Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Thread: Dundalk 1 United 0

115 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by JW. View Post
    It was pretty depressingly quite for the loss earlier in the season.
    I dunno I know one fan who was converted by watching the game!

I'll be there anyway!
    I phoned the speaking clock to hear a voice speak, it said - "At the tone you will be very much alone"

we really have to win now - rovers beat de town two nil. if we lose
    to dundalk we could be 10pts behind rovers after they play there
    catch-up game. im predicting a 2-1 to galway outcome.
    Salthill/Knocknacarra Gaa Official Website- http://www.salthillknocknacarragaa.ie/

176 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Conor H
    It's looking unlikely that there will be a bus im afraid.the response to the bus has been poor and numbers are currently too low to justify running a bus!
    Can yiz not even run a minibus??

Everybody in our division has the same problem. We have brought a couple of hundred fans to every away game this season, regardless of the night or distance. Travelling to Galway/Limerick/Monaghan etc on Friday nights are a challenge, but we still go. Why can't everyone else follow suit?
    NL 1st Division Champions 2006
    NL Premier Division Champions 2010
    NL Premier Division Champions 2011

Keep Tallaght Tidy, Throw your rubbish in the Jodi

Ten Years Not Out

because we have jobs and families to consider too !!

but seriously, Its hard to get to a club that play all there home games mid week. You know yourself, yer numbers would be hit badly if ye were travelling down to cobh and have to be back again for work in the morning. There is a big difference between Thursday and Friday. The FAI should designate one or at most 2 days where all matches should be played on and one fixed time of kick off too, but that would be the right thing to do !!!!
    Last edited by Terry; 16/08/2006 at 7:24 AM.

HOLD THE PHONES !!!!!!

I just read elsewhere that ye had a gate of 642 against athlone last night !!! Now that is pure muck considering the position ye are in. And you complain about us trying to make a round trip of 543Km when ye cant even get a decent crowd to walk down the road.

75 Posts

looks like there is no bus going lads

absolutely shocking!Im heading myself dont know how im getting back and the frainiac is travelling too.

the frainiac! brilliant

176 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Terry
    I just read elsewhere that ye had a gate of 642 against athlone last night.
    What did you think it would be? 10,000?? But then again, I am focussing specifically on away support here, and Athlone's was non-existent.

I read elsewhere that the attendance at Limerick-Galway was the grand total of 75.

As for midweek games, we brought 100+ to a match in Kilkenny on a Tuesday in June. We also brought sizeable numbers to Galway, Limerick, and Monaghan this season. Travelling to games on Fridays is as difficult as any other weekday, imo.
    NL 1st Division Champions 2006
    NL Premier Division Champions 2010
    NL Premier Division Champions 2011

Keep Tallaght Tidy, Throw your rubbish in the Jodi

Ten Years Not Out

75 Posts

It was 350

my post in the ****ing rain with only a shed. Limerick are going thru a bad run at the moment but they had over 1,000 at the game -v- Yourselves so stop the knockin and go back to your BIG CLUBS Forum.

ok, lets all stop this "my club is bigger than yours" stuff. the name of the topic is "vs Dundalk", so get back on topic!
    Salthill/Knocknacarra Gaa Official Website- http://www.salthillknocknacarragaa.ie/

thanks sduffy,

for that link to be able to listen to the game.
    gufct,maybe criticising ppl for not travelling 500 miles round trip on a week night isnt the best thing to do,most ppl here are season tic holders and organise and support various fundraisers for the club so our commitment cant be questioned.
    to get back to the topic,both billy and reillys return will be very welcome,hard to leave out mixie but i guess it will be fran and ciaran in the centre.
    qs:are we turning into drogheda now???????,ie;not conceding but not scoring much either,i know we created chances last friday but the goals are not flowing consistently.its not a bad thing if we are i suppose but with the relative quality of our strikers we should have a better goals per game ratio imo,what ye think??????

Quote Originally Posted by mypost View Post
    What did you think it would be? 10,000?? But then again, I am focussing specifically on away support here, and Athlone's was non-existent.

I read elsewhere that the attendance at Limerick-Galway was the grand total of 75.

As for midweek games, we brought 100+ to a match in Kilkenny on a Tuesday in June. We also brought sizeable numbers to Galway, Limerick, and Monaghan this season. Travelling to games on Fridays is as difficult as any other weekday, imo.
    That's just a lie.How pathetic are you!
    www.galwayunitedfc.net -----New GUFC fans forum and Gust Website.

Europe's Big Club.
    "Cause Galway are MASSIVE"-RW Rover on 24/8/07 00:29am

37 Posts
    Can yiz not even run a minibus??

Everybody in our division has the same problem. We have brought a couple of hundred fans to every away game this season, regardless of the night or distance. Travelling to Galway/Limerick/Monaghan etc on Friday nights are a challenge, but we still go. Why can't everyone else follow suit?
    We can't travel to Dundalk on a Thursday because that's the day of the Big Market in Galway where we buy and sell cows, tomatoes and rhubarb. August is a busy time for rhubarb and we have to walk 37 miles on our bare feet from Mervue to Renmore. Dundalk actually play their games on a Thurday because they have a market day on a Friday where they trade in barley so they can brew Harp. Sligo switched from Saturdays to Fridays because their Yellow Fresians supply the custard for the rhubarb.

Q. What day do Shamrock Rovers play on and why?

A. Whatever day Shelbourne tell them to.

Nobody knows us, we don't care

JW how are you getting there? and can you make it back to dublin on the night - im getting tempte, PM me if you like
    more water!

I love those i read elsewhere remarks....... I was there and we were outnumerbered in the region of ten to one and I counted forty of us. So someone elsewhere is blind in one eye and cant see with the other. It was great too we outsang them throughout the game....... and no those figures dont include the teams and officials
    "Are those my feet" Fr Jack Hackett

he confused the attendance with our match and the attendance between kilkenny and limerick

team IMO:

Gough
    frawley...charles...clery...reilly
    cooke(? if injured then o'brien)...foley...carter...o'donnell
    murphy...moran

One more thing.....population of Dublin is approx 1.2million.......Galway.....80,000?????? Anyone any good at maths? Its difficult for teams with small catchment areas to drum up large numbers for home games never mind a game 550km away.

Yes Shams had a huge crowd in Galway (fair play) but the vast majority stayed for the weekend (bank holiday i believe) as our city has alot to offer (check out one our songs....Oh Galway Town....!). Dundalk on the other hand is nearly a suburb of Dublin and I dont think there would too many people willing to head up and make a holiday out of it!
    "Are those my feet" Fr Jack Hackett

37 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Tir Oilean View Post
    . Dundalk on the other hand is nearly a suburb of Dublin and I dont think there would too many people willing to head up and make a holiday out of it!
    Dundalk is a suberb of Drogheda!
    Nobody knows us, we don't care

115 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Paddyfield View Post
    We can't travel to Dundalk on a Thursday because that's the day of the Big Market in Galway where we buy and sell cows, tomatoes and rhubarb. August is a busy time for rhubarb and we have to walk 37 miles on our bare feet from Mervue to Renmore. Dundalk actually play their games on a Thurday because they have a market day on a Friday where they trade in barley so they can brew Harp. Sligo switched from Saturdays to Fridays because their Yellow Fresians supply the custard for the rhubarb.

Q. What day do Shamrock Rovers play on and why?

A. Whatever day Shelbourne tell them to.

Post of the season!

Did anyone see the interview with a Sligo board-member who said summer football was bad for Sligo because the farmers were in their fields later in the evening!!

I guess I did see a few of theirs fans walking around in wellies and waving pitchforks at us from the shed last season!!
    I phoned the speaking clock to hear a voice speak, it said - "At the tone you will be very much alone"

Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast