Thread: LimerickFC 1-3 Galway UTD

LimerickFC 1-3 Galway UTD

Couldn't get to this one because of work and by the looks of it I was spared.
    According to Galway supporters we should have been down double that. What happened?
    More importantly what now?
    Limerick 3:7
    "Marvel not that I said unto thee, ye must be born again"

time for noel to do a decent thing and step down.
    you gowl!

I didn't go because I chose to spend the evening with my girlfriend, and because I'm sick of watching O'Connors pathetic attempts at managing a football team. I'm sure plenty of others voted with their feet too, or like me didn't find the attraction of another dismal performance and defeat appealing enough to change their plans for the evening and go to the game.

I want O'Connor out, be it sacked or if he's a decent guy, resignation. I hope Danny Drew is reading this as well and bites the bullet. If not, I hope at the least he realises that he has to make changes at the end of the season.

Players are still looking for the keys.....

super blues

what a load of b****x!!!NOC has to go!!this is relagation form.........NOC must be nutts if he thinks his anything related to a football manager he should step down assp!!!

176 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by 4tothefloor
    I didn't go because I chose to spend the evening with my girlfriend. I'm sure plenty of others voted with their feet too, or like me didn't find the attraction of another dismal performance and defeat appealing enough to change their plans for the evening and go to the game.
    And we wonder why there are poor crowds at games...
    NL 1st Division Champions 2006
    NL Premier Division Champions 2010
    NL Premier Division Champions 2011

Keep Tallaght Tidy, Throw your rubbish in the Jodi

Ten Years Not Out

Quote Originally Posted by mypost View Post
    I agree with you there mypost.

I remember when we wanted the old board out, we were turning up in hugh numbers making our feeling known by broadcasting them for the entire 90minutes, and it worked too !!!!

If Limerick want there club to get back on track why dont they do it that way, instead of curling up in a corner at home and hoping that everything will change magical when they finally decide to come back out ????

Agree with all the posters here. It's time for a change.Season is well over now.

However one thing I did notice last night was the improvement in the second half. Robbie and McCartney did well replacing Sinnot and Rose. At leat we competed to the end even scored as well. We have little or no competition for places on our team and this leads to complacency.

Saw Paul Finucane at the match last night, spectating when he should be playing instead of Kiely

Go Now NOC
    "How Can you lie there and think of England when you don't even know who's in the team"-- B.Bragg

Ever hear of thick and thin? wind and rain etc.. me and a few hundred others did turn up like we do every week, and yes it was another rubbish performance especially the first half, we only got better when we were 3 down, had the extra man and realised we shouldnt be crossing the ball to wes charles head , robbie was brought on about 10 mins into the second half and put more effort in than the whole of the rest of the team did for the whole game! Im not going to publicy slate any of our players but the lack of effort from a number of them in the last few weeks is worrying. Now we all know the team isent great, and the manager rubbish, but dont let us, the supporters slide the same way. we've got kilkenny away next week, and cobh the week after. I suggest those who havent been going recently to get up there and make your presence felt, especially for cobh

Dont lose heart ye still have ten wins. I wrote us off after two games with Cousins in charge then we go on to draw one lose two and win five and hey presto were second! Stick through it like the rest of us do otherwise Fr Joe may as well sell the ground to a developer.

BTW 4tothefloor I'd say you'll be back again it's just frustrating stuff, remember thats part of supporting any team
    "Are those my feet" Fr Jack Hackett

Last night was utterly abject. It would be easy to mumble something about it being two penalties and an own goal but both penalties were nailed on (the rebound had been buried in the top corner before the first one anyway). We were yards off the pace and totally lacking in ideas until we were a man up and Robbie Kelleher and Jason McCartney came on.

The centre halves aren't doing badly individually but they're lacking the kind of understanding that existed between Paddy Purcell and Paul Finucane. Conor Synott has arrived here with a big reputation but so far he's looked like no more than a very poor man's John McGrath. Up front expecting Derek McCarthy to compete with Wes Charles was an exercise in futility. A bigger, nippier player like Robbie or Shane Guerin should have started instead of Carty or Rose, especially as we seemed fixated with hoofing the ball long.

We missed John Lester in a big way last night but any team that's as reliant on one player as we are is in trouble (especially given said player's disciplinary record). It's all well and good saying we finished strongly too but that's missing the point. So we came back into the game right at the end against a team who were a man down and three goals up... superb...

Surely there'll have to be a few changes made now? How can Robbie Kelleher not be starting? As things stand we'll be lucky to win another five games between now and the end of the season.

Really smart @rse? It's a pity you can't read, then again you are a Rovers fan. This game was a refixed game. As I said, I already had other plans and wasn't going to change them to pay €12 to see complete and utter rubbish, that's not even related to football. And I certainly wasn't going to change them to let my girlfriend down. Maybe I could have gone to the game and do what most Rovers fans do - throw bottles, shout abuse and start fights. But that's not my cup of tea......

Quote Originally Posted by Terry
    If Limerick want there club to get back on track why dont they do it that way, instead of curling up in a corner at home and hoping that everything will change magical when they finally decide to come back out ????
    So just because I miss a game because I'm otherwise engaged it's going to affect the whole club - lol I already had other plans and was not one bit enticed to change them because of the fare that I knew would be on offer. That's an honest synopsis of what I think of NOC's Limerick at the moment, and there's plenty more who think, did and would have done the same if they had other plans too. And who said I was curling up at home????
    Drew doesn't seem to be getting the message when we're turning up, paying our money and watching dismal performance after dismal performance. Not just this season, last season as well. So maybe he might do something about it when he realises that it is driving the supporters away.

Monkfish - thick and thin is fine, but I'm sorry, NOC is leading us on the road to no where so why should we fund it? Are the fans going to get together and actually vocally call for his head at the next games? If so, I'm there, if not I don't see the point.

Tir Oiean - I haven't gone away. It's just that I'm not going to go out of my way to get off work, switch nights, change plans with my girlfriend to watch NOC's crap football anymore.

176 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by 4tothefloor View Post
    I already had other plans and wasn't going to change them to pay €12 to see complete and utter rubbish, that's not even related to football. And I certainly wasn't going to change them to let my girlfriend down.

So just because I miss a game because I'm otherwise engaged it's going to affect the whole club - lol I already had other plans and was not one bit enticed to change them because of the fare that I knew would be on offer.

I haven't gone away. It's just that I'm not going to go out of my way to get off work, switch nights, change plans with my girlfriend to watch NOC's crap football anymore.

Plenty of time in the winter to entertain women. If you support a club, it should be far more important.

Ten Years Not Out

Quote Originally Posted by 4tothefloor View Post
    And who said I was curling up at home????
    Well you said you decided to spent the evening with the missus !!!

I admit, in reading your first post it sounded as if that was it and you werent going back until there was changes, but if your still going to go back even if limerick keep going the way they are going, then fair play and I retract my original post

Plenty of time in the winter to entertain women. If you support a club, it should be far more important.

And we wonder why Rovers fans look like one big Virginity Support Group

Quote Originally Posted by Monkfish View Post
    Im not going to publicy slate any of our players but the lack of effort from a number of them in the last few weeks is worrying. Now we all know the team isent great,
    And therein lies a big problem, the team aren't showing effort for a manager I assume they have no respect for. How can any player out there be willing to fight for a man who treats a popular team player (and last years club captain) as shabbily as he treated Finnucane? Or someone who shipped our top scorer out on loan last season because of a personal grudge? Or can't be bothered with a talent like Robbie?

Its NOC thats charged with putting a fire under this team, who I think are good enough to challenge for the league (maybe not in terms of a squad, but a first 11 certainly), and he just isn't doing it, in fact he seems to be turning the players towards a stronger and stronger apathy towards Limerick FC. Something besides Danny pretending this isn't happening needs to be done

O CONNOR OUT NOW WHILE THERE'S STILL HOPE.

Anybody who knows me on this board will know I'm pretty easily pleased but last night was nothing short of disgraceful.

Why is the most naturally gifted player in the division sitting on our bench??

Why are 21's being called up to the bench and not being used??

Why is Sinnott still playing?? I don't care if he came from Reading or Real Madrid the boy's rubbish.

Why is the defence suddenly leaking with all the hilarity and regularity of an old , old man??

Why Kevin Waters??

Why do I bother??

Why are 21's being called up to the bench and not being used??
    Well I guess I wasnt the only one that was surprised when NOC made substitions earlier on in the game last night, but I was surprised at the quality of the subs. I've got to hold up my hands and say i didnt get their names but i certainly could see they had more to offer than some/most of those already on the pitch from the start. I do think NOC is not the man and good luck trying to ditch him.
    "Are those my feet" Fr Jack Hackett

super blues

Really smart @rse? It's a pity you can't read, then again you are a Rovers fan. This game was a refixed game. As I said, I already had other plans and wasn't going to change them to pay €12 to see complete and utter rubbish, that's not even related to football. And I certainly wasn't going to change them to let my girlfriend down. Maybe I could have gone to the game and do what most Rovers fans do - throw bottles, shout abuse and start fights. But that's not my cup of tea......

4tothefloor,i think everyone here knows by now you have a girlfriend and you don't like tea. you'r get'n very bad again!!

Good man mypost, I can see you're a dab hand with the ladies That quip is almost as good as your assertion that Rafa Benitez is a crap manager. How do you come up with them? You must be one of those guys then that would wear your Rovers top when out on a date

Quote Originally Posted by Terry View Post
    Well you said you decided to spent the evening with the missus !!!
    I'm not married yet Terry, Jaysus....She's just the stroppy girlfriend at the moment

Quote Originally Posted by fc hammer View Post
    4tothefloor,i think everyone here knows by now you have a girlfriend and you don't like tea. you'r get'n very bad again!!
    What do you mean???
    Last edited by 4tothefloor; 09/08/2006 at 6:56 PM.

176 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by 4tothefloor
    I can see you're a dab hand with the ladies You must be one of those guys then that would wear your Rovers top when out on a date
    Actually, I'm one of those guys who travels the length and breadth of the country, at considerable expense I may add, to support a football team, not turn my back on them when they play crap and have a few bad results. An Ultra, whether he supports Rovers, Rennes, or Real Madrid, knows where his priorities lie: Pinky has to wait until football shift is over.
    Last edited by mypost; 09/08/2006 at 7:10 PM.

Ten Years Not Out