Thread: Galway Utd 1-1 Finn Harps

Galway Utd 1-1 Finn Harps

It was one hell of a game to watch but we looked tired from the start. Id like to see stats on how many shots on target we had id say its in double figures. The finishing was terrible.

Shame we couldn't get the three points in front of our largest crowd of the season but at least those who were there saw good quality football.

Mick O Donnell had a poor game and Barry Moran was not up for it. Murph's showed his class again and Fran despite having a few "moments" played well.

We need Shams to notch up a few draws to make it more interesting.
    "Are those my feet" Fr Jack Hackett

37 Posts
    Wes Charles wasn't playing too good either. Derek O'Brien was full of tricks and played one of his best games in a maroon shirt. Goughy's delivery was poor at times. Murphy was cool as a cucumber when he took the penalty. Frawley almost broke the crossbar with a thunderbolt.

The Terryland gates were opened with ten minutes remaining but nobody left early. Despite the scoreline, it was an entertaining game. Fair play to ther Harps fans who gave it loads. The United fans were loud and proud too.

The fairweather fans will return after this performance.
    Nobody knows us, we don't care

Agreed with what has been said, except it was Foley that whacked the crossbar along with Keane minutes from the end. O'Donnell was very poor and Wes was a bit of the pace tonight. How many penalties has O'Brien won us so far this season when he runs inwards at the goal rather than attempting to cross it?

Why was harps O'donnell dent off? was it for something he said to the linesman?

1,550 Posts
    He kicked the GU player apparently.

Petulant dipstick.

Very good display from Harps, great passion and fight and some good football despite a patched up team. Galway had loads of possession but I thought the draw was fair enough.

Good game to watch, and proof that Harps aren't dead yet!

The right winger for Harps was given the freedom of the pitch for most of the match and it was no surprise they scored from that position. It seemed O'Donnell was leaving it to O'Brien to cover him, anyways neither of them did. We were on top for most of the game but i suppose we were lucky Harps didnt get a goal on the break one of the numerous times Fran Carter was caught in possesion or Wes Charles missed the ball. Great entertainment though.

just like the old days tonight,

and by "old days" i mean about 6/7 years ago with great atmosphere(floodlights help so much for that) and both teams going at it full steam.good to see tony make the neccesary changes like bringing barry and dave off,foley came on and got us going in the 2nd half.we deserved to win that match though "galway harps",good dogged display by ye but we had far more possesion and chances just couldnt score.
    just to clear something up,fran and foley hit the bar.
    brutal marking,or lack of,for their goal,their right winger had so much room all night.
    FAO GUFCT-i seen you race in to the harps player who punched the canopy in the tunnel after he was sent off,i assume he will be in trouble for that,yes???
    2 points dropped at home but because of the entertainment value of the game it wasnt all bad because as someone already said most "go on number 9" fans will be back for next game.

anybody get the official attendance?

nice result lads

Rams to win on Sunday and go ahead on goal difference...........

Official attendance 1490.

great

and with the performance put in in the second half we could see that increase again for the next match, we just need to advertise it well that its been played on sunday at 7pm and not the usual friday night

to all the harps fans out there - ye had two moves the whole game and scored one

if GUFC scored in the first 20mins - it would have been a rout 5-1 6-1

harps were brutal - they didnt defend well - galway just were crap at finishing - so many chances

limerick 2 penos and an og

when did we last score from play - such a waste of chances - just like limerick so i was told

rovers keeping it tight and knicking a goal

totally agree with all the entertainment and how the fair weather boys should come back for that - but dont forget - harps are always great for bringing an away support - take them away and how many fairweather heads are left

letting others back into the race - thats what last night was and the late goal against rovers

wes didnt look like a legend at rovers -and his complacent mistakes again last night - were worrying

anyway roll on dundalk - do we ever get any joy up there......?!?!?!!??
    more water!

1,550 Posts
    Harps had a number of counter attacks in the second half were bad final passes cost us chances. Not that that counts of course.

Nor do shots that hit the bar they're still misses at the end of the day!- in the end ye only scored from a soft enough penalty. For all Galway's possession I don't think they played too much football and made few enough clear chances. Our defence wasn't great, but then we'd only one centre half on the pitch and a left back filling in.

I felt we still had a chance of getting a second until that tool O'Donnell got himself sent off, after that the pressing couldn't continue and Galway were well on top.

55 Posts

thats entertainment

i thought it was very exciting near the end, what more could you ask for they piled on the pressure hit the crossbar twice. we could do with damien dupuy, we are lacking an out and out striker. barry heading up in the air, kicking his shots into the sky. he never hits when he gets a sight at goal always delays a fraction. he should look at some strikers footage like steve bull or someone and notice that these guys hit the moment they see sight of the goalie not hang around to hit it perfect. substitutions were spot on again but a fatal error at start playing o donnell at left full, he should have had nigel on at the start at right full and keane at left full. still all inall a great crowd good atmosphere and no one left early as paddyfield said

well done

Well done lads ! That was the best game i've seen in Terryland in a long time. Tony has the team playing with heart and purpose. You couldnt fault anyone for effort. Harps were jammy as .... to get away with a point and if we continue to play like that there is no reason we why we cant catch Rovers,
    COME ON UNITED!!!!!!!!!!!!

Quote Originally Posted by Patrick Dunne View Post
    Official attendance 1490.
    The official attendance was actually 1397. There was also the Under 15 FAI Development squad in attendance which would have pushed it a bit higher.
    "Are those my feet" Fr Jack Hackett

Ya about 25 higher.
    www.galwayunitedfc.net -----New GUFC fans forum and Gust Website.

Europe's Big Club.
    "Cause Galway are MASSIVE"-RW Rover on 24/8/07 00:29am