Page 23 of 95 FirstFirst ... 1321222324253373 ... LastLast

Thread: Clare League 2006/07

Quote Originally Posted by hacker View Post
    fair point ...... .. but was there not approx 18-19 new referees who turned up for a course / meeting in ennis a couple of weeks ago

ya 18 of us turned up..and the course was pretty good..but it only allows us to do schoolboy or 3rd div matches..not sure when next level of course is on..
    maybe it wud free up other refs but i think they will still dictate things to suit themselves...
    hacker, can you clarify the quote " they will still dictate things to suit themselves".
    Out of curiosity, of the 18 candidates that did the beginners course, how many of you qualified to be referees?. Because as far as I can see, there is still a lack of numbers to cover all the games down for this weekend.

hacker, can you clarify the quote " they will still dictate things to suit themselves".
    Out of curiosity, of the 18 candidates that did the beginners course, how many of you qualified to be referees?. Because as far as I can see, there is still a lack of numbers to cover all the games down for this weekend

my quote meant that wit so few refs..they can more or less pick there own games. if im wrong i oppologies to all refs..but why else are ennis refs doing ennis games shannon ref doing shannon games cratloe ref doing cratloe games..1 ref had 3 matches in a row changed to 4pm on a sunday as he was playing golf..us refs that did that course havent been contacted yet to ref games we were all told we passed no problem..i'm available???
    You would want to look at the bigger picture. If Referees are choosing which games that they will do, why is one Referee from Ennis travelling to East Clare one sunday, then West Clare the following Sunday and not picking his games for Lee's Road?, which I am sure he would do if he was able as he is in walking distance from the complex.
    The Referee that likes his game of golf, more power to him. Does it not strike you that he might have requested the 4.00 O'Clock kick off to enable him to partake in both sports, the alternative being no ref available for the games at 2.30. I didn,t hear much dissention from the Olympic or Newtown players when they had an early kick off the day of the County Final, or did the Ref on the day of that game demand that the game be played early?, I doubt it.
    M. Lydon decides which Referee goes where, and like clubs, if referees are not available for a particular time or day I presume that there are channels for them to go through.
    If your available for Sunday, do you fancy reffing the Newtown game and letting D. McCarthy up to Corofin?

my quote meant that wit so few refs..they can more or less pick there own games. if im wrong i oppologies to all refs..but why else are ennis refs doing ennis games shannon ref doing shannon games cratloe ref doing cratloe games..1 ref had 3 matches in a row changed to 4pm on a sunday as he was playing golf..us refs that did that course havent been contacted yet to ref games we were all told we passed no problem..i'm available???[/QUOTE]

Who are these Shannon and Cratloe phantom refs?????I must admit I dont know of any of the 18 that were contacted yet??Does anyone???
    "You'll not see nothing like the Shelbourne team"

Quote Originally Posted by Interested View Post
    You would want to look at the bigger picture. If Referees are choosing which games that they will do, why is one Referee from Ennis travelling to East Clare one sunday, then West Clare the following Sunday and not picking his games for Lee's Road?, which I am sure he would do if he was able as he is in walking distance from the complex.
    The Referee that likes his game of golf, more power to him. Does it not strike you that he might have requested the 4.00 O'Clock kick off to enable him to partake in both sports, the alternative being no ref available for the games at 2.30. I didn,t hear much dissention from the Olympic or Newtown players when they had an early kick off the day of the County Final, or did the Ref on the day of that game demand that the game be played early?, I doubt it.
    M. Lydon decides which Referee goes where, and like clubs, if referees are not available for a particular time or day I presume that there are channels for them to go through.
    If your available for Sunday, do you fancy reffing the Newtown game and letting D. McCarthy up to Corofin?

Strangely enough D. McCarthy hasn't done Corofin many favours since he started refereeing.

hey interested if i'm wrong i oppologies to all refferees...its simply my opinion on it..which like you i'm intitled to..so if ive offended you i'm sorry..
    Hacker, no offence taken. It is just that referee's have a thankless job to do at the best of times. Negetive remarks and opinions though entitled should be of a balanced nature and if critism is due to one or two referee's don't paint them all with the same brush keep your critism to the referee(s) involved.
    Are you still available for the Newtown game on Sunday

Quote Originally Posted by Young Lad View Post
    Strangely enough D. McCarthy hasn't done Corofin many favours since he started refereeing.
    Was he not the referee that gave Corofin a penalty in the dying minutes of a Cup Semi Final against Newtown?

Quote Originally Posted by Interested View Post
    Was he not the referee that gave Corofin a penalty in the dying minutes of a Cup Semi Final against Newtown?
    Yes he was. While the penalty may have been questionable it was a decision that is seen given regularly by referees in all levels. On the day in question Corofin were well worth their victory.

Lads, any1 like to have a go at a clare 11. Not oscar traynor or anything but your version of best 11 in clare. Could throw in a manager as well, and best player in the league if ya like just for the craic. all divisions taken into account of course. Will be good to see different opinions, bias etc. If unsure of name of some1 in particular just put down position and club or description of person. Let the fun begin!!!!!!!

Quote Originally Posted by Brazil Nut View Post
    Lads, any1 like to have a go at a clare 11. Not oscar traynor or anything but your version of best 11 in clare. Could throw in a manager as well, and best player in the league if ya like just for the craic. all divisions taken into account of course. Will be good to see different opinions, bias etc. If unsure of name of some1 in particular just put down position and club or description of person. Let the fun begin!!!!!!!

is this for players playing in the clare league or does it include those playing in limerick but living in clare ??
    would be interesting to see a clare team v's clare based players playing outside the clare league....

My best 11 in Clare

1 Skinny GK.Newtown..GK
    2 Derek Byrnes.Newtown..RB
    3 Whacker.Newmarket..LB
    4 Albert Finnan.Bridge UTD..SW
    5 Danial Aherne.Bridge Celtic.CH
    6 Jocks.Rineanna..CM
    7 Trevor Maxwell..Bridge UTD..RM
    8 Mikey OMalley..Newmarket..CM
    9 Cheeky McDonald..Newtown..CF
    10 Davy Wall.Newtown..CF
    11 Seamus Lawlor.Newmarket..LM

Thats who i would pick.
    If you're in the penalty area and don't know what to do with the ball, put it in the net and we'll discuss the options later

FORM IS TEMPORARY, CLASS IS PERMANENT

Thumbs up Newtown 2 - 2 Killarney Ath(Newtown win 4-3 pens)

Newtown came back from the dead yesterday with a stirring fight back from 2 nil down to take the tie on Penos. Killarney started much sharper and had the ball in the net after 2 mins. The second followed on 20mins with a cracking half volley from all of 40yards into the roof of the net. Newtown were stunned and responded with a few half chances but Killarney were well worth their lead at half time. Killarney again started the second half much better and it didn't look good for Newtown. With 25 mins left it looked all over for Newtown when left back Tom o Hare was sent to the line for a second yellow. But this seemed to energise the home team and they threw caution to wind with a bold 3-3-3 formation, the game turned on its head with Newtown winning every header,tackle and loose ball. Newtown created a glut of chances with Chippy Dunning comming close on 2 occasions, then sub Ryan
    Kelly reduced the deficit stoking the ball home from the edge of the box from Dave Devanneys lay off and the home crowd errupted when Chippy Dunning bagged the equaliser with 10mins left on the clock. The 10 men continued to dominate and could have won it in normal time, extra time was an open affair with newtown edgeing it. The dreaded Penalty shootout began with Jason Stretton, Ryan Kelly,Cheeky MacDonald scoring before goalkeeper Skinny proved himself the hero by saving two and scoring the winning penalty to great scenes on celebration. Newtown at home to Tralee Dynamos in the 4th round
    you are only a loser when you stop trying. Playing sport does not build character, it reveals it.

Quote Originally Posted by papa-j View Post
    Newtown came back from the dead yesterday with a stirring fight back from 2 nil down to take the tie on Penos. Killarney started much sharper and had the ball in the net after 2 mins. The second followed on 20mins with a cracking half volley from all of 40yards into the roof of the net. Newtown were stunned and responded with a few half chances but Killarney were well worth their lead at half time. Killarney again started the second half much better and it didn't look good for Newtown. With 25 mins left it looked all over for Newtown when left back Tom o Hare was sent to the line for a second yellow. But this seemed to energise the home team and they threw caution to wind with a bold 3-3-3 formation, the game turned on its head with Newtown winning every header,tackle and loose ball. Newtown created a glut of chances with Chippy Dunning comming close on 2 occasions, then sub Ryan
    Kelly reduced the deficit stoking the ball home from the edge of the box from Dave Devanneys lay off and the home crowd errupted when Chippy Dunning bagged the equaliser with 10mins left on the clock. The 10 men continued to dominate and could have won it in normal time, extra time was an open affair with newtown edgeing it. The dreaded Penalty shootout began with Jason Stretton, Ryan Kelly,Cheeky MacDonald scoring before goalkeeper Skinny proved himself the hero by saving two and scoring the winning penalty to great scenes on celebration. Newtown at home to Tralee Dynamos in the 4th round
    watched match and good report papa-j
    you were spot on killarny better team for first half and probally start of second half.. some going to chip skinny twice he is tall enough
    having said that he made a great save from a header late in first half.. chippy should have had a hattrick before he scored ..
    great comeback as well break for extra time did not help newtown as i think they would have scored again as they had upper hand .. great penalty by skinny... what was the story with ref.. seems he is putting a report in about supporters on line singing & shouting !!!

whats that all about ??? i know they were terrible singers but if you cant sing or shout in support of your local team ...

" football is a simple game "

Quote Originally Posted by old git View Post
    what was the story with ref.. seems he is putting a report in about supporters on line singing & shouting !!!

whats that all about ??? i know they were terrible singers but if you cant sing or shout in support of your local team ...
    Whats the problem with supporters singing
    Just goes to show how some people think....
    I was there at the game and i thought it was great
    and same last game in the FAI against Lissleton.
    If you're in the penalty area and don't know what to do with the ball, put it in the net and we'll discuss the options later

Quote Originally Posted by smellyfeet View Post
    Whats the problem with supporters singing
    Just goes to show how some people think....
    I was there at the game and i thought it was great
    and same last game in the FAI against Lissleton.
    Cant understand it myself. The supporters were great. Nice signature by the way, straight from the horses mouth
    you are only a loser when you stop trying. Playing sport does not build character, it reveals it.

Cant understand it myself. The supporters were great. Nice signature by the way, straight from the horses mouth
    TBH there was probably 4 or 5 fellas singing and fair play to them, adds a bit of athmosphere

its a strange one .. would be an issue if suppprters were abusing ref or players but i heard none of this .. fair play to them it was good crack listening to it on the side line and i would say it lifted newtown on the pitch... : i would hope fai / clare league have a bit of kop on and file report were it belongs in the bin ..
    when i next round of fai due to be played

" football is a simple game "

Quote Originally Posted by smellyfeet View Post
    TBH there was probably 4 or 5 fellas singing and fair play to them, adds a bit of athmosphere
    i cant believe its in the refs report....
    anyway great result players and management can be proud of themselves... please dont do a ´spurs on it now and lose easy in the next round

well old git newtown v tralee dynamos in next round of fai junior cup who do you fancy? i hear dynamos are a handy side though they struggled to beat rinneana in a previous round

my money is on newtown

Newtown vs Dynamos

Quote Originally Posted by summervilleman View Post
    my money is on newtown
    50/50 in my opinion!

Dynamos struggled to beat Rinneanna in earlier round but Newtown struggled to beat Killarney Athletic...

Its all on the day and should be a close game.

Page 23 of 95 FirstFirst ... 1321222324253373 ... LastLast