Page 9 of 10 FirstFirst ... 78910 LastLast

Thread: Derry v Gretna Live on Setanta

Quote Originally Posted by pete View Post

Very few opposition in the 1st round that could be considered beatable but even a draw would be big boost to club & country ranking.
    Not sure if I totally understand the UEFA list stu posted, but if there's two Israeli teams in it, then they could be beatable given they'll have to play their home legs in Cyprus or some such
    A patriot is someone who knows how to hate his country properly.

71 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by sonofstan View Post
    Not sure if I totally understand the UEFA list stu posted, but if there's two Israeli teams in it, then they could be beatable given they'll have to play their home legs in Cyprus or some such
    That's a good call if you ask me. Domzale of Slovenia beat an Israeli side 2-1 "away" (wherever if was played) tonight. I'd hate to see Derry draw Newcastle. I'd never rule out an upset but chances are they could get beaten by a few goals and I think it would just give barstoolers a stick to beat the league with. I'd love to see Derry get the weakest possible opponent and go though.

How many more ties do they have to win to qualify for groups?
    www.WalkTheChalk.com - Stats, Opinion & Bluster on Irish Club Football

71 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by el punter View Post
    How many more ties do they have to win to qualify for groups?
    The UEFA Cup group phase is the second round proper of the competition i.e. the round after the next one. Feckers at UEFA always put the big one just one reach too far for the wee clubs.

386 Posts
    Saw the goals on TV3 some crackers. Question for any of the Derry lads who might be on here. Why did you not have your names on the back of your shirts? You normally do in the League.

Absolutely superb from Derry, they outplayed Gretna all over the pitch. I don't think even the most optimistic Derry fan expected that scoreline. I thought you were in with a real chance but that was unbelieveable. Well done Stephen Kenny and Derry City. Your support was once again a credit to your club by the way.

Fair play to Derry City, unbelievable result. Didn't see the game as don't have Setanta and just missed Sports Tonight. Hopefully they'll show them again tomorrow

1,928 Posts
    They showed the goals on Tv3, normal coverage, 5 beauties.

They showed 2 or 3 goals on the late Rte news, all from the camera behind the goal (closer to the corner flag), crap coverage, an insult to the achievement.

47 Posts
    I agree, watched the tv3 coverage and while not amazing was good and their usual effort and seemed genuinely pleased, turned on rte "and derry won heres 3 brief clips" and have more athletics. Thanks.

Wondr if they will show the second leg now? Or any of the second legs?

Derry could take Lovech if they drew them. We played them a few years back and they were nothing special. Only scoring 2 90th minute goals to kill the tie off as we were up the other end trying to get the winner.

Would be a great draw for Derry.

22 Posts
    the goals were super sweet!!!! TV3 did ok with their coverage!! was the exact same on sky sports news! 5 fab goals

176 Posts
    That's the difference between the cream of the LOI, and the Scottish lower divisions. Mind you, for a while, they might have needed the tomatoes ready to pelt at the team on their arrival in City of Derry airport, if they lost 1-0.

The NL side romp home as I said in advance, and our national team boss persists with picking players from Scottish clubs for international duty.

Gretna 1-5 Derry

SuperBlooper Gretna, comments please???
    Last edited by mypost; 11/08/2006 at 1:02 AM.

So, any notable coverage of the result in the papers today?

82 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Soper View Post
    So, any notable coverage of the result in the papers today?
    Sadly, but predictably, a lot less than in the Scottish media.

My particular favourite headline being the back page of the early edition Scottish Sun which ran with "Oh Deery".

I was reading some Scottish paper this morning with nowt but praise for Derry and their fans. Basically said they were embarassed to have written Derry off in the days running up to it, due to presumption son their part. Had 4 1/2 pages about how amazing everything red&white was.
    God

70 Posts
    Fantastic Result
    Everyone connected to DCFC should be proud of themselves
    Now.
    I think the second leg is really important for the league
    If Derry were to go out and hammer them again we would gain
    loads more positive coverage home and abroad!
    God knows when the next chance we would have to rub their noses in it.
    So more of the same please Derry, this time for the EL

When Pats beat Derry on Sunday we'll officialy be the best team in Europe.

Jeesh

Fabulous result, was listening on the radio and all you could hear was Derry songs. The goals were stunners too, as good as you'll see anywhere, are there any highlights on the web (more than just the goals)?

Last edited by sonofstan; 11/08/2006 at 10:59 AM.
    A patriot is someone who knows how to hate his country properly.

Quote Originally Posted by The Daily Record
    PA announcer decided to play "You Had A Bad Day".
    I'd forgotten about that, the only time I've smiled at hearing that song.

Page 9 of 10 FirstFirst ... 78910 LastLast