Results 1,741 to 1,760 of 1958

Thread: Limerick Premier Division 2006/07

Quote Originally Posted by themerryman View Post
    Ger told me himself Thomas if he changes hes mind then i will stand corrected.
    What about corbett big loss ,who is the new manager???
    Yes, who is the new Carew Park manager?

Wink Carew Pk Manager

Quote Originally Posted by Bonovox View Post
    Yes, who is the new Carew Park manager?
    Have you ever heard of a guy called Billy Moloney ? I think he is he was involved with them going back a good few years but I'd say they will have someone else supporting him ? Is this correct Thomas ?

Quote Originally Posted by jumping jac View Post
    Have you ever heard of a guy called Billy Moloney ? I think he is he was involved with them going back a good few years but I'd say they will have someone else supporting him ? Is this correct Thomas ?
    Sorry lads but what's happened to Corbett with Carew ? Is he finished playing with them or what ? Or has he joined someone else ? And ss this the same guy that played with Pike at the start of the season ?

International Prospect abbeyvale's Avatar
    32 Posts
    The person helping Billy Maloney is Mike Smyth.

Thomas
    I stand corrected, Mike Carey is staying with Carew Pk, and I got that from the horses mouth last night.
    68, 99, 08

25 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by LimerickYouth View Post
    You'll be eatin ur word in a few weeks
    I'm eating them already, chairman says one thing, manager says another.....

Think he was over carew in the 1980 s ,hasnt been involved in football in 15 years.. Good to see they brought Mike back after telling him he was no longer wanted with the club a few years back ..

christ the good times are back carew will really be a team to fear next year

Thumbs up should be playing for bruff

Quote Originally Posted by abbeyvale View Post
    The person helping Billy Maloney is Mike Smyth.

Thomas
    I stand corrected, Mike Carey is staying with Carew Pk, and I got that from the horses mouth last night.
    mike carey is not that good all he does is langer the ball as far as he can hes no skill in him

46 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by the only 1 View Post
    christ the good times are back carew will really be a team to fear next year

we will see what the final squads from teams are come the first game of the season until then you can second guess everything as normal fact is every juinor player in this town is free to sign for who he wants. unless ye have contracts up there

the week leading up to the first game than we will have an opinion were we think teams will finish. e.g carew and pike were going for the league the season before last who of thought carew would end up in the position they did this season not many i bet.

Quote Originally Posted by thomas72 View Post
    we will see what the final squads from teams are come the first game of the season until then you can second guess everything as normal fact is every juinor player in this town is free to sign for who he wants. unless ye have contracts up there

the week leading up to the first game than we will have an opinion were we think teams will finish. e.g carew and pike were going for the league the season before last who of thought carew would end up in the position they did this season not many i bet.
    we were only a pub team this year i for 1 wont be signing back

Lads i get a bit annoyed with players moving from one club to another.With the likes of franky leaving a very good regional side to play with pike,and i no he played alot of ball with pike but being LOYAL is one thing thats not around any more.Mike carey romours that he is signing for this club and that club lets hope abbeyvale is right that he is staying with carew then he deserves alot of credit for that.All i am trying to say is good club men eventually make a desent team and if they ride out the bad times then soon enough will have a core of players that will go out and give everything and play for each other.

Quote Originally Posted by macca View Post
    Lads i get a bit annoyed with players moving from one club to another.With the likes of franky leaving a very good regional side to play with pike,and i no he played alot of ball with pike but being LOYAL is one thing thats not around any more.Mike carey romours that he is signing for this club and that club lets hope abbeyvale is right that he is staying with carew then he deserves alot of credit for that.All i am trying to say is good club men eventually make a desent team and if they ride out the bad times then soon enough will have a core of players that will go out and give everything and play for each other.
    I agree with what you are saying but people are different. some players pride themselves on being "clubmen" and others pride themselves on how many medals they have.

Players who stick with their local clubs deserve a lot of credit but you cant blame someone for wanting a chance of some titles.

however, Having a core set of players who were brought up playing for the club does help, especially when times are tough.

Look at park rangers, they got rid of their club players and did get in some decent signings about 3 years ago. all was fine while the team was doing well but once the going got tough, the players were gone.

frankie stewart is a pike clubman through and through

played all his schoolboy football with pike, premier league and munster junior with pike,family all pike people and as far as I can remember has been giving a hand with the schoolboys the last few years

he wasnt get a fair crack when pa mul was in charge so went to regional which is fair enough

your point stands about player loyality, balla seem to be the only ones with it - its just frankie is a bad example

player's loyalty to a club and a club's loyalty to players can have good effects and it can also have negative effects. I know that my own club were accused of being a closed shop for a long time and people were probably right. the positive effect was that it bred great spirit and lifelong friendships for many of the players.The down side to that was there was very little injection of new blood and new ideas...when my clubs started to go down the other route of bringing in outside players they were and are still being slagged off for doing the same. it is a case of being damned if you do and damned if you dont...

I agree with u that Franky is a bad example Mitresize5,i was just comented on those players that were mentioned.In my eyes Loyalty is a big thing and there just is not much of that around at the moment.If all the good players went to the top sides than that would be bad for the league,as it is at the moment some of the weaker teams are capable of beating the top sides.I just hope the weaker teams keep on to there best players for the good of the league.

Quote Originally Posted by macca View Post
    I agree with u that Franky is a bad example Mitresize5,i was just comented on those players that were mentioned.In my eyes Loyalty is a big thing and there just is not much of that around at the moment.If all the good players went to the top sides than that would be bad for the league,as it is at the moment some of the weaker teams are capable of beating the top sides.I just hope the weaker teams keep on to there best players for the good of the league.
    players moving on has always been the case. it happend this year also and look how the league went. was exciting all the way... cannot ask for anymore unless you don't play for the boro
    'You should never have a bad game, off the ball.......'

Quote Originally Posted by the only 1 View Post
    mike carey is not that good all he does is langer the ball as far as he can hes no skill in him
    i think its quite wrong of you to be slagging Mike Carey off on a personal level comments like yours are not needed and not welcome

There are a number of players that would walk into any team in limerick ,so should lims 37 sign all them 2..
    I think limerick should sign the players that they want at the club and also the players that want to play for the club

There are alot of players that are more than good enough to play for limerick37 around town but if they dont actually want to play for limerick i dont see the point in limerick37 trying to sign them

Quote Originally Posted by new blood View Post
    i think its quite wrong of you to be slagging Mike Carey off on a personal level comments like yours are not needed and not welcome
    he didnt slag him on a personal level, he gave his opinion on his abilities as a footballer which he is more than entitled to

Quote Originally Posted by MitreSize5 View Post
    frankie stewart is a pike clubman through and through

played all his schoolboy football with pike, premier league and munster junior with pike,family all pike people and as far as I can remember has been giving a hand with the schoolboys the last few years

he wasnt get a fair crack when pa mul was in charge so went to regional which is fair enough

your point stands about player loyality, balla seem to be the only ones with it - its just frankie is a bad example

Funny I remember Franky playing schoolboys with Hyde Rgs with his father helping Ger Hannon to run the team. He also got a shoolboy awards as a Hyde player. That was probably before he became Pike "all his life"

Page 88 of 98 FirstFirst ... 38788687888990 ... LastLast