Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Since when do we boo our own team?

71 Posts

Since when do we boo our own team?

I've been to a good few Ireland games over the years and I can't recall us booing our own lads. Whatever excuse one may off for the final score there was a resounding chorus of boos after the first half. There was also a pretty big walkout fairly early on, maybe about the hour mark. A lot of us pat ourselves on the back for being such great supporters but that's crap. It's also ridiculous to see different members of the crowd boo different members of the Dutch team depending on their club allegience. I thought this was supposed to be a Celtic sectarian problem but it seems the issue runs far wider. Pathetic stuff.

International Prospect tricky_colour's Avatar
    621 Posts
    I don't find it surprising that the team is booed, I am afraid I find the intelligence levels of some of the Irish 'fans' somewhat lacking.

812 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Poor Student View Post
    I've been to a good few Ireland games over the years and I can't recall us booing our own lads. Whatever excuse one may off for the final score there was a resounding chorus of boos after the first half.
    I booed briefly at half time. I think I'm entitled to see the people representing my country play with a little more pride and determination. I've never watched such an insipid performance outside of the EL Division One.

There was also a pretty big walkout fairly early on, maybe about the hour mark. A lot of us pat ourselves on the back for being such great supporters but that's crap.
    I've never done it, but I can't condemn it at a game like that. It's just another form of protest at the dreadful performance.

I don't understand this idea some people seem to have that being a supporter means you can't criticise the team.

It's also ridiculous to see different members of the crowd boo different members of the Dutch team depending on their club allegience. I thought this was supposed to be a Celtic sectarian problem but it seems the issue runs far wider. Pathetic stuff.
    I assumed/hoped that this was down to his reputation as a diver. I'm always ashamed of the booing of Rangers players, and I'd agree that if it's an anti-Chelsea thing, it's pathetic.
    You can't spell failure without FAI

The booing was needed being honest. He performance was shocking and the primadonnas need to know that more was expected. The booing of Robben and the likes was a complete joke though.

Plenty of premiership players have played in Lansdowne (including van der Sar and van Persie last night). Chelsea players - Cech, Ferreira, Carvalho, Tiago, Makelele... Robben was booed because he's known worldwide as a diver. He wouldn't have been booed if he didn't play in the premiership but he wasn't booed just because he plays for Chelsea.

As for the boo's at half time, I thought it was ridiculous. The team wasn't good enough, end of story. They couldn't put 2 passes together in the 1st half but they didn't do it purposely. I don't believe they lacked heart. The result was a foregone conclusion.
    Last edited by eirebhoy; 17/08/2006 at 8:56 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by adamcarr View Post
    The booing was needed being honest. He performance was shocking and the primadonnas need to know that more was expected. The booing of Robben and the likes was a complete joke though.
    Agreed. I booed at the end. What else could I do? Cheer them?
    If players try i will clap them but they clearly couldn't care less.

Booing Rooben was once again embarishing. In future I will now boo every opposition player who plays for a Premiership team!

The booing of players depending on their club allegiances is common in Lansdowne and a total embarassment.

International Prospect DmanDmythDledge's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Poor Student
    Since when do we boo our own team?
    Nobody expects us to be world beaters. Nobody expects us to go out and consistently play like one of the best teams in the world. All that anyone expects is that the players go out onto the pitch and give 100%, right from when the ref blows the whistle at the beginning of the game right up to when the 90 minutes is up. There was no passion shown whatsoever by most of the players out there last night. They deserved the boos they got.

176 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Poor Student
    I've been to a good few Ireland games over the years and I can't recall us booing our own lads.
    The team were booed off against Switzerland in 2002, and more recently against Chile.

As for those who left when we went 0-4 down, I don't agree with it, but I can't blame them either.

Also booed off against Italy. Fact

Quote Originally Posted by adamcarr View Post
    needed by whom and for what purpose? I think you need to understand what the term "supporter" means.

57 Posts
    I remember Giles's team getting booed in the late 70's. I think this was more to do with the style of play rather than any lack of commitment. The home results weren't bad in those days.

I certainly don't like it and wouldn't do it. Yes the performance on Wednesday was poor but it was more down to a lack of organisation rather than a a lack of passion.

I've no problem with booing opposing star players or obvious cheats etc. booing opposing players because they play for a rival foreign club or your foreign club is pretty sad.

They deserved to be booed, of course they did or are we such nice supporters that this type of behavior is a shock? At least anyone neutral watching the game could hear the boos because there was no cheers whatsoever to be heard.People are also right to walk out. Would ye watch a film to the end if it was S*ite?

Punters who pay their hard cash travel long distances, sit through wind and rain to watch their team play are entitle to Boo players who are half-arsed and lazy don't really want to be their, Wednesday was a disgrace!

I did not boo the players and I cant think of an occassion to boo the players. I think the carrot rather than the stick works in these occassions. I think people leaving early are a disgrace. If you stay when you are 4-0 up you should stay when you are 4-0 down. I remember a Scottish mate of mine telling me when they got beaten 6-0 in Amsterdam in playoff game it was tough watching but 4 days previously he had just cheered the team to a 1-0 win and if the players had to stay he felt that he as a supporter had to stay too.

As A supporter you are there for good times and bad times and I think leaving early is a disgrace. I remember people leaving early against Spain when we went 3-0 at home in 1993. The people who leave early to beat the traffic also wreck my head.

The film analogy is a load of rubbish as you do not interact with the film in the same way as you do with a football team. As a supporter there is a responsibility to support your team whereas a person who watching a film you just simply watch the film and you have no bearing on the actors or director etc.
    In Trap we trust

Sadly viewing the houses that were once Milltown
    794 Posts
    I have never booed an Irish team. I remember in Eoin Hand's last game against Denmark (1-4 at home) the team got booed.

If there is lack of effort, in theory a fan is entitled to boo. I didn't see lack of effort on Wednesday. I just saw us being outclassed. If you put a team of 14 year olds on against an adult team and they are beaten 4-0 do you boo them ?

Support a team through thick and thin provided they put in the effort and leave the booing to those who come to be entertained and not to support their team.
    Forget about the performance or entertainment. It's only the result that matters.

Quote Originally Posted by Cowboy View Post
    needed by whom and for what purpose? I think you need to understand what the term "supporter" means.

ole ole ole ole

every single one of those players would have gotten far worse if they had turned in that 'performance' for their clubs.

its not about the result, but the performance. and people who pay in are entitled to be angry at that

the irish crowd are far to passive when served up that drivel for €42 a seat. they should have been slaughterd for that. but they know there are plastic hammer wavers who will cheer like leprechauns regardless of how pathetic the display.

Quote Originally Posted by Poor Student View Post
    I've been to a good few Ireland games over the years and I can't recall us booing our own lads. Whatever excuse one may off for the final score there was a resounding chorus of boos after the first half. There was also a pretty big walkout fairly early on, maybe about the hour mark. A lot of us pat ourselves on the back for being such great supporters but that's crap. It's also ridiculous to see different members of the crowd boo different members of the Dutch team depending on their club allegience. I thought this was supposed to be a Celtic sectarian problem but it seems the issue runs far wider. Pathetic stuff.
    Agree totally, don't boo your team and don't walk out. If you're dissatisfied with the team and feel you have to protest then stop attending. The odd bit of abuse is OK if a player isn't making the effort, its part of the culture.

1,928 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by gspain View Post
    I remember Giles's team getting booed in the late 70's. I think this was more to do with the style of play rather than any lack of commitment..
    The morons started booing as soon as the Giles's name on the teamsheet was read out over the pa. That was personal, against Giles, perceived as selecting himself when he had, ahem, slowed down a bit.
    It ranks as one of the base level fickle low moments.

You'd think that some of the free kick routines would have cheered them up.

Quote Originally Posted by Roverstillidie View Post

ole ole ole ole

every single one of those players would have gotten far worse if they had turned in that 'performance' for their clubs.

its not about the result, but the performance. and people who pay in are entitled to be angry at that

the irish crowd are far to passive when served up that drivel for €42 a seat. they should have been slaughterd for that. but they know there are plastic hammer wavers who will cheer like leprechauns regardless of how pathetic the display.

So you can only be a real supporter if you express your anger through slaughtering abuse at players. There are a few posters here who have posted and dont agreeing with the booing. How many of those have leprechaun hats and plastic hammers. I would reckon very few. In many ways the people who have the plastic hammers and Leprechan hats are the ones that boo and walk out early.
    In Trap we trust

Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast