Crock of what?

Quote Originally Posted by BohsBohsBohs View Post
    What a crock of bull. The Scotish league is a two horse race and O'Neill managed the stronger horse. Talk about a blinkered view on the behalf of a Celtic fan.

I am delighted for all the so-called experts who got what they wanted with Kerr's P45. The animals have taken over the zoo and we have a clown in charge instead of a pro.
    I'm sorry to disappointment you but I don't really care much for Celtic or Scottish football. Just making the point that a good man-manager can do a good job with limited quality players. And further to blast your retort out of the water...apart from numerous Scottish League and Cup wins he also managed to get them through to a UEFA Cup final via Barcelona.

Ah sure we'll be grand, Mick Byrne will sort everything out with a scoop and a smile and a song in his heart!

The important thing is that Staunton doesn't start making the same crazy mistakes that Kerr did like recklessly focusing on preparation and professionalism. As long as the players are happy, the mood is good and Stan doesn't 'lose the dressing room', I have a feeling that things are going to be allllright!
    SIGNATURESCOPE

The players need to stand up and be counted.
    They played ****e under Kerr and now the same under Staunton.

What they might lack in skill and experience should at least be made up for in spirit and determination.
    There was little of any last night.

Quote Originally Posted by Jerry The Saint View Post
    Ah sure we'll be grand, Mick Byrne will sort everything out with a scoop and a smile and a song in his heart!

The important thing is that Staunton doesn't start making the same crazy mistakes that Kerr did like recklessly focusing on preparation and professionalism. As long as the players are happy, the mood is good and Stan doesn't 'lose the dressing room', I have a feeling that things are going to be allllright!
    The scary thing is that is actually true.

Kerr for all his faults would never have allowed a team be torn apart like that.

Yeah, last night was a disgrace, but it was a friendly so at least we know where all our weaknesses are...

GK- Given (in the name of god what would we do if he got a long term injury?)

DL- Kilbane had a shocker last night, but Iano has them regularly. so it's hard to know. And O'Shea wouldn't be much better there.
    CB- Dunne
    CB- O'Brien
    DR-Finnan

ML-Duff
    MC-S. Reid (sitting back in a holding role)
    MC- Heres where the crux of the matter is, really. Our options are Kavanagh, Douglas, Miller, O'Shea, Andy Reid etc. Personally I'd always go for Kav, but he wasn't great last night and I'd be worried at this. So I think Andy Reid is the best option, he can tackle and can use the ball intelligently. But he could be in better shape but first team football with Charlton should help this.
    MR- McGeady or Elliot, but personally MCGeady is the best option. His trickery is great.

FC- Keane
    FC- Doyle

All in all
    we're doomed

Time for Stan to go ?

r we d new norn iron?

4 nil defeat in Dublin and Stan can see positives?

Should be great odds for Ireland 1 Germany 0 after last nights performance.

Get the money on it !!!

Dont be sayin i didnt tell yis

176 Posts
    I think I'm reading foot.ie's "English tabloid" thread. We go into a game against one of the top countries in the world with 8 players missing, and people get hysterical about losing heavily to them??

Sweden were walloped in Dublin by Staunton's Ireland, yet it didn't affect them that badly in the World Cup, as they made it out of their group. It was a friendly, and should be dismissed as a one-off bad performance. The game against Germany next month is when we will know where Staunton's class stand in the world game. The players will be back, the tackles will be won, the concentration will come, the chances to score will be created. It will be a completely different match and performance. No need to panic.

International Prospect tricky_colour's Avatar
    621 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Dodge View Post
    What we really need is Kevin Nolan!
    I don't think thats allowed in this forum

Please read my signiture

621 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by eirebhoy View Post
    I was never good at English in school.
    How did you do at logical reasoning? Maths for examnple?
    And while we are at it, reading and comprehending?
    Last edited by tricky_colour; 17/08/2006 at 5:43 PM.

38 Posts
    I know some of you will say this is a defeatist attitude and typical of the ole ole moral victory brigade but after what was dished out last night the truth of the matter is that to turn it around and get a point from the game against Germany would be a fantastic result. There will be some that say we should go there, try to be creative and play our own game. However, as far as i can see we just don't have our own game at the moment.
    IMO we should try to keep it as solid as possible and send out a 4-4-2 formation, which all our players are used to. There is so much wrong at the moment that we just need to get back to basics, with only 2 weeks and no more friendlies to experiment it's just a waste of time to experiment.
    Our main aim should be to disrupt the German play, prevent them from creating anything - in other words defend, defend, defend. Some might argue that a 4-5-1 would be better for that but the thing is, we are strongest up front so I would presist with 2 strikers who might create something between them and will hold the ball up front to releave the pressure off MF and defence. If we go for 4-5-1 I fear we would be just inviting them onto us too much and we would eventually crack under the pressure. We need 2 strong players in CMF and I would pick Reid and Kilbane. I'm no big fan of Kilbane but if he could do exactly what de did against France away it would be all that I expect of him - just break down the German attacks and not be expected to create much himself. If he stops Ballack surging forward and it results in the Germans getting a throw-in on the half-way line every 5 mins that would do.
    Maybe they will get frustrated and start to make a few mistakes of their own. However, it's unknown if he has it in him to repeat that France away performance and if he's not doing the business he should be hauled off after half an hour. Just maybe the wingers can create something for Keane and Doyle on the break but they should do their defending too.
    Also, when we are playing against the weaker teams in the group, against whom we are expected to win by a few goals, I wouldn't have Kilbane anywhere near the midfield because he doesn't create very much. I would just like to see him big a big akward nuisance against Germany.

621 Posts
    Unless there are changes I can guarantee you that we will not qualify.
    So either change or fail.

812 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Ash View Post
    Apparently he was over to see Dirk Kuyt and only found out when he arrived that that Kuyt had already agreed terms with Liverpool
    Quote Originally Posted by Dr. Ogba View Post
    Not too sure if you were being sarcastic there but I'd say he was delighted that he didn't waste his money on that donkey....one of the few Dutch players that wouldn't have looked out of place in a green shirt...
    Agreed Ogba. I've never seen the guy play well. To quote a Dutch guy I know, "The man barely deserved to play at Feyenoord for starters. Just that he works hard and the Rotterdam people traditionally vigorously appreciate that... His skills are equal to mine, and that ain't good "

Quote Originally Posted by Dr. Ogba View Post
    That is to say "I saw..." your grammar is terrible
    Says the man who ends Dr with a period even though 'r' is the last letter in the abbreviated word.

Anyway, as for the game, I'll never take Duffer for granted again.
    You can't spell failure without FAI

International Prospect bennocelt's Avatar
    335 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by 4tothefloor View Post
    I posted ages ago in a thread about the future that we are in big trouble. I was shouted down by the delusional who think Kavanagh is a good midfielder - well there's your evidence tonight. The man is a joke and hasn't played one good game for Ireland. He's absolutely useless and is not up to this level. All he does is make rash challenges and pass the ball sideways, or hoof it up field

John O'Shea shouldn't be left near the defense. Play him in midfield or leave him out. Kevin Kilbane should not be starting. Playing Steve Finnan at left back to accomodate that ***** Steven Carr is a joke and I fear a bad sign of things to come from Staunton. All I can think of as an explanation is that he is good buddies with Carr - other than that I don't understand why this water carrier, pathetic excuse for a defender is back in the setup. Why come back if you're not going to try??? Clinton Morrisson up front was poor and I feel it might be time to relegate him to the role of impact sub, because he's no longer doing the business from the start.

:
    as above
    kilbane, kavanagh, o shea, morrison......head to the knackers yard..at once

335 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Fergie's Son View Post
    I disagree. The team did try they just weren't good enough.

They were outclassed by a better team and all the huffing and puffing in the world would not have changed that.
    doh
    no tackles going in, did you see the goals, look at them again and tell me who was trying
    80 percent possession in the first half to holland, even san marino dont gie the ball away that much

335 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by youngirish View Post
    We are far weaker defensively than both in midfield and up front which could be seen last night and is very worrying.
    i think 4-5-1 is better, it shores up the midfield, and protects the defence, im hoping for a draw in germany, remember it nearly worked for poland

positives from tonight
    A mcgready looked good, trying to beat his man on the wing, even if the fella in the Star today said he was aweful! he isnt a holding midfielder!
    Doyle again, but would love to see him in 90 minutes with robbie keane
    and miller surprised me when he came on,
    o brien is fast but man if he cant pass a square ball!!! jeez

114 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by eirebhoy View Post
    Kavanagh had his chance last night to get into the team and he hasn't taken it. He's almost 33 now and his international career looks to be all but over. Pity he couldn't produce his club form for Ireland.
    ......but he did. Against top class opposition in the Prem he is shown up, previously mentioned the League Cup Final where Man U totally overan the Wigan midfield.

Having said that he was no worse last night than he was against Chilie. We will not win against a decent team with Kav in our midfield, unless he can lean on the likes of Roy Keane for support.

Last night our defence was afforded NO cover or support, so not really fair to jugde O"Shea or O"Brien quite so harshly. Years gone by the ROI midfield always protected their defenders very well - not extended the invitation to attack which the CM sent in the first half last night.

Quote Originally Posted by Eoingull View Post
    Sorry "Forever Dreamin"...I was being sarcastic...I haven't quite got the hang of putting the smiley faces, etc at the end of my post. I think it's sinful not staying until the end. It's also disappointing to hear folk boo their own National team...something I never have, and never will do.
    I don't get the jibe about the tickets. Are they that easy to come by that people can pick and choose which games to go to? I missed the boat re. block booking back around 1999/2000, and find it a real struggle to get any competitive international tickets.
    No probs
    If we dont get a good result against Germany and beat Cyprus I would bet there will be no shortage of tickets for the czech game. Just over the years the demand drops quickly, just see how many left the ground early last night. They wont be in a hurry back if we arent winning or in with a shout.

What really ****ed me off last night was parents bringing kids home with 20 mins or more left. Even though we were ****e the kids should have been aloud stay ane watch a good Dutch performance.

Page 7 of 9 FirstFirst ... 56789 LastLast