Page 13 of 95 FirstFirst ... 311121314152363 ... LastLast

Thread: Clare League 2006/07

Quote Originally Posted by old git View Post
    that's why he won't be joining newmarket then ..
    Ouch that hurt

Any idea who is down to referee the Newtown v Bunratty game? Phillip Markham and Paddy Cullen resigning doesn't leave much options does it
    Last edited by Interested; 14/09/2006 at 10:55 PM. Reason: tried to answer a previous quote

Quote Originally Posted by smellyfeet View Post
    The ref's are only in it for the money and thats the whole problem.
    What a load of B+LL+X. I apprieciate that you are entitled to your opinion but financial gain is not the "whole problem" a big part of the problem is understanding and implementing the rules in a fair and just manner.
    How many players in the Clare League have actually read and understood a recent FIFA Rule Book? Not many I would wager.
    The biggest problem that I can see is for every decision a Referee makes he is only 50% correct, that being 11 players will agree with him and 11 players won't. Its basically a no win situation for the referee, who has to try and ref the game impartially regardless.
    As for Referees only being in it for the money, did you ever stop to think that some of the newer referees are all former players and are probably trying to stay active in the game and if they get paid for listening to adults acting like children then more luck to them.
    If you have to criticise, do it constructively.

seems as though daryl eade is on his way back to ennis...
    townie.. did avenue organise some money for him... maybe a free facial in rochfords or a holiday voucher to sligo from mannions

Quote Originally Posted by plasticpitch View Post
    seems as though daryl eade is on his way back to ennis...
    Rumours from the limerick thread seem to be finding their way onto this thread...

Quote Originally Posted by plasticpitch View Post
    townie.. did avenue organise some money for him... maybe a free facial in rochfords or a holiday voucher to sligo from mannions
    They think its all yogurt.
    It is not!

Quote Originally Posted by Interested View Post
    What a load of B+LL+X. I apprieciate that you are entitled to your opinion but financial gain is not the "whole problem" a big part of the problem is understanding and implementing the rules in a fair and just manner.
    How many players in the Clare League have actually read and understood a recent FIFA Rule Book? Not many I would wager.
    The biggest problem that I can see is for every decision a Referee makes he is only 50% correct, that being 11 players will agree with him and 11 players won't. Its basically a no win situation for the referee, who has to try and ref the game impartially regardless.
    As for Referees only being in it for the money, did you ever stop to think that some of the newer referees are all former players and are probably trying to stay active in the game and if they get paid for listening to adults acting like children then more luck to them.
    fair point .. referees cannot win no matter what way the make a decision.. but a few of them have been constantly bad over the last few years ...!! How many of us would be willing to referee also .. think about all the teams in clare / ex players .. how many new referees do the clare league get every year ????? it is a tough job i have had my share of good/ very good / bad & terrible refs over the years you just have to accept it at the moment

" football is a simple game "

fair point .. referees cannot win no matter what way the make a decision.. but a few of them have been constantly bad over the last few years ...!! How many of us would be willing to referee also .. think about all the teams in clare / ex players .. how many new referees do the clare league get every year ????? it is a tough job i have had my share of good/ very good / bad & terrible refs over the years you just have to accept it at the moment
    I don't think I could ever do their job... even @ U-11s I'd expect their would be managers frothing at the mouth during matches... I for one could do without that grief.

If somebody started young its a good road to go down though... I know one of the Eircom league refs in Dublin... He's done matches on TV and assistant ref at UEFA Cup matches... I'd say its a tidy little sum to earn on the side. He got injured in early 20s and just took it up.
    It is not!

Quote Originally Posted by Interested View Post
    Interested if you are to go by your name try reading back through thread before you come on and start your rant

Thumbs down

Refs in Clare get far too much verbal abuse from players and managers. Hardly surprising then that there is a shortage of refs. In fairness some of them do bring it on themselves with some crazy and inconsistent decisions. Speaking to others involved in other junior leagues the refs there dont tolerate as much verbal abuse especially from players. Im sure if you asked the refs there are certain clubs and individual characters who are worse than most.
    As for the money - Im sure that clubs wouldnt mind paying more if they got consistently good referees every sunday. Its the lower leagues and underage teams that will suffer. The best (of whats left) will be assigned premier games. After that absoulutely anyone with a whistle, thick glasses and a god complex will be allowed ref the other games!

Quote Originally Posted by myleftfoot View Post
    Refs in Clare get far too much verbal abuse from players and managers. Hardly surprising then that there is a shortage of refs. In fairness some of them do bring it on themselves with some crazy and inconsistent decisions. Speaking to others involved in other junior leagues the refs there dont tolerate as much verbal abuse especially from players. Im sure if you asked the refs there are certain clubs and individual characters who are worse than most.
    As for the money - Im sure that clubs wouldnt mind paying more if they got consistently good referees every sunday. Its the lower leagues and underage teams that will suffer. The best (of whats left) will be assigned premier games. After that absoulutely anyone with a whistle, thick glasses and a god complex will be allowed ref the other games!
    for all you older people remember carl o neill / noel bennett / roger mc mahon . trying to remember another ref from ennis.. was famous for yellow& red cards and even boasted he would try & break his record of red cards for the next season.. ( looked like carl o neill)

I remember Carl Oneill, he was in charge for one of our games, u12's i think.
    The ball went in tru a hole in the net and he gave the goal, the other teams manager even agreed that it should have been a goal kick but he wouldn't change his mind.
    Last edited by smellyfeet; 15/09/2006 at 11:28 AM.
    If you're in the penalty area and don't know what to do with the ball, put it in the net and we'll discuss the options later

FORM IS TEMPORARY, CLASS IS PERMANENT

Yah, I remember them all...just goes to prove that there is not any sudden crisis in the standard of refs...they were always brutal
    But seriously fair play to them because without them we dont have a game to play. Clubs definately need to take the lead on this and punish players/managers for abusing officials by fining/banning them. If a player abused his manager or a comittee member etc they would be fcuked out so it should be the same punishment for abusing the match officials. That said I probably be banned myself
    you are only a loser when you stop trying. Playing sport does not build character, it reveals it.

So you are saying that if a team goes far in the FAI Junior that their stand is
    GREAT. Read the post, as i said there are no GREAT teams in limerick, people who have been involved in Junior soccer in Limerick would probably agree that the standard is NOT GREAT,I was reading the Limerick thread and some say that it is poor aswell....And as i said already Soccer in Shannon/Clare is fairly poor in general.
    reasons why the standard has dropped - too many young fellas getting on junior A teams too early. Look at the average age of most of the teams in the league..it must be 22-23 years. Teams are made up of 1 or 2 older lads
    the rest being late teens or early 20's, few years ago it was the opposite with the core of the teams around 30 with a few rookies sprinkled in.
    Now there is an uneven age spead with too much of a gap or no gap at all.

These young players dont get any experience because they end up playing with / against the lads that they played schoolboy/youths football with so the standard doesn't imporve. To demonstrate the point...Bridge UTD won the league last year, their team had a good spead of players in 30's, late/mid 20's and a couple of rookies. A good even spread of experience and freshness.
    you are only a loser when you stop trying. Playing sport does not build character, it reveals it.

Ah but last years league was a freak year (not meaning any disrespect to Bridge Utd's league victory... a win is a win!). Teams that challenged for the title weren't very far from relegation either. Avenue should have won it... and I don't like saying that but if they hadn't lost the plot altogether they could have won by 9 points and they had plenty of youth in their side.
    It is not!

Anyone know why Newtown and Rineanna ,match is on @ 6 oclock on sunday.
    Is it because of the FAI games or something or is it lack of refs.
    If you're in the penalty area and don't know what to do with the ball, put it in the net and we'll discuss the options later

Anyone know why Newtown and Rineanna ,match is on @ 6 oclock on sunday.
    Is it because of the FAI games or something or is it lack of refs.
    surely you don't know the biggest game of the year is on sunday afternoon mayo v kerry all ireland football final .. this might have something to do with late kick off

this might have something to do with late kick off
    I heard that but didn't really think that was the reason. What a disgrace

If the Oscar Traynor final was on would a local GAA match be switched, I think not, and rightly so. So why do the Clare league do something like this.
    Seriously

Do clubs have the right to say no to this kind of thing. Sunday morning 11.00 oclock would suite most no!!!!!

Thumbs down

11 o clock is best... leaves you with the whole day afterwards.

6 o clock means you're just waiting around for a game and it can give players the added incentive to go on the booze the night before:

"sure I'll be grand its not on unitl 6!"
    It is not!

was it Noel Coughlan
    its a long way from Mcdonough park to here

I heard that but didn't really think that was the reason. What a disgrace

If the Oscar Traynor final was on would a local GAA match be switched, I think not, and rightly so. So why do the Clare league do something like this.
    Seriously

Do clubs have the right to say no to this kind of thing. Sunday morning 11.00 oclock would suite most no!!!!!
    no idea why or how?? regardless, til Sunday evening!!!!!

Page 13 of 95 FirstFirst ... 311121314152363 ... LastLast