Page 3 of 6 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast

Thread: Derry & Rovers to be deducted points

3,491 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Dodge View Post
    If any team doesn't fulfill one fixture, the other team is awarded a victory. Standard procedure in most leagues and cups.
    Actually, in the instance of a team withdrawing entirely, it's not. At all. Some examples -

Aldershot withdrew after 36 or 46 games in the 1991/92 English Fourth Division - all results expunged.
    Prevalje were disqualifed after 21 of 33 games in Slovenia in 2002/03 after failing to show for their last two games. Only results from rounds 1-11 (i.e. one game per team) were allowed to stand.

Will look for some more when I get time. There is a general ruling that after a certain amount of games - 2/3rds or so - that all remaining results are 3-0s (Kazakhstan 2004/05, for example). A competent league - Finland 2006 - tends to catch bankrupt teams and exclude them from the league at the UEFA Licencing stage, thereby avoiding all this mess.
    Last edited by pineapple stu; 09/08/2006 at 12:43 PM.

84 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by gufct View Post
    according to the Star & Sun. Rovers to lose 6 says the sun for playing Paul Shiels while suspended and the Star just has it that both Rovers and Derry are in bother.

The league is also overturning the decision on Dublin Citys points according to the star.

What matches did he play in suspended?

Follow Us on Facebook and Twitter

I said it was standard procedure for ONE game and asked why its different for 16 or so. Why are Killester awarded a walkover in the FAI Cup but Derry aren't in the league?

3,491 Posts
    I said it was standard procedure for ONE game and asked why its different for 16 or so.
    Have edited my post for that.

There's no need to look for more. Whole point is that there was no rule in our league so anything could happen and any decision likely to be challenged.

3,491 Posts
    There's no need to look for more. Whole point is that there was no rule in our league so anything could happen and any decision likely to be challenged.
    Thanks! Had just gotten to the Armenian league last year, where a team withdrew after 11/16 games and had the rest of the games awarded 3-0...

League rule book point is the main one alright.

Quote Originally Posted by Battery Rover View Post
    What matches did he play in suspended?
    athlone and dundalk

Quote Originally Posted by Raheny Red View Post
    Anyone got a skanger so they can post the article up here
    Tolka is full of skangers!

I think the original decision was a joke because it rewarded Derry and drogs for not performing as well as Shels and City.

30 Posts
    Did Cork play Dublin City down at Turners Cross in the first series?

Did Shels play Dublin City at Tolka in the first series?

Both Drogheda and ourselves played Dublin City away in the first series. So why should be we penalised because, on the luck of the draw, we were drawn away to DC in the first series?

Our subsequent home matches against DC (2-2 Drogs and 3-0 Derry) were both better results..........

I think already we can see that all of the clubs involved will have very valid arguments.

Theres one thing for sure - its another mess!!

Quote Originally Posted by Peadar View Post
    Tolka is full of skangers!

I think the original decision was a joke because it rewarded Derry and drogs for not performing as well as Shels and City.

As BL said, if they let the points stand then what happens to the teams who only played them once? If they don't give them points it's not fair, but if they give them automatic wins then it isn't fair on teams who played DC and dropped points.

What a mess. And so predictable.

As for us, we have to lose six points because we signed a guy without realising that he was suspended from games that technically were never played?

Sometimes I hate this league so much.
    Champions.
    16 leagues & 24 cups.

What's the Derry match?

Quote Originally Posted by Passive View Post
    As for us, we have to lose six points because we signed a guy without realising that he was suspended from games that technically were never played?

In fairness, if Rovers didn't check with the league they have nobody to blame but themselves (except maybe the player himself!)

Anyone know what the craic with Derry is?

Quote Originally Posted by dcfc_1928 View Post
    Both Drogheda and ourselves played Dublin City away in the first series. So why should be we penalised because, on the luck of the draw, we were drawn away to DC in the first series?
    Don't know what your point is?
    We beat them 1-0 at home and 0-4 away.
    You lost 1-0 to them away.

You expect to be rewarded for that?

In fairness, if Rovers didn't check with the league they have nobody to blame but themselves (except maybe the player himself!)

Anyone know what the craic with Derry is?
    Im guessing O'Flynn but he was only given a 1 match ban and this has still not been extended at the disciplinary meeting, unless they decided it and told no one but that couldnt happen could it??

176 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Passive
    http://www.foot.ie/showpost.php?p=512516&postcount=21

It's not our fault they went bust.

Quote Originally Posted by dcfc_1928
    Did Cork play Dublin City down at Turners Cross in the first series?
    Yes

Did Shels play Dublin City at Tolka in the first series?
    Yes
    NL 1st Division Champions 2006
    NL Premier Division Champions 2010
    NL Premier Division Champions 2011

Keep Tallaght Tidy, Throw your rubbish in the Jodi

Ten Years Not Out

I disagree. Its not the fault of the clubs that only played them once that they have no chance to earn those 3 points. If any team doesn't fulfill one fixture, the other team is awarded a victory. Standard procedure in most leagues and cups. Why should it be any different for 15-16 games?
    Because there's a huge difference between a team being unable to fulfill a league fixture, and one disappearing up it's own arse in a puff of smoke.

Can you tell me when the last time an EL team was unable to fulfill a league fixture ?? I seriously doubt you can, because in practice it doesn't happen. What happens is the team are either told to play it, or if both sides agree it gets rescheduled. Otherwise teams would be unfulfilling fixtures all the time to overcome injuries etc. Unfulfilled league fixtures simply do not happen with existing teams outside of pub leagues and the like.

And standard practice in other leagues (eg. England, France) has been to null and void any results of teams who have gone belly-up mid-season. How can you argue standard practice in one area (unfulfilled fixtures) , but not accept it in another much more relevant area (teams defuncting mid-season) ?

Can we all just agree that we all want what is best for our own clubs situation?

Does anyone favour a system that means their own club loses position in the league?

Quote Originally Posted by Passive View Post

We won't lose 6 points and Derry won't lose any either. There's a number of precedents on this one in the eircom League and none of them involve points deductions.

Agree 100% about hating the league though.

No One Likes Us, We Don't Care

Quote Originally Posted by WeAreRovers View Post
    We won't lose 6 points and Derry won't lose any either. There's a number of precedents on this one in the eircom League and none of them involve points deductions.

Agree 100% about hating the league though.
    Still should have checked. Has nobody learned from our mistakes

Sure it'll be alright when the league merges with the FAI, afterall it's not like it was their pathetic implementation of licencing that caused this fookin mess in the first place.

I think I hate anyone that dons a blazer in every sport.

Page 3 of 6 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast