Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Thread: All-Ireland anyone?

1,928 Posts
    Great game and about time. Mayo edged it but I still have the feeling Dublin threw it in the closing minutes.
    Agreed about the Ref. It's an impossible job but Russell, instead of fading into the background in the last 10 minutes with the best game of the year on a knife edge, he chose to take about 2 or 3 minutes to consult, chase after a Dub player, write name down and flash a meaningless yellow.

A bizzare game was when Tyrone got knocked out in the qualifiers, the ref signalled 4 minutes of extra time. Two minutes of that were taken up by a Laos player with cramp and then the whistle blew after 3 minutes.

Dublin are edging closer every year with Caffery, maybee next year.

30 Posts
    Will any action be taken against Caffery for being
    caught on camera clocking one of the Mayo officials
    during the warm up?

[QUOTE=Ash;524004]Will any action be taken against Caffery for being
    caught on camera clocking one of the Mayo officials
    during the warm up?[/QUOT

he bumped into him, nothing will be made of it.

20 Posts
    I'm not a fan of Vaughan but he was the right man to bring on. To be honest we need him to get his head sorted so we can drop Cosgrove and/Bonner as neither is up to the standard.

Only two defenders looked useful, Griffin and Henry, and when you have six that's a bad sign.

Dublin switched from winning all the midfield ball in the first 10 minutes of the second half to winning next to none for the remaining 25. That is where the game was lost. The forwards actually looked useful when they got the ball (well not for the first 20 minutes of the game but otherwise they did) but the service wasn't there enough of the time.

Ryaner went from having a stormer to fading out completely. Magee looked the best he ever has for Dublin when he first came on as a blood sub. People comment on his lack of skill, which I dispute, but his ability to win ball makes him an asset.

I expect an easy for Kerry in the final, and even if the Dubs had won I would say that. Both of yesterday's teams are 3 or 4 players away from an All Ireland title.

Best of luck to Mayo, I genuinely hope you prove me wrong (again).
    Check out my new sports blog http://www.action81.com

marvellous stuff , best game in years , could this be the year? I can't even dare to dream....
    Was he crazy!! Yeah , in a very special way , an Irishman.
    I slept, and dreamed that life was Beauty;
    I woke, and found that life was Duty.

51 Posts
    Now Mayo are showing the real mettle - they back down for no one. it was great to see but can they now finish the job, yes it was the best maych in 20-25 years but lets hope they finish it off, they need to improve by 5% i be thinking

Quote Originally Posted by Poor Student View Post
    Great win for Mayo. What a comeback! I think the second half substitutions had a huge bearing on the game. Brady made a huge improvement for Mayo and I think Cullen made some bad decisions like Vaughan for Ryan (I think). Mayo took their scores better than usual. I'd never have thought before the match that they'd have had the bottle to comeback from a 7 poiuint deficit in the second half but they showed great character to steal the momentum back and keep it for the rest of the game.

Dmandmyth, you're right about the time added on. The ending was fairly bizarre and players seemed to play on for about half a minute while the referee stood there waiting for a free kick to be taken.
    I presume you meant Caffrey made some poor decisions. I'd have to agree with that. He switched Ryan back to half-back from midfield when he was having a stormer there and he looked lost then and got caught on the wrong side for the goal.

Mayo were value for the win though and MacDonald was class - everything went through him

71 Posts
    Yeah, Caffrey, not Cullen (that smiley is for myself).

Quote Originally Posted by Aberdonian Stu View Post

Dublin switched from winning all the midfield ball in the first 10 minutes of the second half to winning next to none for the remaining 25.
    That's about when Brady came on for Mayo. He was a very strong sub to bring on in a big game.

Loada fookin ballacks

Its 2 days ago and I still cant get over how we threw it away.7 up ffs.

Country fans are so annoying when they reckon they are the first fans to ever hate the dubs or come onto the hill and p!ss everyone off.Every other county is completely ununique and the championship would be very boring without us(yes I'm ****ed off so I have to settle for that )
    <insert witty remark>

Quote Originally Posted by Ash View Post
    Will any action be taken against Caffery for being
    caught on camera clocking one of the Mayo officials during the warm up?
    Why would there be? If that was the case then every time the first whistle gets blown 28 of the 30 players would have action taken against them, as would every sub who comes on and charges into his opponent.

Its a part of the game, the hustle and bustle and no harm is meant by it. However, as a Garda, you'd think Caffrey would have a little more savvy and not leave himself open to such criticism.

How wrong we were. Fair play to Mayo, absolutely cracking game.

Do Mayo have anyone that can keep Donaghy out of the game though? that will be a big test
    Ever get the feelin' you have been cheated?

Well done to both teams, an absolute sporting classic.For me a sporting classic is when neutrals are blown away by what they were watching.This certainly qualifies, the whole of Letterkenny was talking about it on Sunday night(the fleadh).

634 Posts
    I can't believe the nonsense that's been said and written about this game since the final whistle was blown. I'd advise people to catch Setanta this week and have another look at the game. I didn't watch this game live so I'm removed from hysteria. What was excellent was the Mayo defending, albeit sporadically. Some of the blocks made and basic tracking back and tackling were superb. What was terrible was the distribution by both sides. Absolute muck. There are three players left for player of the year and they are all Mayomen. Heaney McDonald and Mortimer. Maybe ALan Dillon?
    Here they come! It’s the charge of the “Thanks” Brigade!

kingdom as dunpy once said about football, an entertaining game of football is never a good one, this gaelic game was very entertaining though not technically a great game.

Quote Originally Posted by Soko View Post
    I nominate this for worst post in the history of the internet. Too tired to explain
    Hopefully.
    I never win anything.
    City definetly have the best bands playing at half-time.

O'Bama - "Eerah yeah, I'd say we can alright!"

G.O'Mahoney Trapattoni'll sort ém out!!

634 Posts
    Sweet. As. A. Nut!

ye were lucky in the minors kingdom, we should have won.

634 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by paul_oshea View Post
    ye were lucky in the minors kingdom, we should have won.
    Pos, I'm a happy man at the moment but if anything I think we were unlucky in the Minors. To lose the early lead like that was bad, but to be fair the draw was the right result all round. Young Walsh was miles ahead of everyone in the middle of the field.

Formerly: dublinharp carrickharp's Avatar
    That was a strange first half, rounds up a pretty dissapointing summer in the football really, well done to Kerry.
    “Jockey Wilson . . . What an athlete.” - Sid Waddell
    www.donegaldarts.com

634 Posts
    I dunno Dublinharp I think the standard of football was refreshing this season. Obviously the All Ireland wasn't exciting to the neutral, but in terms of quality football played by Kerry, it was top notch. If anything this year has seen the teams who adopted the old style approach to football come out on top. Kerry Mayo Cork all played good football throughout the year. At the end of the day, no team would have lived with Kerry yesterday. 1-20 they were superb.

Jack O'Connor's record is impressive. 3 yrs.

2 All Irelands
    2 Munster
    2 Leagues
    1 All Ireland final defeat. Pretty hard to top that.

Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast