Thread: Herbertstown in Limerick Premier ?

Quote Originally Posted by abbeyvale View Post
    I think the most sensible thing to do would be to postpone Herbertstown's first fixture this Sunday v Regional and give them at least until next Thursday night's fixtures to get their head round the fact that they are playing Prem footy instead of Div 1A.

Anyone agree
    i think that would be fair.
    at the end of the day herbertstown came close to promotion so that should do ok in the premier. i doubt if anybody has left them to join another premier team.
    It is a pity for park, where have all their team gone ? 2 years ago reaching the 1/4 finals of the fai........ tis a strange one !

Did anyone hear that Herbertstown lost about half their side to their B team. I heard it was some dispute about a new manager being appointed to their A team and seemingly the players were not happy about it. If this is the case surely they are not equipped to deal with the demands of the Premier League.

If thats true Im sure those players will be tempted to back to the A team.

Quote Originally Posted by leather View Post
    Nemisis, no mention of fairview,regional,Ashling... How does 4 players, P.o'donell,J.Lyne,Farmer & B.Conway equate to exodus from boro. M.Houlihan has been transferred to dublin with his job...The Biggest disappointment was B.Conway leaving, has played all his football with club(class player) Barry has other things on his mind at present...Boro have signed five new players.A.Fitzsimmons,D.Hanley,B.riordan,J.rooney & T.Clarke with possibly 2 more to come. I know that they are young but they have fantastic attitude..Unlike some of the aforementioned.
    well the view don't seem to be making any great splash so far, Regional have made a few very good signings and should be stronger this season, Aisling have a good under 21 side and will be stronger their second season in the premier.

dont think there is any point blackening these players because they have signed for different clubs, why not have a look at why they signed after a successful league campaign. conway might have medals on his mind?

Quote Originally Posted by Old keeper View Post
    Hi Guys
    ParK Informed the league last night that they would most likely be unable to fulfill their premier fixtures for a number of reasons. in the interest of the league the committee decided that based on this information we would relagate park and promote the third placed team from 1a (herbertstown) while the situation is far from perfect this action was taken in order to prevent the very likely possibility of walkovers in the premier From the very start of the season. park currently have a b team in 2a and this team is still down to fulfill fixtures until the league is informed otherwise. as regards fixtures the park ones will be taken by herbertstown and vice versa.
    Old Keeper, I'm not picking a fight or anything but going by LDMC rules that 2 teams are promoted to premier and 2 teams are relegated I believe that Hill Celtic should have been re-instated to the premier league. Was there a vote taken by the commitee or how was the decision reached?
    After all weren't Park almost relegated in second last place anyway instead of Hill Celtic. By the way I have no affiliation to Hill Celtic whatsoever I'm just stating my own unbiased opinion.

Quote Originally Posted by Mercurial Vapor View Post
    Old Keeper, I'm not picking a fight or anything but going by LDMC rules that 2 teams are promoted to premier and 2 teams are relegated I believe that Hill Celtic should have been re-instated to the premier league. Was there a vote taken by the commitee or how was the decision reached?
    After all weren't Park almost relegated in second last place anyway instead of Hill Celtic. By the way I have no affiliation to Hill Celtic whatsoever I'm just stating my own unbiased opinion.
    H Merc

Im small so I dont get into fights! Your opinion is as valued as anyones. The precedent set for a number of years was that teams who were relagated were not returned to the same division in the following season. As Herbertstown finished Joint second and lost a playoff they were 3rd and were promoted. In 1B charlville pulled their B team and St Patricks were promoted after finishing 3rd the relagated team from 1B stayed in 2A. I know it seems harsh on some teams but the decisions are made in the best interest of all clubs. In relation to the rules you are correct in the normal course of events 2 teams are relagated and 2 promoted but there are also cases where a vacency can arise in a division when a team pulls out and this is the case here. The points made regarding the postponment of fixtures is understandable but if a team has been preparing to start a season in 1A the preperations would be the same and there should not be a need to postpone the fixture.
    Last edited by Old keeper; 17/08/2006 at 9:34 AM.

Quote Originally Posted by Nemesis View Post
    Lots of changes this season.

Pike look to have a really strong squad for this season.
    Carew Park look like they are respondiong to O'Connor
    Park despite having very good facilities cannot field a team
    Corbally get promoted and loose players? Why
    Another exadous of players from the Boro,
    Balla training hard, should be in with a good shout

Should be an interesting season.
    No mention of Fairview??

Quote:
    Originally Posted by Goals4fun
    "judging from what i have heard they might be moving the other way and not have promotion on their mind ! alot more worrying things !!!!

Its sad to se a club fall apart so fast, especially with all the effort they put into their facilities"

It is ironic that the clubs in Shannon,Park,Shannon Town and Newtown, spent the whole year,2 years ago, trying to avoid this sort of thing by almagating.First Shannon Town pulled out,without even trying,then Park's C team members,most of whom are now not with the club,demanded that Newtown agree all first team games be played at Park's pitch,because "they were better".(have you seen Newtowns dressing rooms,state of the art).Newtown refused this on the basis that they wanted an independent accessment of both grounds and that would decide which ground would be premier and the other ,either sold or developed as a schoolboy academy.

