Quote Originally Posted by Pretender View Post
    Lifford 1 - Bridge Utd 3

Brian Hehir scored for Lifford.

Bridge went 1 up, had best chances of 1st half. Lifford scored early in the second half. Brian Hehir volleyed home after a good flick on from Mannering. Then the referee... (Markham - I'm almost sure that's his name... the lad with the moustache) sends off niall white for calling the Utd manager a w****r as he has had the linesmans flag pointed in Utd's favour all game long. If he was a proper official it'd be a straight red but calling the manager that is the same as saying it to another player... at most a yellow. The Ref lost the plot because both sides were calling for decisions and Lifford got the Red because the were moaning more. Utd's 2nd goal... definite free in middle of pitch for obstruction of Lifford player after he knocked the ball around utd player... not given and in fairness utd player scored a stunning 30 yard (at least!!) effort... top corner and all.

The final goal was the best though. Ball is about 2 yards out of play on Utd benches' side of the pitch. Their manager keeps flag down. Everybody bar utd striker stops playing. They score. ref allows it. Bridge manager laughs his hole off!!!

I was waiting for the ref to actually score one himself!!

Referee's have a tough time. I don't like giving out about them as it only means there will be less people to do the job. But last night was just a joke.
    first of all, you can't call anyone a w***er its threathening and abusive behaviour and especiely not in front of the "ref" wasnt the first time hed said things like that all game, 2ndly i dont no how anyone can say the ball was out it wasnt out and if i was the manager of lifford id have somthing to say to the goaly what was he thinking not playing the whistle,to busy mouthing all day at ref,inexperience caused the goal not the linesman,
    IMO ref didnt do all that bad, lads we all no the cant play well all the time but we keep getting upset wen it happens, a step back is needed i think.Without them were f**ked lads.

Quote Originally Posted by manalishi View Post
    The final goal was the best though. Ball is about 2 yards out of play on Utd benches' side of the pitch. Their manager keeps flag down. Everybody bar utd striker stops playing. They score. ref allows it. Bridge manager laughs his hole off!!!

I was waiting for the ref to actually score one himself!!

Referee's have a tough time. I don't like giving out about them as it only means there will be less people to do the job. But last night was just a joke.

So the old cheating on the line,so famous in the Bridge over the years,is back!!!It was so bad one time that a visiting winger was actually tackled by a supporter!!!!!
    Is it not the job of the referee in the case of continuous doubt about decisions on the line to demand the club to change the linesman.

I hope the dedicated Bridge man is happy to have been able to help his team to get a win by cheating on the line and away from home now as well.Well done to all concerned!!!!
    dont be silly if the ref thought that well why didnt he change it
    GROW UP

Quote Originally Posted by newlad View Post
    dont be silly if the ref thought that well why didnt he change it
    GROW UP
    Grow up???
    Did you ever hear of fairplay and cheating.I wasnt there but heard this from numerous scources including neutrals.Whether the ref saw it or not,and that is why we use team officials as back up,the apointed lines man is supposed to be honest.

Let me get this straight are you saying it is ok to cheat to help win????

first of all, you can't call anyone a w***er its threathening and abusive behaviour and especiely not in front of the "ref" wasnt the first time hed said things like that all game, 2ndly i dont no how anyone can say the ball was out it wasnt out and if i was the manager of lifford id have somthing to say to the goaly what was he thinking not playing the whistle,to busy mouthing all day at ref,inexperience caused the goal not the linesman,
    IMO ref didnt do all that bad, lads we all no the cant play well all the time but we keep getting upset wen it happens, a step back is needed i think.Without them were f**ked lads.
    I agree that we really need referees and that they deserve more respect.
    However, The sending off was a joke. Lifford and Bridge players called each other worse during the match... its an ugly part of the game but most of it happens in the heat of the moment. It wasn't the first time the grey haired lad had made a dubious call for a throw at that side and i can understand the player who roared at him being frustrated.

That man should not be allowed hold the linesmans flag for a game of tidillywinks let alone a football match!!!!!

Also fair play to the bridge centre half (came on as a sub) who protected a Lifford player when some Bridge players were ready to kill him for a rash challenge on their keeper.
    They think its all yogurt.
    It is not!

Quote Originally Posted by shelbourne1904 View Post
    Grow up???
    Did you ever hear of fairplay and cheating.I wasnt there but heard this from numerous scources including neutrals.Whether the ref saw it or not,and that is why we use team officials as back up,the apointed lines man is supposed to be honest.

Let me get this straight are you saying it is ok to cheat to help win????
    if you read my previous post i said the ball was clearly not out,and it wasnt its sour grapes

And BTW no ref deserved the abuse that was given on the 200 yards walk back the dressing room,

I dont think the the would of got back into it anyway lads the wind was takin out of the sales after Albert finnins screamer, and to back newlad the ball wasnt out

FYI the ref Phillip Markham has resigned from refereeing.He has already notified Michael Lydon of this and will not be doing the line in the delayed under 15 cup final on tonight.I believe Paddy Cullen has also resigned.

Thumbs down

FYI the ref Phillip Markham has resigned from refereeing.He has already notified Michael Lydon of this and will not be doing the line in the delayed under 15 cup final on tonight.I believe Paddy Cullen has also resigned.
    well im not surprised,the s**t he had to endure going to dressing room, and lads hes not the worst ref out there another one less for the clare league

Shocking!!!!!

I really cannot believe we have lost 2 referee's because of abuse from players. 2 youths games tomorrow will be off now because of this.

Should the clubs who caused these resignations be punished. The line has to be drawn somewhere or we will end up with no football because of this problem.
    In fairness Ml Lydon has been preaching for 4/5 years now that its becoming more and more of a problem and its come to a point now where its going to seriously affect the game in Clare.

And BTW no ref deserved the abuse that was given on the 200 yards walk back the dressing room,
    lads if the ref is tony markhem we had him in limerick hes a bad ref

Quote Originally Posted by the hoops View Post
    lads if the ref is tony markhem we had him in limerick hes a bad ref
    No Philip Markham... I remember Tony alright though.

Any game that Philip is down to ref this weekend will be called off.

Quote Originally Posted by CousinSylDolan View Post
    Shocking!!!!!

I really cannot believe we have lost 2 referee's because of abuse from players. 2 youths games tomorrow will be off now because of this.

Should the clubs who caused these resignations be punished. The line has to be drawn somewhere or we will end up with no football because of this problem.
    In fairness Ml Lydon has been preaching for 4/5 years now that its becoming more and more of a problem and its come to a point now where its going to seriously affect the game in Clare.
    its a terrible loss because we are already at breaking point with respect to refereeing numbers. I doubt it was just yesterdays game though... he hardly got hugs and kisses from all the avenue and newtown boys the night before. The walk back to the dressing room was unfortunate... but in fairness to Lifford's manager he never raised his voice.

Hopefully an effort will be made to get these 2 lads refereeing again
    It is not!

Quote Originally Posted by CousinSylDolan View Post
    No Philip Markham... I remember Tony alright though.

Any game that Philip is down to ref this weekend will be called off.
    Tony Markham would be welcome to the clare league, we need what we can get now, we cant be fussy, and hes not that bad hoops,lads they have no linesmen like big games on tv and even they get it wrong!! give them a break.

i dont think raising voices is the prob its wats said is mainly the prob,game was over at that stage,what ever happened to what ever happens on the pitch stays there!!!!!

I agree that we really need referees and that they deserve more respect.
    However, The sending off was a joke. Lifford and Bridge players called each other worse during the match... its an ugly part of the game but most of it happens in the heat of the moment. It wasn't the first time the grey haired lad had made a dubious call for a throw at that side and i can understand the player who roared at him being frustrated.

That man should not be allowed hold the linesmans flag for a game of tidillywinks let alone a football match!!!!!

Also fair play to the bridge centre half (came on as a sub) who protected a Lifford player when some Bridge players were ready to kill him for a rash challenge on their keeper.
    it was a bad challange but i dont think he was in danger Albert Finnin just ran the few yards to get him out of there incase somthing did develope well done to him!!!

I doubt it was just yesterdays game though... he hardly got hugs and kisses from all the avenue and newtown boys the night before.

Hopefully an effort will be made to get these 2 lads refereeing again
    He didn't get any abuse from Newtown V Avenue game. Even when 1 player from each team were sent off.
    If you're in the penalty area and don't know what to do with the ball, put it in the net and we'll discuss the options later

FORM IS TEMPORARY, CLASS IS PERMANENT

Well now where will it end, I am sure that alot of the other Clare league refs are looking at this situation and wondering if they should bother either. As for Philip I know the guy very well and he is a throughly nice guy. I played with him and he was always hard and fair and it would take alot to push him away from involvement in football. Anybody involved in the lead up should look at themselves and reveiw what they are trying to get out of football in Clare.
    As I have said already in a previous post the management and players should take along look at thier attitudes towards the officials in the Clare league. And anybody that was a catalyst in Philip and Paddy resigning , shame on you.

Quote Originally Posted by smellyfeet View Post
    He didn't get any abuse from Newtown V Avenue game. Even when 1 player from each team were sent off.
    Fair enough. I wasn't there... had just presumed... Wrongly!
    It is not!

Its a bit late to be sad.If you wanted to talk them back what could you say?Every one will be nice from now on???If they believe that they are soft in the head.By the way you only mention the losses to the junior league.Everytime a refs gets a cold another one is moved from a schoolboy game.In other words some squabble in the 3rd division is considered more important than a top of the table clash in the say 16s league even though the problem was created in the junior league.There are 17 schoolboy games a week this season.Whose going to do them or will we just give it up and let the kids play GAA????

Page 9 of 95 FirstFirst ... 78910111959 ... LastLast