This is a tricky one, Decision 3 of Law 12 of the International FA Board who decide the laws of the game state:
Subject to the terms of Law 12, a player may pass the ball to his own goalkeeper using his head or chest or knee, etc. If, however, in the opinion of the referee, a player uses a deliberate trick while the ball is in play in order to circumvent the Law, the player is guilty of unsporting behaviour. He is cautioned, shown the yellow card and an indirect free kick is awarded to the opposing team from the place where the infringement occurred.
A player using a deliberate trick to circumvent the Law while he is taking a free kick is cautioned for unsporting behaviour and shown the yellow card. The free kick is retaken.
In such circumstances, it is irrelevant whether the goalkeeper subsequently
touches the ball with his hands or not. The offence is committed
by the player in attempting to circumvent both the letter and
the spirit of Law 12.
Now it dosen't mention a throw in, only tricks and free kick, therefore I would be of the opinion that no offence has occured.
I could see how a referee could take the view that it was a deliberate trick and give an indirect free kick and caution the player, although as I said I wouldn't be of that opinion.
Bookmarks