Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Pictures of Shels thugs at Tolka v Cork City

Pictures of Shels thugs at Tolka v Cork City

Pictures from aftermath of Shels v Cork City.

I will let the pictures speak for themselves. Can you make out what happened? Prize for the winner

Why can't shels steward their ground properly & keep people off the pitch?

I was wondering what happened there alright. I saw the kids coming on the pitch at the end and then some Cork fans in the Riverside were very annoyed about something - though didn't come on the pitch themselves.

Two weeks in a row from Shels. What is being done about it?
    www.WalkTheChalk.com - Stats, Opinion & Bluster on Irish Club Football

Plenty of guards there, who just stand about and laugh about it. Infuriating! I know it doesn't make it any better, but noone older than about 10 goes on, and that can be seen in the pics.

Honestly, I'm happy there's pics up, may kick something into being done properly. I think we get fined every time these little muppets run on?
    God

Same after our game. Little minks ran on the pitch and came over sticking their fingers up at us and laughing. Stewards just stood there.

Quote Originally Posted by sduffy View Post
    Clubs up and down the country are getting big fines for objects landing on the pitch or fans going on the field yet, we see this behaviour on a fairly regular basis in Dublin and the fines from the EL seem to be few and far between.
    GEt that chip off your shoulder. Both Bohs and pats have been fined for 'missile' throwing this season. Think Bohs have been fined for going on pitch too.

I was at the game on Friday, practically incident free. When O'Donovan scored, he went to the Shels fans to celebrate and someone threw a water bottle at him. Then at the end about 15 teens went over to the Cork fans. One lad tried to get on the pitch to have a go at them. Problem solved in 30 seconds

Quote Originally Posted by sduffy View Post
    Clubs up and down the country are getting big fines for objects landing on the pitch or fans going on the field yet, we see this behaviour on a fairly regular basis in Dublin and the fines from the EL seem to be few and far between.

Sorry but tell me when this has happened at Dalymount. We hire enough stewards to keep fans and objects off the pitch. At the end of any game in Dalymount you never see fans on the pitch full stop, the entire Jodi is blocked off. Other clubs don't pay the same money it costs us to do this and hence after every game in Tolka there are fans on teh pitch.

A few young lads with little better to do; with a thread title like that you must be looking for a job with the tabloids pete

Just like to point out that Pats have all but eradicated our problem in this area.

The brushing it off as something unimportant isn't really acceptable. There is one lad there clearly throwing something from point blank range in to a group of fans. Without going all Marge Simpson on it, does someone have to get their head split before it's addressed properly?
    www.WalkTheChalk.com - Stats, Opinion & Bluster on Irish Club Football

Won't somebody please think of the thugs!!!

Quote Originally Posted by Dodge View Post
    Think Bohs have been fined for going on pitch too.
    no pitch invasion this season.......................yet

Quote Originally Posted by pete View Post
    Pictures from aftermath of Shels v Cork City.

I will let the pictures speak for themselves. Can you make out what happened? Prize for the winner

Why can't shels steward their ground properly & keep people off the pitch?

Quote Originally Posted by Shels web site
    Supporters warned not to get involved in any trouble - by Fintan Cassidy
    All supporters of Shelbourne FC, young and old, are requested to refrain from retaliating or engaging in any trouble with opposition supporters, whether inside or outside football grounds. If fans are provoked, they should immediately seek the assistance of stewards or the Gardai.
    The club intends to monitor the behaviour of all fans for the remainder of the season and will video or photograph where possible any such incidents. Any of our supporters or opposing fans found to be involved in such trouble will have their photographs forwarded to the relevant authorities and they will be barred from Tolka Park.

signed
    Oliver Byrne
    Why don't you send them the pics?

Did your man down the very front, (at the cross) throwing something get looked after by Cork fans?

47 Posts
    The steward in those pictures looks highly interested.

A fine is the only way the club will do anything about this problem,so i am all in favour of a fine!

Quote Originally Posted by BohsFans View Post
    Did your man down the very front, (at the cross) throwing something get looked after by Cork fans?
    1 lad made as if he was going to jump the fence but the little thugs scattered. Most people are mature enough not to rise to the provocation but only takes 1 kid to join in to kick something off.

If Shels are incapable of keeping people off the pitch they don't deserve a place in the top flight of irish football.

Also, they look a bit older than 10 year olds.
    I got no lips I got no bones where there
    were eyes there's only space

I only called them thugs as could hardly be hooligans.

Quote Originally Posted by pete View Post
    If Shels are incapable of keeping people off the pitch they don't deserve a place in the top flight of irish football.
    Thats just a stupid statement!!

Apart from that comment,I agree with you on this,and they are older than 10,they're about 15/16 and when i pointed out to a Garda that he should stop them getting on the pitch,he just looked at me despite the fact they were at his arms lenght!!

Quote Originally Posted by chippie0001 View Post
    We hire enough stewards to keep fans and objects off the pitch. Other clubs don't pay the same money it costs us to do this and hence after every game in Tolka there are fans on teh pitch.
    That's it in a nutshell, Shelbourne only employ around 6 stewards for every game (count them next time you're at a match, I have and I've rarely seen more than 6). Pats usually have beween 30 and 40 at Richmond Park. I'm told that their bigger games cost about €2,000 in stewarding and Gardaí costs, even the smaller ones cost over €1,000.

Oh, and the Gardaís role is not to act as replacement stewards, they're attending what is essentially a "private function" and are there to assist the Event Controller and Safety Officer if required to do so. They will not intervene unless requested or unless they see a law being broken (unlike in the UK, invading a pitch breaks stadium rules but doesn't break the law).
    Last edited by Stato; 13/08/2006 at 6:18 PM.

The guards have no responsibility to stop people entering the pitch. They are however responsible to detain/arrest people seen engaging in violent behaviour.
    The stewards have responsibility for both.

Maybe the FAI could add "safety of supporters" to conditions of the new FAI SuperLeague?

Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast