Page 4 of 6 FirstFirst ... 23456 LastLast

Thread: Derry's home game with Gretna

Quote Originally Posted by David View Post
    What mud am I throwing? What happens outside the ground is completely beyond the remit and control of Derry City FC so it is certainly not a dig at Derry or their supporters . I have heard Eircom League club supporters mentioning that they have been attacked outside the ground which is why I said it is unpredictable.
    David alot of your posts if not most and certainly recent, have been aimed at portraying Derry City as the other end of the spectrum to Linfield. Which we are not.

Your Club has a secatarian and Racism problem and after a century or so have now decided to take some proactive approach to address it and I applaud this belated attempt to rid your club of it's 'Little Rangers mentality'
    Funny how your club have only done this since UEFA informed us that any Sectarian or Racist chants will be dealt with in the severist of manners.
    But whatever reason I'm glad to see that Linfield are at last going to do something about it.

But do us all a favour, and stop attempting to bring the rest of us down to your level. There's only one team on the whole Island of Ireland that have a serious problem in relation to Sectarianisn or Racism and it's LINFIELD
    So get it sorted before UEFA throw you out of European Competition......Oh that's right you're already out.

Aaaahhh ... jealousy is that what's driving this months attack on Derry City David, 'cause we're still in Europe.
    Quare oul craic if we meet your big brother team in the next round, you'd have a field day **** stirring then.

We're all off to Scotland, we're all off to Scotland Nah Nah Nah

Im not disputing the need (or no need) for a PSNI presence , just asking the question why did UEFA give a dispensation to Derry , can someone please explain.

Quote Originally Posted by Krstic View Post
    David alot of your posts if not most and certainly recent, have been aimed at portraying Derry City as the other end of the spectrum to Linfield. Which we are not.

Your Club has a secatarian and Racism problem and after a century or so have now decided to take some proactive approach to address it and I applaud this belated attempt to rid your club of it's 'Little Rangers mentality'
    Funny how your club have only done this since UEFA informed us that any Sectarian or Racist chants will be dealt with in the severist of manners.
    But whatever reason I'm glad to see that Linfield are at last going to do something about it.

But do us all a favour, and stop attempting to bring the rest of us down to your level. There's only one team on the whole Island of Ireland that have a serious problem in relation to Sectarianisn or Racism and it's LINFIELD
    So get it sorted before UEFA throw you out of European Competition......Oh that's right you're already out.

Aaaahhh ... jealousy is that what's driving this months attack on Derry City David, 'cause we're still in Europe.
    Quare oul craic if we meet your big brother team in the next round, you'd have a field day **** stirring then.

We're all off to Scotland, we're all off to Scotland Nah Nah Nah
    You are obviously so clued in about everything going on at Windsor Park. Just for your info though, the True Blues is not in response to UEFA's 10 point plan, it was formed well before that came to light and was in response to some sectarian singing in the Setanta Cup. Considering that I am actually a member of the working committee for this I would say there is a fair chance that I know more about it than you do.

As for your other ridiculous accusations. We are the only club anywhere in Ireland with a sectarian problem? Is that the reason Derry City supporters have openly in this thread objected to the legitimate police force of the country being in the vicinity of the ground. Also, if you can manage to get a tape of the Shelbourne v Glentoran Champions League qualifier, have a wee listen to the Glentoran support and tell me we are the only club with a problem. We are the only club with a problem yet a member of Derry City FC can visit Windsor park and shout to other supporters to "buy f**k all of the huns". Supporters of Derry City can shout sectarian abuse at Linfield supporters at the Brandywell but sure you don't have a sectarian problem. May I suggest that the reason this problem is rarely apparent is that you are playing in a league in the Republic of Ireland where you do not come into contact with supporters of the other side. Have you been to a Linfield v Cliftonville game. If you had you would know yet again that we are not the only club with such a problem. As I said, we acknowledge we have a problem, others do not. When Derry City have a set up that even comes close to being as mixed as ours is then come and talk to me about it.

As for your childish European jibe, we were in a superior competition and therefore up against superior opposition. When we were in the UEFA Cup last season, we also win our opening tie but I suppose for Derry it is an achievement to be even playing in Europe, some of us are used to it.

One final point, we do not have a racism problem. In the past we had a problem with a handful of idiots and this was promptly dealt with. There have been no problems since.

Quote Originally Posted by iceman View Post
    Im not disputing the need (or no need) for a PSNI presence , just asking the question why did UEFA give a dispensation to Derry , can someone please explain.

Well why would anyone want to actually advertise the fact that the PSNI who are not acceptable to a large protion of People living in Northern Ireland, will be on duty in an area where there is a sizeable support for (R)IRA.

Trust me, everything that goes on on A match day at the brandywell has the full backing and assitance(if required) from the local PSNI.

The police are not requireed, therefore they don't come Fullstop.

As for your childish European jibe, we were in a superior competition and therefore up against superior opposition. When we were in the UEFA Cup last season, we also win our opening tie but I suppose for Derry it is an achievement to be even playing in Europe, some of us are used to it.

I've only quoted this part of your post 'cause it's so funny, the rest is just your usual 'I hate Derry City' drivel.

Gorica of Slovenia, such pedigree.

Can i remind you we beat twice UEFA Cup winners in our game

I've only quoted this part of your post 'cause it's so funny, the rest is just your usual 'I hate Derry City' drivel.

Gorica of Slovenia, such pedigree.

Can i remind you we beat twice UEFA Cup winners in our game
    They are so good, they could not win their league. Not taking away from what was an excellent result but surely you can accept that you will face tougher opposition in the Champions league than you will in the UEFA Cup.

Possibly, but you didn't, you met an inferior team. A team where most of their star players from the previous season left to join Swedish teams.

Yet you failed to beat them.

Do I need my Passport to go to Scotland?

Possibly, but you didn't, you met an inferior team. A team where most of their star players from the previous season left to join Swedish teams.

Yet you failed to beat them.

Do I need my Passport to go to Scotland?
    No, not for internal travel within the United Kingdom.

By the way we played a team who have won their league the last 3 years in a row and Slovenian football is certainly not a bad standard. You have got to the same round in the UEFA Cup that we did last season.

One more fact of interest. When we were in your group in Setanta, we topped the group, you went out in third place.

89 Posts
    Aye,

And did our part time players go on holidays when we were in Europe?

Further Sweden's UEFA Coefficient is higher than than Slovenia's...........
    Last edited by MariborKev; 08/08/2006 at 5:38 PM.
    Tifo poles, sausage rolls and a few goals.

The Brandy Blogs, back and blogging the 2010 season

Quote Originally Posted by Maribor View Post
    Aye,

And did our part time players go on holidays when we were in Europe?

Further Sweden's UEFA Coefficient is higher than than Slovenia's...........
    Fair enough, when you beat the reigning Swedish champions give me a shout, oh sorry that would involve you winning your own league first.

89 Posts
    Fair enough, when you beat the reigning Swedish champions give me a shout, oh sorry that would involve you winning your own league first.
    No it wouldn't.
    Tifo poles, sausage rolls and a few goals.

The Brandy Blogs, back and blogging the 2010 season

And when Linfield beat anyone of substance in European competition, cryo-genically unfreeze me - will ya.........

Quote Originally Posted by dcfcsteve View Post
    And when Linfield beat anyone of substance in European competition, cryo-genically unfreeze me - will ya.........
    What like the reigning League of Ireland champions?

Well, yes ! They beat the Cypriot champions and progressed to the 2nd round.

How did Linfield do in Europe this year? Feel free to chip-in the performance of any of the other IL Euro entrants to help you out, if you want.....

Keep digging.....

*cough*

2003 Malmo
    2004 Djurgardens

Both Swedish champions both fell to the sword of the mighty CCFC

Quote Originally Posted by Pablo View Post
    *cough*

2003 Malmo
    2004 Djurgardens

Both Swedish champions both fell to the sword of the mighty CCFC

Fair play to you, was directed towards the Derry fans though.

Quote Originally Posted by dcfcsteve View Post
    Well, yes ! They beat the Cypriot champions and progressed to the 2nd round.
    My post was in reply to a request to who Linfield have beaten in Europe. I was merely pointing out that the last time we played against an Irish team in Europe we beat them, thanks to a goal by a certain David Jeffrey.

David Jeffrey.
    He actually played football

Quote Originally Posted by Dazzy View Post
    He actually played football
    Was on Man Utd's book when young before coming home and playing centre half for Linfield for many years. Was quite well known for his "robust" tackling.

Lads, stop arguing.

With regards to Derry's home fixture if they get through, I would suggest Flancare Park -it is closer than Dublin and has a greater seated capacity than the Brandywell, not sure of the floodlights etc though it was good enough for Longford to play their Euro games there ( albeit in the first preliminary round each time ).

All in all, I'm sure everyone would agree that the best solution would be for Derry to get a greater seated capacity ( can ye not get a 100 year / long term lease from the council or something? ).

Page 4 of 6 FirstFirst ... 23456 LastLast