Page 63 of 95 FirstFirst ... 1353616263646573 ... LastLast
Results 1,241 to 1,260 of 1885

Thread: Clare League 2006/07

Yeah thats the way the cookie crumbles, i would agree with that IF Moher had to play games on a sunday also. Its not fair on any other club that Moher get preferential treatment becaue they have a few Gaa heads in their team.
    Newtown F.C. 1977-2008 R.I.P.

Quote Originally Posted by hairy View Post
    I know you were a good player but your talking out of your arse. All three would do a job for Newtown.

hold on now .. which 3 players are we talking about .. kes . quirky / locks .. were did mc carthy appear in question.. my mistake never realised kes was kieran kissane..
    ok so only 1 kieran kissane would be a good addation
    who would you take out of current newtown team to fit in these players ( thanks for the compliment about me being a good player you must know me really well ):

" football is a simple game "

Every year Moher seem to request matches on Mondays and Fridays evenings because of GAA games. It also suits the Clare league cos there is a shortage of refs. You cant blame Moher for requesting games when it suits them.
    If the fixture doesnt suit your club then im sure you can request it to be played on Sunday or another evening. In fairness too far away from Shannon for an evening game at 6.30.

Quote Originally Posted by myleftfoot View Post
    Every year Moher seem to request matches on Mondays and Fridays evenings because of GAA games. It also suits the Clare league cos there is a shortage of refs. You cant blame Moher for requesting games when it suits them.
    If the fixture doesnt suit your club then im sure you can request it to be played on Sunday or another evening. In fairness too far away from Shannon for an evening game at 6.30.

so you reckon other teams in clare would be given same options if asked for for monday / friday evenings . should clare league soccer league be going out of there way to help a team just because they have a lot of lads playing gaa at weekends i don't think so

" football is a simple game "

Quote Originally Posted by myleftfoot View Post
    Ya you can request it alright but you will be told where to go.Who are you to say wether its too far away or not.Do you know what time all the olympic players work until?????

Formerly: vidic-class
    CousinSyl...do you know when the junior and youths area finals will be on??? May is it

Quote Originally Posted by vidic-class View Post
    CousinSyl...do you know when the junior and youths area finals will be on??? May is it
    I would imagine it will be into May before any area finals are played. There are some shield finals still to be played too.

rineanna game

sorry bout not replying bout the game, even enough in frirt half to be honest avenue went 1 up but a soft goal mix up between centr half an keeper allowed consie tap it in from 6 inches
    sencond half avenue had more of the ball but were were prone to being caught on a few break aways, rineanna were happy to soak up the pressure, but their fitness(lack of) told in teh end as avenue finished very strong attacking at will as rovers defended their penalty box for a finsih, 2 mins into injury time russell lobbed the keeper( who had had a sound game, good hands good kick outs), deserved 3 points i though but heart break for rovers. if only they can fight like that against moher but i doubt it. as alex ferguson said once when they drew 1-1 v west ham an hammers had niothing to paly for,, their efforts were obscene. looked like rovers only wanted avenue not to win..

newtown for the double

where is all the talk gone of newtown lifting the title this year? built them up too early again did ye

It has been a disappointing week for Newtown, Newmarket away is never an easy game despite Newmarket struggling,a local derby n all that.Newtown had enough chances to win the game but failed to take them. Bridge Celtic was a diferrent story as i heard from the Newtown lads Bridge outplayed and were physically bigger than Newtown. Same ol story again from the Moubnshannon game in midweek, Newtown should have won the game quite easily in the end but again didnt take their chances and Mounshannon left with a point. Newtown have hit a bad patch at the wrong time in the season, maybe lacking in confidence and seem a bit short of goals, apart from Cheeky and Ray Quigley. Hopefully they can regroup over the OT break and make a good final push for the league and cup.
    Newtown F.C. 1977-2008 R.I.P.

Quote Originally Posted by avenueC View Post
    sorry bout not replying bout the game, even enough in frirt half to be honest avenue went 1 up but a soft goal mix up between centr half an keeper allowed consie tap it in from 6 inches
    sencond half avenue had more of the ball but were were prone to being caught on a few break aways, rineanna were happy to soak up the pressure, but their fitness(lack of) told in teh end as avenue finished very strong attacking at will as rovers defended their penalty box for a finsih, 2 mins into injury time russell lobbed the keeper( who had had a sound game, good hands good kick outs), deserved 3 points i though but heart break for rovers. if only they can fight like that against moher but i doubt it. as alex ferguson said once when they drew 1-1 v west ham an hammers had niothing to paly for,, their efforts were obscene. looked like rovers only wanted avenue not to win..
    first off, the 'soft goal' mix up describes the first goal Avenue scored.

secondly, the Rovers goal came from a great defense splitting ball from midfield to Consie at the edge of the box, who flicked it past the outcoming keeper & then tapped it in from 6 inches to make it sure it got there!!!

Russell scored the winner with 2 mins left, keeper should have never been lobbed but it was just one of those looping efforts that seem to come off the rare time. Keeper played very well apart from that. THEN it was Avenue defending like crazy, we had an injury time effort to get a draw but it went wide, 3 points was always the objecive.

RE MOHER; they have lost two games out of 14 (see below)
    Team P W D L F A GD Pts
    1 BRIDGE CELTIC 14 8 4 2 29 17 12 28
    2 MOHER CELTIC 13 8 3 2 25 13 12 27
    once vs Newtown 0-1 , & once vs Rineanna 0-2

Formerly: vidic-class
    Quote Originally Posted by CousinSylDolan View Post
    There are some shield finals still to be played too.
    oh right....what determines who's in the shields?are they from before the start of the league season

Quote Originally Posted by vidic-class View Post
    oh right....what determines who's in the shields?are they from before the start of the league season
    Shields are played at the start of the season except for the Premier lg who start with lg games. Not sure about 2nd and 3rd divisions but Bunratty are to play Burren in the 1st division shield final. Premier shield will probably just be a straight knockout competition like the divisional cups in Limerick.

Results from last night....

1st
    Rock Rovers 0-3 Bunratty

2nd
    Lifford B 3-1 Newmarket B (I think)

3rd
    Rhine Rovers 4-3 Newtown B

Foot.ie!

Shields are played at the start of the season except for the Premier lg who start with lg games. Not sure about 2nd and 3rd divisions but Bunratty are to play Burren in the 1st division shield final. Premier shield will probably just be a straight knockout competition like the divisional cups in Limerick.

Results from last night....

1st
    Rock Rovers 0-3 Bunratty

2nd
    Lifford B 3-1 Newmarket B (I think)

3rd
    Rhine Rovers 4-3 Newtown B

Bridge celtic b 3 hermitage b 2
    I eats the beef......

Cousin Syl, should that be Ennistymon 3-1 Newmarket B, that was the fixture down anyway.

Do you know where to get accurate league tables. I presume the tables in the Champion are provided by Lydon, ya?

Quote Originally Posted by Sweetchips View Post
    Cousin Syl, should that be Ennistymon 3-1 Newmarket B, that was the fixture down anyway.

Do you know where to get accurate league tables. I presume the tables in the Champion are provided by Lydon, ya?
    I noticed that in the fixtures but from what I saw in Lee's rd it was Lifford. Could be wrong though.

Tables in the Clare People are the nearest to correct I think. They were in last Tuesday's paper.

rineanna game

obviously u were playing then, i was watching.easier to comment on a game seein it on the line an not running around .... bit biased but not to worry,,
    yer man consie didnt touch the ball till it was on the line , it ran straite thru from inside yer half from kelly hanoo an centre back mix up straite thru em..
    any way game over, 3 points. were 2nd i belive at the moment even if the clare people dont include us in the league at the moment..

Quote Originally Posted by avenueC View Post
    obviously u were playing then, i was watching.easier to comment on a game seein it on the line an not running around .... bit biased but not to worry,,
    yer man consie didnt touch the ball till it was on the line , it ran straite thru from inside yer half from kelly hanoo an centre back mix up straite thru em..
    any way game over, 3 points. were 2nd i belive at the moment even if the clare people dont include us in the league at the moment..
    might be easier to watch a game when not playing in it, but that doesn't stop me commenting on the game ..... But i will say that if a neutral was watching it, it would have been an entertaining game to look at, or would you disagree? Still doesn't ease the hurt of losing a close match though!

Re Consie's goal, he did get a touch. It was deft BUT was required to get it past d keeper. not sure where on the Avenue sideline you were, but it must not have been evident from there. To look at it defensively, keeper should not have come out so far, but offensively, it was a well taken goal.

Avenue currently 3rd in league, according to clareleague.com & a2zsoccer.com
    Clare Premier League 2006/07
    Table Team P W D L F A GD Pts
    1 BRIDGE CELTIC 14 8 4 2 29 17 12 28
    2 MOHER CELTIC 13 8 3 2 25 13 12 27
    3 AVENUE UNITED 14 8 2 4 25 16 9 26
    4 NEWTOWN FC 13 5 6 2 20 10 10 21
    5 RINEANNA ROVERS 14 5 3 6 18 18 0 18
    6 LIFFORD AFC 14 3 6 5 15 20 -5 15
    7 BRIDGE UNITED 13 3 5 5 14 25 -11 14
    8 MOUNTSHANNON CELTIC 13 2 4 7 12 23 -11 10
    9 NEWMARKET CELTIC 10 2 3 5 12 15 -3 9
    10 SHANNON OLYMPIC A 14 1 6 7 12 25 -13 9

There might be no Avenue on Clare People table, but ROCK ROVERS have replaced us

Quote Originally Posted by hacker View Post
    only tables to go by are on a2zsoccer.com all up to date..
    3rd division table does not look updated to me on a2z... it is however on the Clare People...

The only thing up to date on A2z is the premier.They are behind on everything else and havent even registred the 17s league and if Newtown beat Corofin in Shannon tonight they win it!!!!!
    "You'll not see nothing like the Shelbourne team"

Page 63 of 95 FirstFirst ... 1353616263646573 ... LastLast