Page 5 of 6 FirstFirst ... 3456 LastLast

Thread: Derry's home game with Gretna

Quote Originally Posted by Shelsman View Post
    All in all, I'm sure everyone would agree that the best solution would be for Derry to get a greater seated capacity ( can ye not get a 100 year / long term lease from the council or something? ).
    We're trying but the extra seats is probally to keep us quiet for a year or 2 which it wont. IF we go through, the game can be played earlier say 4.30 or something.

Quote Originally Posted by Shelsman View Post
    Lads, stop arguing.

With regards to Derry's home fixture if they get through, I would suggest Flancare Park -it is closer than Dublin and has a greater seated capacity than the Brandywell, not sure of the floodlights etc though it was good enough for Longford to play their Euro games there ( albeit in the first preliminary round each time ).

All in all, I'm sure everyone would agree that the best solution would be for Derry to get a greater seated capacity ( can ye not get a 100 year / long term lease from the council or something? ).
    Longford ?!?!? You forgot the smiley !

We'll be playing our games at Brandywell as long as there is any way whatsoever of doing so. City play in Derry.

Quote Originally Posted by David View Post
    My post was in reply to a request to who Linfield have beaten in Europe. I was merely pointing out that the last time we played against an Irish team in Europe we beat them, thanks to a goal by a certain David Jeffrey.
    Just you dwell on past 'glories' David........

Quote Originally Posted by dcfcsteve View Post
    Just you dwell on past 'glories' David........
    No need, we had enough glories last season to keep us going. When you have won a quarter of what we have won come and talk to me. Incidentally you seem happy enough talking about Gothenberg's past glories. Double standards there Steve?

Quote Originally Posted by David
    No need, we had enough glories last season to keep us going.
    Like what - having fans partaking in medieval-style hand-to-hand on-pitch combat during the Irish Cup Final and failing to retain the Setanta Cup? Glory indeed....

Quote Originally Posted by David
    Incidentally you seem happy enough talking about Gothenberg's past glories. Double standards there Steve?
    Not at all. Because Gothenborg have won things of note (2 UEFA Cups ayone...?)

Or are you now trying to say that Linfield's history is on a par with theirs.....?

Keep digging.....

Like what - having fans partaking in medieval-style hand-to-hand on-pitch combat during the Irish Cup Final and failing to retain the Setanta Cup? Glory indeed....
    Really have not got a notion what you are on about with regards to the Cup Final.

As for the Setanta, I thought we did quite well. Topped our group and put out in a close semi final to the eventual winners of the competition. We won it the year before so I think our Setanta record is better than anyone else.

Not at all. Because Gothenborg have won things of note (2 UEFA Cups ayone...?)

Or are you now trying to say that Linfield's history is on a par with theirs.....?

Keep digging.....
    When exactly did they win it? 1986 was the last time. We could talk about beating Man City at Windsor Park in the ECWC, the then holders of the competition and only going out on away goals if you want to talk about playing clubs of real pedigree instead of a club who had success 20 years in the past.

Talking

We could talk about beating Man City ..... if you want to talk about playing clubs of real pedigree

LOL

sorry Danny

Quote Originally Posted by charliesboots View Post
    LOL

sorry Danny
    Try to keep up. At the time they were the holders of the Cup Winners at the time and one of the top clubs in Europe.

It was actually a deliberate recycling of your post for humour's sake......but keep digging

Try to keep up. At the time they were the holders of the Cup Winners at the time and one of the top clubs in Europe.
    so your greatest achievement is loosing to Man City?

you sound like UCD going on about their Everton narrow moral victory!

Quote Originally Posted by Pablo View Post
    so your greatest achievement is loosing to Man City?

you sound like UCD going on about their Everton narrow moral victory!
    I was talking about winning the home league. As for our greatest achievement in Europe, that was probably reaching the Quarter Final of the European Cup.

One final point, we do not have a racism problem. In the past we had a problem with a handful of idiots and this was promptly dealt with. There have been no problems since.

I could hear racist chanting towards Ndo when Shels played at Linfield this season, and that was ON TV, I wasn't even @ the game!

Quote Originally Posted by BohsFans View Post
    I could hear racist chanting towards Ndo when Shels played at Linfield this season, and that was ON TV, I wasn't even @ the game!

sorry - that was me

i just dont like Ndo

Which is the incident I have acknowledged and has now been dealt with, hence the anti racism display from our team at Tolka. One guy tried to start that night at Tolka and our entire support rounded on him.

*ehrm*

So now that Derry are through, what is the story for additional seating at the Brandywell. I would surmise that you could fill the capacity of the ground at least 3 or 4 times over. Will there be a chance of one of the TV stations showing the match live as there's sure to be huge interest in it?
    I got no lips I got no bones where there
    were eyes there's only space

Quote Originally Posted by CharlesThompson View Post
    *ehrm*

So now that Derry are through, what is the story for additional seating at the Brandywell. I would surmise that you could fill the capacity of the ground at least 3 or 4 times over. Will there be a chance of one of the TV stations showing the match live as there's sure to be huge interest in it?
    Think they're getting 450 extra seats or something shíte like that

You wont be allowed play the UEFA Round 1 game in the Brandywell so you better get thinking
    John Delaney!! GET OUT!!!
    www.ssdg.ie

Which is the incident I have acknowledged and has now been dealt with, hence the anti racism display from our team at Tolka. One guy tried to start that night at Tolka and our entire support rounded on him.
    Fair play to your support for doing that! It's one thing that always really annoys me about "football fans".
    However I don't think you can claim:
    One final point, we do not have a racism problem.
    . It's easy to do away from home, but at home it's a different story with seemingly more people of his persuasion at it.

A banner doesn't change things, but the club should be applauded for being proactive, as well as the real supporters.

Fair play to your support for doing that! It's one thing that always really annoys me about "football fans".
    However I don't think you can claim: . It's easy to do away from home, but at home it's a different story with seemingly more people of his persuasion at it.

A banner doesn't change things, but the club should be applauded for being proactive, as well as the real supporters.
    The Ndo incident was thankfully an isolated one and I now feel the racism problem, small as it was, has now been dealt with as morons who would do this know that our supporters simply will not tolerate it. That is why I said we do not have a racism problem because I simply feel that we do not any longer and hopefully this will show if we happen to be up against Shels and Ndo in the next Setanta Cup.

Page 5 of 6 FirstFirst ... 3456 LastLast