the full finest.....its flat which is some what of a luxury in clare.....it was fairly lush as well due to the good weather at the time and probably due to lack of games on it.....in fairness its a proper job and fair play to newmarket for doin a fine job on it......its up there with newtown pitch as bein one of the better ones goin at the moment...some improvement from the garden sheds and cow sh1t...
I eats the beef......
A great outcome for the ROVERS!!!(am not in work this week, sorry about the delayed report) Saying that, we definitely should have won in 90 mins & extra time. Have more clear-cut chances that we couldn't put away. That has been the story of our season, not been clinical enough in front of goal, especially when we are on top, only for us to concede a late 'loser' due to combination of 'fitness' reserves and a small panel (that struggles when we get the injuries that we got after Xmas). Fair play to all on Tuesday, had 6 subs on the line for the first time in 2007, including two regulars who travelled down that afternoon from the big smoke.
Saying that Prem Rep, ye very nearly nipped it in extra time with that lob, great save from O'Connor to tip it over the bar. Saying that the two Kelly brothers got in the way of each other for an easy winner for us at the other end.
Re the penos, the gamble changing goalies worked beautifully for us. Though, with the Rovers missing our first one, going 2 down, I was full sure LUCK was against us AGAIN. Final score 3-2. Rovers 3/4 BridgeU 2/5
Was full sure that 20 points target (re minimum points required for survival that was discussed with Hacker earlier in season) was going to HAUNT me for the summer! We were nearly there in mid Feb at 18, and not even one point for the rest of the season....... If we had won those penalties in the cup quarters vs Avenue, i am convinced we would have easily won at least one of our last three league games. But when you're sliding, luck evades ya. Until the Village won out their remaining league games. CONGRATS on winning back the 'No1 team in Parish Title', but beware next season!!! Also, please remember that the aggregate score in the league was 3-3......
Anyway, commiserations Prem Rep & best of luck on Sunday!!
Cheers Rovers, congrats
Well lads, our worst fears have come through. Battle as expected with Bunratty yesterday ended in a one nil defeat, Scales scoring in the first five minutes. We battled away but could not make th break through. Darren Whelen was in super form. We did score once only for the goal to be very arguably disallowed for offside even though the offside player was not the player who scored. Ahh well, we're making no excuses, we had enough of chances through the season to get out of trouble and didn't.
Congrats to Bunratty and Rineanna and good luck in the Prem next year.
Also congrats to Newmarket for their new facilities which are without doubt the best in Clare.
Lynch Hotels Clare & District Soccer League Fixtures
Saturday 09/06/07
Clare Cup Final
County Grounds: Avenue United A V Moher Celtic Referee: M.O`Brien 6.30
Assisiant Referees: A.Murphy, D.McCarthy
4th Official: J.Stanford
Note: In event of a draw 10 mins e/w extra and replay if necessary. Replay will take place on Saturday 16th June 2007 at 6.30 same venue and officials
Promotion/Relegation Playoff.
Bridge Utd 0-1 Bunratty
FAI Area final.
Newmarket 4-1 Newtown (played at Newmarket)
Munster area final between Newtown and Newmarket is on Wednesday in Newtown.
2nd/3rd Division Promotion Relegation Play-Off
Ennistymon Town 0-2 Inch Crusaders
Also Hermitage stay in the 1st division. They did not play vs Bridge Utd yesterday as Bridge could not be promoted as a result of their A team going down to the 1st.
Premier next season...
Avenue
Newtown
Moher
Bunratty
Bridge Celtic
Kildysart
Burren
Rineanna
Newmarket
Lifford
1st Division
Bridge Utd
Mntshn
Olympic
Hermitage
Corofin
Kilmaley
Kilrush
Lifford B
Connolly
Rock Rovers
Highpoints and low points of the 2006/2007 season.
Mine are as follows:
Highpoints:
1 - New Champions in Bridge Celtic. Always welcomed in football circles.
2 - Newmarket opening new top class pitches - well done to all involved.
3 - Oscar Traynor side getting to quater final - had been a few years since we got out of the group stage so fair play.
Lowpoints:
1 - Oscar Traynor's loosing 6-1 on astro turf in Dublin.
2 - No league game for over 2 months due to bad weather, f.a.i/munster games, oscar traynor etc.
3 - Trip to Burren next yearonly joking.
Trip to Burren next yearonly joking.[/QUOTE]
Speaking of Burren, where do they play their home games? Whats their pitch like?
Also, whats Kildysert's pitch like? CousSyl should be able to provide some feedback.
Locations in Premier;
* Parish of Nemarket (3)
* Parish of Ennis (2)
* Shannon
* Liscannor
* Bridgetown/O'Briens Bridge
* Kildysert
* Burren
Locations in 1st Div;
* Parish of Ennis (3)
* Parish of Kilmaley (2)
* Sixmilebridge
* Mountshannon/Scariff
* Shannon
* Corofin
* Kilrush
Did not make the trips to Kildysart or Burren this year.
I hear Kildysart's place in Cahercon is decent but the West Clare gale that blows across Doolin make's the Burren a tough away trip.
joking?? no way! i totally agree, after witnessing the ref(from the bridge bunratty playoff) giving an offside for a player who touched the ball passed a defender and ran on to it himself, the linesman rose his flag and ref than blew the whistle while sayin, i no i no wrong decision!! and he is one of better refs in clare!!! it jus makes ya wonder!!!!!
I don't think I'm a kitten, and if I was, I would be a really ugly one with a beard."
Gennaro Gattuso on Steven Gerrard's claims that he is as scary as a kitten.