Now look at the sad state of a once great club.

Quote Originally Posted by Nemesis View Post
    well the view don't seem to be making any great splash so far, Regional have made a few very good signings and should be stronger this season, Aisling have a good under 21 side and will be stronger their second season in the premier.

dont think there is any point blackening these players because they have signed for different clubs, why not have a look at why they signed after a successful league campaign. conway might have medals on his mind?
    Not Blackening any players who have left or stayed.. some of the mentioned players are highly talented but if they were true to themselves and other people i think that they might well admit that application of that talent was not what it might of been.. B.Conway has a premier league and a couple of lawsons to his name already... other things are of a personal nature(according to himself) and as i said Barry would have the best wishes from all in the boro in whatever he does...Ashling will miss B.Spicer a lot.....why the break from U/L

Quote Originally Posted by manalishi View Post
    No mention of Fairview??

Quote:
    Originally Posted by Goals4fun
    "judging from what i have heard they might be moving the other way and not have promotion on their mind ! alot more worrying things !!!!

Its sad to se a club fall apart so fast, especially with all the effort they put into their facilities"

It is ironic that the clubs in Shannon,Park,Shannon Town and Newtown, spent the whole year,2 years ago, trying to avoid this sort of thing by almagating.First Shannon Town pulled out,without even trying,then Park's C team members,most of whom are now not with the club,demanded that Newtown agree all first team games be played at Park's pitch,because "they were better".(have you seen Newtowns dressing rooms,state of the art).Newtown refused this on the basis that they wanted an independent accessment of both grounds and that would decide which ground would be premier and the other ,either sold or developed as a schoolboy academy.

Now look at the sad state of a once great club.
    are newtown not selling/swapping their ground to a builder ? Peope involved in these amalgamations did not have an interest of shannon fooball at heart. They all wanted to join ,but stay in there their own name and colours ..........

Not Blackening any players who have left or stayed.. some of the mentioned players are highly talented but if they were true to themselves and other people i think that they might well admit that application of that talent was not what it might of been.. B.Conway has a premier league and a couple of lawsons to his name already... other things are of a personal nature(according to himself) and as i said Barry would have the best wishes from all in the boro in whatever he does...Ashling will miss B.Spicer a lot.....why the break from U/L
    blackening could be a little harsh, how about having a go! don't think any of the players you mentioned would be pleased with your comments if they were "true to themselves" what has UL got to do with this?

not having a go at anybody in particular, i am just giving my opinion about some players attitude to training and self regulation...there were a good few ocassions in the past few seasons when players either did not turn up or turned up "tired" for matches...i only know of a couple of players, fair play, who told the manager that they would socializing and asked could they be excused(the players in question know who they are). the question about u/l is exactly that... i thought that there was a tie-in between u/l and ashling, just wandering what happened. no malice just a simple question

Any truth in the rumour that Alan barry walked off the pitch in a recent friendly and threw his jersey at the manager?

He was "tired"

Quote Originally Posted by Goals4fun View Post
    are newtown not selling/swapping their ground to a builder ? Peope involved in these amalgamations did not have an interest of shannon fooball at heart. They all wanted to join ,but stay in there their own name and colours ..........
    This is on the wrong thread, Goals for fun you are so wrong,the main stay of the Amalgamation thought of nothing else but Shannon Football, it had been stated it was not for the excisting junior players but for the schoolboys and build them up to the Juniors,we would have had a lot more trainers within the pool,i hate to say this but this is what some of us were afraid of,there are 4 clubs in shannon,9 within a 6 mile radius,we are all pulling against one another and more clubs will also go to the wall.Times are changing so are people,lads can no longer give the commitment that lads of 10-15 years ago gave.Sorry for park but believe me they have noone else to blame only themselves.2 people who i do feel sorry for are Peter Webb and Anto Nolan the rest are just dreaming.
    'I couldn't settle in Italy - it was like living in a foreign country.'- Ian Rush

Happy zapper & Nemesis.. get your facts correct.seen all the pre-season friendlies what you said above is pure ****e. the two of you and your constant dissing of anything or any rumour from the boro make me think that you are disgruntled ex-players...have a nice season both of you

I was told this by an x-boro player, in fact he played with you last season, so I wanted to run it by you to see if it was true. No need to be so defensive, you got something to hide? well have ya?

Happy zapper & Nemesis.. get your facts correct.seen all the pre-season friendlies what you said above is pure ****e. the two of you and your constant dissing of anything or any rumour from the boro make me think that you are disgruntled ex-players...have a nice season both of you
    you could make a team of disgruntled x boro players!

managed by dave weldrick?

sorrry leather, jumping on the band wagon, pike get enough of a hiding on this site - your turn now.

Its only a bit of fun leather, your wound up tighter than a drum. who would win do you reckon, a team of disgruntled ex-players or the current squad.

Just wanted to say best of luck to all teams this season, including the team of disgruntled ex-players.