when there is such a song and dance made in Clare when a Clare club wants a change of FAI/Munster fixture????

We have already been told that FAI under 17 and Munster youths games,involving Clare clubs cannot be delayed?????
    Think they had booked this as a free weekend.

Quote Originally Posted by smellyfeet View Post
    Think they had booked this as a free weekend.
    for these they need to contact the fai of Munster junior and request the weekend off. They may get it appoved or not. seems like they did

Clare People - Drop the Junior Soccer?

Hi lads/lassies, Just posted the following on the Clare People website -

"CP - I'm very dissappointed with your recent coverage or "lack of" coverage for our local Junior Soccer football. Ye set such high standards last year, alot of people have been dissappointed that the same enthusiasm hasn't been shown this year aswell(So far anyway). Pics from games are no longer featured - except underage, compared to last year - 2 page spreads with match reports etc..In my opinion and I know for a fact ye have lost alot of your punters from last year that follow the clare league due to fact that clare Junior soccer isn't covered more. For the first time since ye went to print I had to go to the dreaded C Campion for match reports this week.... its a sad day."

Anyone agree/disagree?
    Do you think this will go down well or will they even care?

Angry

Quote Originally Posted by Murphman View Post
    Hi lads/lassies, Just posted the following on the Clare People website -

"CP - I'm very dissappointed with your recent coverage or "lack of" coverage for our local Junior Soccer football. Ye set such high standards last year, alot of people have been dissappointed that the same enthusiasm hasn't been shown this year aswell(So far anyway). Pics from games are no longer featured - except underage, compared to last year - 2 page spreads with match reports etc..In my opinion and I know for a fact ye have lost alot of your punters from last year that follow the clare league due to fact that clare Junior soccer isn't covered more. For the first time since ye went to print I had to go to the dreaded C Campion for match reports this week.... its a sad day."

Anyone agree/disagree?
    Do you think this will go down well or will they even care?

Dead right only one match report per week now...it seems to be all school boy since they started sponsoring the schoolboy leagues....but with the gaa now finally more or less over hopefully they will show more interest in the league...it is only showing the premier table these days as well...
    I eats the beef......

Anyone agree/disagree?
    Do you think this will go down well or will they even care?[/QUOTE]

Fair play to u writing to them.I would say they will care.Have to agree with you but you may not have noticed even in the schoolboys that they are using out of date photos beside reports ,the photos have nothing to do with the games!!!!!

Its the GAA again.Just watch the improvement once it is over.
    "You'll not see nothing like the Shelbourne team"

i think this is a definite change from last year. maybe been such a new paper they are trying to find the best mix to sell the most papers but i think most 'hardeded' champion readers will never read the 'people. i m sure it will improve but isnt half the season gone already....
    well all the lads who are a bit fond of themselves get off down to the hairdressers.... the gaa season is over

Quote Originally Posted by hacker View Post
    shannon olympic texas holdem poker night in aid of pitch and clubhouse development this friday 3rd nov in the goalpost shannon starting at 8pm sharpish..all welcome and please spread the word..thanks
    you need to give us more details,how much and so on,also % of prisemoney being paid....
    'I couldn't settle in Italy - it was like living in a foreign country.'- Ian Rush

Well lads what do ya think of the new Avatar!!!!!!!
    'I couldn't settle in Italy - it was like living in a foreign country.'- Ian Rush

Quote Originally Posted by BallBreaker View Post
    Well lads what do ya think of the new Avatar!!!!!!!
    Nicely done in fairness...

What does it stand for. The 3 symbols around the red hand???? What are those 3 things?

Looks like 3 ships & the Red hand of Ulster right ??

I presume it signifies that the team was set up by the lads who moved down from the North back in the 70's.

Red Hand

One thing I never understood, why is the red hand in the crest? Is that not a protestant symbol, i.e. the Red Hand Defenders???? Perhaps I'm wrong, can anyone explain?

Quote Originally Posted by OpenGoal View Post
    One thing I never understood, why is the red hand in the crest? Is that not a protestant symbol, i.e. the Red Hand Defenders???? Perhaps I'm wrong, can anyone explain?
    The red hand is backwards on the crest, probably in protest to the red hand defenders. The 3 ships are on the clare crest i think. And the club was set up by 3 lads who moved to Shannon from the north.

Quote Originally Posted by OpenGoal View Post
    trying to remember my history..
    2 irish men o'neill & dermot for years were trying to be kings of ulster they had a few wars & battles untill finaly the high king of ireland told them to settle there differences with a horse race to ulster and the first man to lay his hand on ulster soil would be king of ulster..

dermot was winning race and was halfway across the river that was border to ulster... o'neill then cut of his own hand and threw it across the river to land on ulster soil therefore claiming the title of king of ulster ... it was always known as the red hand of o'neill... so legend & irish folklore have it... also tyrone gaa also wear this crest with pride

" football is a simple game "

Quote Originally Posted by smellyfeet View Post
    Big game in the league sunday coming.
    Away win for Newtown and it will put them on top along with Bridge Celtic.
    Home win would see Bridge UTD climp up the table with game in hand.

any match report ... heard it finished 0-0

" football is a simple game "

Any results and match reports from over the weekend?

Page 21 of 95 FirstFirst ... 1119202122233171 ... LastLast