Thread: Rovers to be deducted three points?

37 Posts

Rovers to be deducted three points?

I read in a newspaer today that Shamrock Rovers are likely to be deducted three points for playing a player (Paul Shields) who was suspended. He had just signed from Dublin City and was half way through a two match ban.

If this is true, then technically, Galway United are curetnly top of the League. Rovers have two games in hand.

Nobody knows us, we don't care

In 2day's Irish Sun, it said they could be docked 6 pionts......
    The future's bright......maroon and white

I presume that the "?" at the end of the thread title is because things are unsure due to the fact that it a "big" Dublin club involved and we dont really know will they get a deduction. It's an offence to play a player who is serving a ban. and it doesn't matter if its a different club. Ciaran Foley couldn't play the first three for us this season if I recall correctly so....say it

WE ARE TOP O THE LEAGUE WE ARE TOP O THE LEAGUE!!!!!!!!!
    "Are those my feet" Fr Jack Hackett

176 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Tir Oilean
    so....say it WE ARE TOP O THE LEAGUE WE ARE TOP O THE LEAGUE
    WTF??

Have read the "report" in the press. It is approximately a quarter of a column, with no quotes from any FAI official. The Sun has one quote, from a non-FAI "source", The Star has none at all. "Reports" of serious matters such as these are hard to believe without a quote(s), from TPTB. So, the "story" that we may lose points from Home Farm's problems is currently a rumour, and not a fact. i.e.,

We stand top of the league with 2 games in hand on 2nd-5th place.
    NL 1st Division Champions 2006
    NL Premier Division Champions 2010
    NL Premier Division Champions 2011

Keep Tallaght Tidy, Throw your rubbish in the Jodi

Ten Years Not Out

Did he play while suspended or not? Thats all that we need to know my post. Its quite simple really dont you think? If he played without serving the suspension then its minus 3 pts!

Theres no need to pay attention to the press its in black and white on your clubs' team sheets! Anyway when did reports surface early regarding such incidents? Didnt Paul Marney play three games while ineligible for Pat's some time back before anything was realised

Quote Originally Posted by Tir Oilean View Post
    WE ARE TOP O THE LEAGUE WE ARE TOP O THE LEAGUE
    ,country folk are comedy!
    No Comment.

as gufct said elsewhere the suspension is on the player and not the club so there will be points deducted but how many isn't clear yet, either 3 or 6.

COMON SIX

Well Jackeen, as you'd be known to us rednecks down these ere parts of the country

I believe your own "folk" having been talking about it in depth on SRFC sites for a while now and there's no smoke without fire. It will be set out in our local press (Tribune)this week; setting the record straight on what happened when it happened and what happens next. It'll tighten things up even further at the business end.

PS I didn't get a penny for the plug for the Tribune

Sorry Terry but it's three and not six as in The Sun

811 Posts
    Sorry Terry but it's three and not six as in The Sun
    It doesn't matter. You'll both make the John Delaney Invitational League next year anyway.
    You can't spell failure without FAI

37 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by damoGUFC View Post
    In 2day's Irish Sun, it said they could be docked 6 pionts......
    He served one of his suspended games whilst still a player with Dublin City. Then Dublin City folded and before he knew it, he was a Shamrock Rovers player with a suspended game left to sit out. But he forgot or something.

I say leave Rovers with their three points, and let's play this the proper way. There is a lot of football to be played yet. Rovers don't travel to well to places like Limerick or Galway. As we say here, down the country, "It's A Long Road Without A Turn"

Anyway, we are only a bunch of hurling lovin' culchies . They deserve to be promoted; after all, they are the most successful football club in Ireland.
    Nobody knows us, we don't care

Well Jackeen, as you'd be known to us rednecks down these ere parts of the country

I believe your own "folk" having been talking about it in depth on SRFC sites for a while now and there's no smoke without fire. It will be set out in our local press (Tribune)this week; setting the record straight on what happened when it happened and what happens next. It'll tighten things up even further at the business end.

PS I didn't get a penny for the plug for the Tribune
    I'm not denying there's a chance of us getting deducted 3 points but you're already singing we are totl.On the evidence of galway's performance on friday,we'll need a sh*t load more points deducted for yous to win the league,koh
    No Comment.

Quote Originally Posted by nshoop View Post
    I'm not denying there's a chance of us getting deducted 3 points but you're already singing we are totl.On the evidence of galway's performance on friday,we'll need a sh*t load more points deducted for yous to win the league,koh
    Says alot about yee then.
    How many clear cut chances had yee?
    Ye've lost to us once already and twice couldn't break us down in Tolka bar last week froma mistake from a UTD player.It's hillarious you think Rovers have this league won already.
    www.galwayunitedfc.net -----New GUFC fans forum and Gust Website.

Europe's Big Club.
    "Cause Galway are MASSIVE"-RW Rover on 24/8/07 00:29am

Quote Originally Posted by nshoop View Post
    but you're already singing we are totl.
    It's called humour KOH try it some. as another post says, how do you figure your so much better than the rest of us. GUFC and SRFC have played out fairly scrappy affairs from what i've heard and there's nothing between us one win each and a draw. Maybe its those green and white hoops glasses your looking through, but dont worry we look through the maroon glasses every now and again too. You should try them every looks better in maroon .

Lads calm down. The Rovers fans here and the sligo fan obsessed with us are well known WUMs.

What happened was that the league wrote to CHF about Shiels' suspension but sent the letter to the wrong address

So the player and Rovers were completely unaware that he should not have played.

Also nobody is saying we are vastly superior to Galway or to any side or that we are the Champions already. IMO we have a great chance but there is a long way to go.

The table stands for now.

Quote Originally Posted by Rogue Trader View Post
    Obsessed ? I think it is the other way around you had to mention us did you not ? Anyway i have backed Galway Yesterday to win the league and keep the first divsion title in Connought, they have a better team than Shams and will overhaul them in the run to the line.
    Not at all. Were you not on the Rovers MB after last fridays win? Also were you not in Terryland in June to see Rovers?

Your signature slagging UCD, who are a better side, says it all.

PD that's quality

811 Posts
    Rovers fans tend to think in longer terms than half a season RT.
    You can't spell failure without FAI

Quote Originally Posted by Rogue Trader View Post
    You must not look at The premier league tables to often, i suppose you have no need.
    Thanks for not answering my questions. On a Galway thread talking about Rovers. Obsessed.

We're just holding your position in the first which is your spiritual home kid.

Quote Originally Posted by John83 View Post
    Rovers fans tend to think in longer terms than half a season RT.
    Not much choice these days..........

No One Likes Us, We Don't Care

Quote Originally Posted by NY Hoop View Post
    Also were you not in Terryland in June to see Rovers?
    that's probably me ur on a bout
    "Even if the sun ceases to rise, Even if the sea ceases to flow, Even if the wind stops to blow, The name of Sligo Rovers will shine and shine forever like the morning, glinting star in the sky."