Page 8 of 95 FirstFirst ... 6789101858 ... LastLast

Thread: Clare League 2006/07

Quote Originally Posted by old git View Post
    1-1 with avenue .. caught most of game on my way home from work.. was a poor game draw a fair result .... avenue scored first with a penalty just after half time ( must add a very harsh decision by referee) and both teams then had 2 players sent off later in game again another strange decision by referee bit of pushing & shoving in middle of field by 7-8 players ..
    It was a peno, Noel Donnellan clipped Avenue player in the box. 1 player from both teams got the line. Davy Wall tackled Avenue Mike OMahony late in the center circle, nothing too bad,but it was what happened after which resulted in the sendings off. Another Avenue player got involved and both teams had a scuffle. If anything Davy Wall should have been booked and that would have been that but Philip Markam "ref" had other idea's. Mike OMahony Avenue and Davy Wall Newtown sent off. Newtown scored tru Dave Devaney.
    Think the foreign fella for Avenue got the Peno.
    If you're in the penalty area and don't know what to do with the ball, put it in the net and we'll discuss the options later

FORM IS TEMPORARY, CLASS IS PERMANENT

Newtown Dreamteam

Dreamteam is turning into a nightmare.Very poor uninventive performance against Avenue average but spirited team.Defensive clearances tend to go no more than 20 yards and to the opposition.Midfield no ideas,frontline too soft and whole team one paced.Numerous chances lost from poor fullback crosses.Many corners wasted.
    Referee made 4 bad decisions.Only 4 decisions to be made so 100% error.Neither player should have been sent off ,Newtown goal in first half not offside and penalty was as soft as Ive seen,well won by the Avenues players scream.Avenue goalkeeper should have been sent off for kicking player after conceding goal.

Quote Originally Posted by manalishi View Post
    Dreamteam is turning into a nightmare.Very poor uninventive performance against Avenue average but spirited team.Defensive clearances tend to go no more than 20 yards and to the opposition.Midfield no ideas,frontline too soft and whole team one paced.Numerous chances lost from poor fullback crosses.Many corners wasted.
    Referee made 4 bad decisions.Only 4 decisions to be made so 100% error.Neither player should have been sent off ,Newtown goal in first half not offside and penalty was as soft as Ive seen,well won by the Avenues players scream.Avenue goalkeeper should have been sent off for kicking player after conceding goal.
    manalishi,,, u just summed up clare league refs usuall performance in report above ... how can he make these 4 wrong decisions if people watching can see they are wrong...!!! but sure they have been getting away with it for years

" football is a simple game "

Quote Originally Posted by manalishi View Post
    Saw the game last night and thought newtown were by far the better side and got the ball in the box over and over again, some poor crosses but some quality as well, just nobody to get on the end of them, thought newtowns only outlet was their 2 fullbacks. It was a penalty, unfortunate but clear cut. Sendings off were ridiculous but game was getting very niggly. Neither side will do much damage in the league. any report from newmarket game

Quote Originally Posted by Brazil Nut View Post
    Saw the game last night and thought newtown were by far the better side and got the ball in the box over and over again, some poor crosses but some quality as well, just nobody to get on the end of them, thought newtowns only outlet was their 2 fullbacks. It was a penalty, unfortunate but clear cut. Sendings off were ridiculous but game was getting very niggly. Neither side will do much damage in the league. any report from newmarket game
    I wouldn't start predicting things just yet... its only september. Every team in the league is capable of taking points from each other as has been proven in the opening weeks. Neither Newtown or Avenue have started how they would like but could still easily win the league. Newtown were probably the better team in the lifford game and were unlucky not to get something from the game and Avenue always raise their game for certain opposition. I expect them to have a squad of a least 30 for every Lifford game this season!!
    They think its all yogurt.
    It is not!

Quote Originally Posted by Pretender View Post
    I wouldn't start predicting things just yet... its only september. Every team in the league is capable of taking points from each other as has been proven in the opening weeks. Neither Newtown or Avenue have started how they would like but could still easily win the league. Newtown were probably the better team in the lifford game and were unlucky not to get something from the game and Avenue always raise their game for certain opposition. I expect them to have a squad of a least 30 for every Lifford game this season!!
    ya the problem is they can only play 11 of them

Lifford 1 - 3 bridge Utd

Angry Referee's Power Trip

Lifford 1 - Bridge Utd 3

Brian Hehir scored for Lifford.

Bridge went 1 up, had best chances of 1st half. Lifford scored early in the second half. Brian Hehir volleyed home after a good flick on from Mannering. Then the referee... (Markham - I'm almost sure that's his name... the lad with the moustache) sends off niall white for calling the Utd manager a w****r as he has had the linesmans flag pointed in Utd's favour all game long. If he was a proper official it'd be a straight red but calling the manager that is the same as saying it to another player... at most a yellow. The Ref lost the plot because both sides were calling for decisions and Lifford got the Red because the were moaning more. Utd's 2nd goal... definite free in middle of pitch for obstruction of Lifford player after he knocked the ball around utd player... not given and in fairness utd player scored a stunning 30 yard (at least!!) effort... top corner and all.

The final goal was the best though. Ball is about 2 yards out of play on Utd benches' side of the pitch. Their manager keeps flag down. Everybody bar utd striker stops playing. They score. ref allows it. Bridge manager laughs his hole off!!!

I was waiting for the ref to actually score one himself!!

Referee's have a tough time. I don't like giving out about them as it only means there will be less people to do the job. But last night was just a joke.
    They think its all yogurt.
    It is not!

Lifford 1 - Bridge Utd 3

Bridge went 1 up, had best chances of 1st half. Lifford scored early in the second half. Brian Hehir volleyed home after a good flick on from Mannering. Then the referee... (Markham - I'm almost sure that's his name... the lad with the moustache) sends off niall white for calling the Utd manager a w****r as he has had the linesmans flag pointed in Utd's favour all game long. If he was a proper official it'd be a straight red but calling the manager that is the same as saying it to another player... at most a yellow. The Ref lost the plot because both sides were calling for decisions and Lifford got the Red because the were moaning more. Utd's 2nd goal... definite free in middle of pitch for obstruction of Lifford player after he knocked the ball around utd player... not given and in fairness utd player scored a stunning 30 yard (at least!!) effort... top corner and all.

The final goal was the best though. Ball is about 2 yards out of play on Utd benches' side of the pitch. Their manager keeps flag down. Everybody bar utd striker stops playing. They score. ref allows it. Bridge manager laughs his hole off!!!

Referee's have a tough time. I don't like giving out about them as it only means there will be less people to do the job. But last night was just a joke.
    well prem rep any comment

Lifford 1 - Bridge Utd 3

mr markham not having a good week he also made a mess of newtown v avenue on wednesday night...

" football is a simple game "

The ref's are only in it for the money and thats the whole problem.
    If you're in the penalty area and don't know what to do with the ball, put it in the net and we'll discuss the options later

Quote Originally Posted by plasticpitch View Post
    well prem rep any comment

Our Bridge Utd friend Prem Rep is away on hols....

Referees

Lads lets not turn this forum into ref bashing , the Clare league have few enough referees without people coming on this website giving out about them.
    What is to stop calling a meeting between each club and the referees and air each others views. Granted the standard is not great but how many of us would take it up. Same could be said for the standard of the teams that are playing in the Clare league, how many players out there actually no the rules that they so freely are willing to contest at any given oppurtuinity?
    Smellyfeet I suppose some have gone into it for the money but I am sure that there are those who have gone into it to stay involved in the game at some level.
    What also seems to be happening is that players have this incessant need to keep back chatting and verbally abusing the refs when they don't agree with thier decisions. In all the years that I have played and watched football no matter at what level I have yet to see a ref change a decision.
    Maybe the managers and players should take a long hard look at themselves as to the manner that they approach games and thier attitude towards the officials in the Clare league.

So the old cheating on the line,so famous in the Bridge over the years,is back!!!It was so bad one time that a visiting winger was actually tackled by a supporter!!!!!
    Is it not the job of the referee in the case of continuous doubt about decisions on the line to demand the club to change the linesman.

I hope the dedicated Bridge man is happy to have been able to help his team to get a win by cheating on the line and away from home now as well.Well done to all concerned!!!!

Quote Originally Posted by First View Post
    Lads lets not turn this forum into ref bashing , the Clare league have few enough referees without people coming on this website giving out about them.
    What is to stop calling a meeting between each club and the referees and air each others views. Granted the standard is not great but how many of us would take it up. Same could be said for the standard of the teams that are playing in the Clare league, how many players out there actually no the rules that they so freely are willing to contest at any given oppurtuinity?
    Smellyfeet I suppose some have gone into it for the money but I am sure that there are those who have gone into it to stay involved in the game at some level.
    What also seems to be happening is that players have this incessant need to keep back chatting and verbally abusing the refs when they don't agree with thier decisions. In all the years that I have played and watched football no matter at what level I have yet to see a ref change a decision.
    Maybe the managers and players should take a long hard look at themselves as to the manner that they approach games and thier attitude towards the officials in the Clare league.

so the refs that want to stay involved don't want to be paid
    if the refs weren't so BAD then there wouldn't be so much abuse and back chat. I'm saying it as i see it and that is that the refs in clare league are muck and nothing else. I have yet to see a ref have a good game. the y are ****e. end of.

Quote Originally Posted by smellyfeet View Post
    if the refs weren't so BAD then there wouldn't be so much abuse and back chat. I'm saying it as i see it and that is that the refs in clare league are muck and nothing else. I have yet to see a ref have a good game. the y are ****e. end of.
    Nobody will refuse payment if its been given, what I am saying is that money for some ,may not be the most important factor. What I alluding to also is if there was more contact and communictaion between the clubs and the referees then the problems maybe overcome. Your views ,of which you are totally intitled to ,are what I see causes the problems , they have nothing to add but negativity. Referees have enough to deal with without the incessant questioning and abuse that has become a part of football at all levels. Your discription of referees as muck and ****e is a little over the top IMO. It would be a hard job to run any league without these people.

250 Posts
    smellyfeet,you can't just make a sweeping statement like that and not expect a hostile reaction.Everbody knows that
    A-Its very hard to get Refs.
    B -Of course there could be improvements in standards
    C- Its a very hard job to do (I've done it)
    D- We have several Refs posting on the site and they don't deserve to see stuff like this posted about them

If you want to critisise someone at least make it constructive/civil.
    Last edited by the 12 th man; 08/09/2006 at 10:50 AM.

Quote Originally Posted by First View Post
    Nobody will refuse payment if its been given, what I am saying is that money for some ,may not be the most important factor. What I alluding to also is if there was more contact and communictaion between the clubs and the referees then the problems maybe overcome. Your views ,of which you are totally intitled to ,are what I see causes the problems , they have nothing to add but negativity. Referees have enough to deal with without the incessant questioning and abuse that has become a part of football at all levels. Your discription of referees as muck and ****e is a little over the top IMO. It would be a hard job to run any league without these people.
    Right so, the reason i have so much negative views on the matter is because
    the standard is very very very very very very poor.

Let me add, if i was to see a ref in Clare have a good game then i would applaude them but i can't. I'd love to beleave me i would but i can't.

Lads, to be fair we have to be realistic.The standard of play and players is hardly of the standard that we are are demanding from referees.The current standard of referee is probably of the same standard as the players.Having said that the players are not paid!!!!It doesnt get away from the fact that it is a hard job and isnt helped by people challenging every decision ,whatever about the players but by the line also.That can mean up to 22 players and 20 subs mentors all putting pressure on the ref.Pressure is one thing but outright abuse is intollerable.Who would put up with it.

Quote Originally Posted by the 12 th man View Post
    smellyfeet,you can't just make a sweeping statement like that and not expect a hostile reaction.Everbody knows that
    A-Its very hard to get Refs.
    B -Of course there could be improvements in standards
    C- Its a very hard job to do (I've done it)
    D- We have several Refs posting on the site and they don't deserve to see stuff like this posted about them

If you want to critisise someone at least make it constructive/civil.
    Very Sorry if i have offended any ref with my comments i take them back.
    Its not all of them i have this opinion on but a select few.

I won't post on the matter again.
    Last edited by smellyfeet; 08/09/2006 at 10:59 AM.

Page 8 of 95 FirstFirst ... 6789101858 ... LastLast