Results 1,021 to 1,040 of 1885

Thread: Clare League 2006/07

ATTN; Clare league

Quote Originally Posted by hairy View Post
    Pitches would be better, people might actually come and watch and the players would enjoy playing in the heat, instead of a muddy bog of a pitch. Also it would weed out all the clubs who have GAA players playing I'm not saying thats a bad thing having GAA players but they would, at some stage have to choose what sport they want to play. The Clare League can only benefit from such a move.
    Is there anyone on the Clare League Committee that Looks at this site???
    Here is something to consider if there is.
    If you're in the penalty area and don't know what to do with the ball, put it in the net and we'll discuss the options later

FORM IS TEMPORARY, CLASS IS PERMANENT

Any word on when the draw is being made for the quarter final?

Lads Im a bit surprised, but maybe I shouldnt be,that in mentioning summer football(Its called soccer in America) that noone mentioned that the Clare Schoolboy League is moving to summer from June this year.All clubs advised,seperate subcommitte has covered all possible points including,referees, already having had quite productive and positive meeting with the GAA people with a view to avoiding clashes as much as possible.

All Systems GO
    "You'll not see nothing like the Shelbourne team"

Quote Originally Posted by hacker View Post
    old git last time i checked winning a cup game doesn't keep you up..they stay in every saturday nite when league match next day..thats all thats asked of them..as for having pride for there club..cant fault any of them this year..

so you as an olympic clubman / supporter are ok with players not giving a sH**t about winning cup...

" football is a simple game "

Quote Originally Posted by old git View Post
    so you as an olympic clubman / supporter are ok with players not giving a sH**t about winning cup...
    I think before the cup started olympics priority was to stay up.Winning the cup or getting a good run in it will not stop you from being relegated.What it will do is hamper your chances of staying up.I was at the game on sunday and bridge b were well worth their win.Olympic were missing a lot of players but still should have came through.They tried and they were beaten end of story.

hungover or not should have been able to beat bridge celtic b at home ... or maybee the bridge celtic lads stayed off the drink for st paddys day ,,
    no most of the b team had a good old skip of drink paddys day...but most of the boys would have played with bad hangovers many a time before...in fairness the conditions suited more bridge celtic b as they are a big physical team...
    no offence,but we could not believe how poor olympic were on the day....they didnt even look related to a premier team...
    I eats the beef......

your totally right we were terrible on the day...i taught your central defence were very good ..even though they probably add up to 100 years of age ..ha ha... best of luck in next round
    You can't beat experiance, Hungover or not and the 2 lads playing at the back were old fellas even when I hung up my boots many years ago.
    The differance between the teams was not in League positions but in a will to beat a team from a higher division which is why Cup football generates so much interest. C'mon the Underdogs. Especially T.J. (The experianced player at the back from Bridge).

[QUOTE=hacker;649774]
    Quote Originally Posted by Interested View Post
    Just a simple question Hacker, can you clarify which teams got preferance to play on the Monday as I was under the impression that Cup games were down for Sunday,

rineanna v turnpike and lifford b v burren...both cup matches played monday..
    Thanks for clearing up this one Hacker. Don't know the reason but none of the 4 teams involved have anyone on the League Committee to suggest preferential treatment.

your totally right we were terrible on the day...i taught your central defence were very good ..even though they probably add up to 100 years of age ..ha ha... best of luck in next round
    jesus the jimmy rocks of bridgetown

was gus one of these centre halfs... ... ( sound man)

[QUOTE=hacker;650618]
    Quote Originally Posted by Interested View Post

fair enough but you dont have to be on the committee to be friends wit the committee...it doesnt matter anyway but i still dont understand how the other 3 cup games on sunday weren't played..as it was stated teams would lose home advantage if pitch unplayable...jesus of the six teams that didnt play at least 4 of there pitches are dryer than ours???
    I think its a bit of a joke losing home advantage in this case particularly if the other teams pitch isn't playable. We were playing Avenue in a Munster cup game a few years ago. Both teams were togged out and the referee failed to show and told the League he inspected the pitch and called the game off. We lost home advantage.

jesus the jimmy rocks of bridgetown

was gus one of these centre halfs... ... ( sound man)
    ya TJ Burns or "gus" as he is known was playin sweeper sunday...still an absolute class act for a man pushing on nearly 40...sound a skin as you could meet
    I eats the beef......

Quote Originally Posted by chappie View Post
    ya TJ Burns or "gus" as he is known was playin sweeper sunday...still an absolute class act for a man pushing on nearly 40...sound a skin as you could meet
    played against him a few times in earlier years.. he usually played around midfield.. sound man indeed .. could give & take a kicking also but also a good footballer with it... tell gus to keep on playing as long as possible .. any chance of joe ahern making a comeback

Non related but a Charitable Event

Tonight in the Barge Rooms, Ennis @ 9pm, members of the Rineanna Rovers AFC will be partaking in a Sponsored Head Shave for St Josephs Chernobyl Support Group in Ennis, Co Clare. For anyone who wants to have a laugh at our expense (and i'm not talking about our football exploits ), please feel free to come along....

The support group do not currently have their own website, but if you are interested in finding out more about what they do, please look at the Chernobyl International website link below.
    http://www.chernobyl-international.c...we_do.482.html
    The group raises funds to bring children from Chernobyl to Ireland & arranges for each child to live with an Irish family during their time here. To quote the website; "For each child taken to Ireland they are "returned" two years of life. We are hostages to the hazardous aftermath of radiation, and the future of our very race is threatened with extinction, as our children, our gene pool, are seriously ill. In the midst of this tragedy we have been given hope by the people of Ireland."

Foot.ie!

any chance of joe ahern making a comeback
    hopefully not
    I eats the beef......

Newtown 4-1 Bridge United

Newtown took a step closer to Moher at the top of the table and bossed this game throughout. The 1st goal came just on 3 minutes when Tom Ohare's cross was put into the net by Billy Maxwell, A mix up bewtween the keeper and defender put Newtown in front. The 2nd came about 5 minutes later when Ray quigley's cross field ball found David 'Egais' Egan who hit the ball on the half volley from at least 20 yards over the head of the Bridge United keeper, an absolute cracker to put the home side 2-0 up. The 3rd came from a corner when a great ball in from Trevor Maxwell was headed home with a great leap from Tom O'hare. The 4th was pretty much route one stuff when skinny blasted the ball up field a flick off the head of Cheeky and Greg Deegan, one on one with the keeper slotted home with a cool finish. United pulled a goal back but by this time they were dead and buried, 4-1 at half time and it stayed that way throughout the 2nd half. Newtown could have scored more and are really on form at the minute. It'll be tough for anyone to get a result against them at the minute.

Quote Originally Posted by Offside View Post
    Newtown 4-1 Bridge United

Newtown took a step closer to Moher at the top of the table and bossed this game throughout. The 1st goal came just on 3 minutes when Tom Ohare's cross was put into the net by Billy Maxwell, A mix up bewtween the keeper and defender put Newtown in front. The 2nd came about 5 minutes later when Ray quigley's cross field ball found David 'Egais' Egan who hit the ball on the half volley from at least 20 yards over the head of the Bridge United keeper, an absolute cracker to put the home side 2-0 up. The 3rd came from a corner when a great ball in from Trevor Maxwell was headed home with a great leap from Tom O'hare. The 4th was pretty much route one stuff when skinny blasted the ball up field a flick off the head of Cheeky and Greg Deegan, one on one with the keeper slotted home with a cool finish. United pulled a goal back but by this time they were dead and buried, 4-1 at half time and it stayed that way throughout the 2nd half. Newtown could have scored more and are really on form at the minute. It'll be tough for anyone to get a result against them at the minute.
    Bossed the whole game!!!!! Be Fair, im nuetrel.. and it wasnt that easy for them the scoreline flatters newtown, you will always get more chances wen the oposition is pushing forward, bridge had good chances and alot of the ball, no penatrating forward tho...newtown had more hunger i'll admit..Bridge dont look fit..

Results...

Lynch Hotels Clare & District Soccer League Results
    Sunday 25/03/07
    Clare Cup Third Round
    Inch Crusaders 0 Avenue United A 4

Bridge United B Lifford B

Ennistymon Town 0 Moher Celtic 3

Corofin Harps 0 Newmarket Celtic A 1

Maloney Hardware Shannon Premier Division League
    Lifford A 2 Shannon Olympic A 2

Newtown A 4 Bridge United A 1

SEL Print First Division League
    Kildysart Celtic 1 Kilmaley United 1

Turnpike Rovers 1 Cratloe Celtic 0

Bunratty 5 Burren United 1

SEL Print Second Division League
    Newmarket Celtic B 3 St.Pats A 0

Shannon Olympic A 1 Kilrush Rangers 4

Tulla United 1 Avenue United B 2

Suttons Lighting Third Division League
    St.Pats B 2 Moher Celtic B 5

Newtown B 2 Cooraclare Celtic 2

Hermitage B 0 Manus Celtic 4

Bridge Celtic B 2 Rhine Rovers 3

Fixtures...

Lynch Hotels Clare & District Soccer League Fixtures
    Saturday 31/03/07
    Clare U17 Youths League
    Cratloe: Cratloe Celtic V Moneypoint
    J.Stanford 3.30

Doolin: Burren United V Lifford
    F.Coote 11.00

Gallivan Kennedy Youths League
    Lees Road Pitch 1: Turnpike Rovers V Bunratty
    M.O`Brien 10.30

Fairgreen: Hermitage V Newtown
    A.Murphy 11.00

Sixmilebridge: Bridge United V Newmarket Celtic J.Stanford 11.00

Oscar Traynor Cup (Last 16)
    Wexford Town: Wexford V Clare
    Wexford Officials 2.30

Note: In event of a draw 10 mins e/w extra time and penaltys if necessary

Sunday 01/04/07
    Cahercon: Kildysart Celtic V Connolly Celtic N.Bennett 11.00

Lees Road Pitch 4: Turnpike Rovers V Corofin Harps M.O`Brien 11.00

Doolin: Burren United V Rock Rovers
    D.McCarthy 1.30

Fairgreen: Hermitage A V Cratloe Celtic
    A.Murphy 11.00

Tiermaclane: Kilmaley United V Bunratty
    M.O`Brien 2.00

Ballycar: Newmarket Celtic B V Kilkishen Celtic A
    M.O`Halloran 3.00

CBS Kilrush: Kilrush Rangers V Shannon Olympic B F.Coote 11.30

Lees Road Pitch 2: Avenue United B V Ennistymon Town J.Stanford 11.30

Lees Road Pitch 2: Lifford B V St.Pats A
    J.Stanford 2.30

Kilmhill: St.Pats B V Bridge Celtic B
    F.Coote 2.30

Ballycasey: Newtown B V Kilkishen Celtic B P.Mulready 4.00

Lees Road Pitch 1: Rhine Rovers V Hermitage B
    A.Murphy 2.00

Cooraclare: Cooraclare Celtic V Manus Celtic
    D.Hehir 11.00

Liscannor: Moher Celtic B V Inch Crusaders
    D.McCarthy 11.00

Monday 02/04/07
    Clare U17 League
    Ballycasey: Newtown V Lifford
    M.O`Halloran 6.30

Cratloe: Cratloe Celtic V Corofin Harps
    P.Mulready 6.30

Sixmilebridge: Bridge United B V Tulla United
    A.Murphy 6.30

Tuesday 03/04/07
    Lees Road Pitch 2: Rock Rovers V Burren United
    P.Sutton 6.15

Lees Road Pitch 4: Lifford B V Ennistymon Town J.Stanford 6.30

CBS Kilrush: Kilrush Rangers V Avenue United B
    F.Coote 6.30

Wednesday 04/04/07
    Maloney Hardware Shannon Premier Division League
    Lees Road Pitch 4: Avenue United A V Bridge United A M.O`Brien 6.30

Ballycar: Newmarket Celtic A V Newtown A
    M.O`Halloran 6.30

Lees Road Pitch 2: Turnpike Rovers V Connolly Celtic F.Coote 6.30

Sixmilebridge: Bridge United B V Kilkishen Celtic A A.Murphy 6.30

Thursday 05/04/07
    Gallivan Kennedy Youths League
    Sixmilebridge: Bridge United V Newtown
    P.Mulready 6.30

Ballycar: Newmarket Celtic V Lifford
    A.Murphy 6.30

Corofin: Corofin Harps V Burren United M.O`Brien 6.30

Tiermaclane: Kilmaley United V Hermitage A
    J.Stanford 6.30

Friday 06/04/07
    Ballycar: Newmarket Celtic B V Shannon Olympic B J.Deniffee 6.30
    Ballycasey: Newtown B V Bridge Celtic B
    M.O`Halloran 6.30

Tiermaclane: Manus Celtic V Kilkishen Celtic B
    A.Murphy 6.30

Lees Road Pitch 2: Inch Crusaders V Moher Celtic B
    T.McInerney 6.30

Kilmhill: St.Pats B V Cooraclare Celtic
    F.Coote 6.30

Newtown did boss the game and had far more chances throughout. Bridge aren't half the team they used to be (imo), they have a young squad judging by their subs. It doesn't look like there will be any silverware for them this season. Corofin beaten in the cup, fair play to Newmarket finally there will be a new cup winner this year. Unlucky to Corofin, 3 in a row would have been some achievement. Any report from any other games?

Quote Originally Posted by brutus View Post
    I agree we need to get into the premier to be considered a serious force. In the play off game last year we weren't up for it and were well beaten. It will be very difficult to win 3 in a row as we are no longer a surprise package. I would have thought we would be longer odds than 6/1.

They probably gave ye them short odds because of ye being the cup holders[/QUOTE]

any report on yesterdays match with newmarket

Page 52 of 95 FirstFirst ... 242505152535462 ... LastLast