Page 3 of 6 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast

Thread: Derry's home game with Gretna

89 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by iceman View Post
    How can UEFA alllow this game to be played at the Brandywell without a PSNI presence?
    We have a dispensation from UEFA in relation to this.
    Tifo poles, sausage rolls and a few goals.

The Brandy Blogs, back and blogging the 2010 season

Quote Originally Posted by Speranza View Post
    PSNI are happy so why change it for fans who have no record whatsoever of crowd trouble?
    I never said anything about a possibility of crowd trouble - my point is that at such a high profile event there should be a PSNI presence ,to assist with all eventualities that may arise ,there will be a police presence at every other game in the round so why an exception for Derry?

89 Posts
    I never said anything about a possibility of crowd trouble - my point is that at such a high profile event there should be a PSNI presence ,to assist with all eventualities that may arise ,there will be a police presence at every other game in the round so why an exception for Derry?
    UEFA are happy.

The PSNI are in regular communication with the club and are happy.

If these two bodies are happy, you don't need to worry your little head about it.
    Tifo poles, sausage rolls and a few goals.

The Brandy Blogs, back and blogging the 2010 season

82 Posts
    there should be a PSNI presence ,to assist with all eventualities that may arise
    .......alien landings, tsunamis, that kind of thing?
    there will be a police presence at every other game in the round so why an exception for Derry?
    because we're special.
    We also have a dispensation from UEFA to play in the Eircom League instead of the Irish League. Would you like to question that too?

It doesn't take a policeman to provide a secure environment to watch a game, and in our case, that would be more likely to provide an much less secure environment.

I'd have more sympathy for your question if either club had a history of trouble, but we don't.

Calm down......Im only asking why?

If for some reason the game were played in Dublin would there be a Garda presence? or do you have a special dispensation for that eventuality as well?

82 Posts
    If for some reason the game were played in Dublin would there be a Garda presence? or do you have a special dispensation for that eventuality as well?
    Well we play in Dublin on average once a month and there's always a Gardai presence.

Go figure.

Quote Originally Posted by EireBadBoy View Post
    A local paper contacted RTÉ about showing Derry games and RTÉ said they would only show CL matches as that was all they could fit on their schedule. So no matter how far in the competition Derry progress they not be shown on TV here.

I'd like to add that we all know should Derry progress and draw an English team the media would be falling over themselves to show the game.
    If RTE don't show this game, they are a shower of barstooling mupets!...no wait.... I think we already knew that!

garyderry
    Calm down......Im only asking why?

Are you for real? and what business is it of yours anyway? (harry cavan reborn)

The FAI, Uefa and Eircom League are happy week in week, its a hell of a lot safer in the brandywell that most grounds in ireland, ask anyone who actaully attends games there, no trouble at all, and excellent stewarding at all times im glad to say, again unlike a lot of grounds around the country (with or without police)

176 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by alabama rover
    If RTE don't show this game, they are a shower of barstooling mupets.
    The European Athletics Championships have to be shown, despite the fact that there is only a handful of Irish athletes competing, and they all have zero hope of winning a medal.

report here

can somebody explain to iceman that the presence of the PSNI in the Brandywell would create a greater chance of a security problem rather than prevent one.

Think Black & Tans stewarding at an All-Ireland Final.

Having been at the Brandywell twice for Linfield games there is no need whatsoever for police inside the ground, although outside I believe is a different matter.

Quote Originally Posted by dcfcsteve View Post
    Rights is the big problem.

TV3 might get the international contrac, but then not have/get the right for the CL, for example. They then can't show any games.
    It's not an issue for the qualifying rounds though. iirc Five had Liverpools qualifying rounds for example. Also the UEFA Cup is done on a round by round basis - again look at last seasons on UK tele being split between five and ITV at different stages of the competition.

The rights is just an FAI excuse, when it is no issue for the UEFA Cup and only an issue for the Champions League proper. The FAI should tie proper domestic and european coverage with the international team contract. RTE (or TV3 or TG4) don't play ball than the FAI can walk away to any other broadcaster (sky or setanta) who will, with an exemption from protected rights. The FAI just don't care enough to make it an issue and are happy to trumpet as a success the pathetic coverage we currently get.

To be fair, I strongly suspect that Gretna fans won't provide the same lure for the local scumbags that Linfield fans did, so Police won't be needed outside the ground either.

Iceman : we should be celebrating that, in this day and age, a major sporting event can take place without a police presence, not dogmatically condemning it because a certain type of uniform isn't on display along with the numerous other uniforms that are there. If it simply ain't needed then give it a feckin rest.

Quote Originally Posted by dcfcsteve View Post
    To be fair, I strongly suspect that Gretna fans won't provide the same lure for the local scumbags that Linfield fans did, so Police won't be needed outside the ground either.
    Fair point although I feel they should be on hand just in case as the mentality of these people is unpredictable to say the least.

Quote Originally Posted by alabama rover View Post
    If RTE don't show this game, they are a shower of barstooling mupets!...no wait.... I think we already knew that!

AFAIK its on Setanta

iceman you need to go and do a bit of research into the history of derry and dcfc as to why there are no cops allowed in to the ground .Ive been there for games and felt safer than i have in other football grounds in Ireland .First game of the season against bohs in dalymount i was manhandled by a scumbag cop and told to " **** off back over to my side " .I felt really safe after that

Quote Originally Posted by David View Post
    Fair point although I feel they should be on hand just in case as the mentality of these people is unpredictable to say the least.
    Is it ?? Spend much time in the Brandywell, do you David ?

The local hoods are many things, but unpredictable is certainly not one of them. We've had up to 30 games a year for the last 20 years at the Brandywell. Care to guess how many of those have proven a lure for the local scumbags ?

The answer to that question gives a stronger indication as to whether a police presence would be required than your own (undedrstandable in this instance) prejudices.

Quote Originally Posted by David View Post
    I would say it's quite the opposite David, i think they are very Predictable.

They'll certainly not crawl from under their slimy little stones in order to have a go at a handful of fans from an unknown team.

You know the attraction Linfield has for these people, but what interest would they have in Gretna?

But David, keep throwing the mud.

garyderry
    Quote Originally Posted by Krstic View Post
    They'll certainly not crawl from under their slimy little stones in order to have a go at a handful of fans from an unknown team.
    And in fact when it comes to Linfield (no hassle at all with Glentoran) its constant comments like this everywhere that actaully raises tensions.

And in relation to hassle OUTSIDE grounds, is Dalymount not now the worst offender in the league, and the Brandywell this season (including the visits of Linfield and Glentoran) not been one of the most hassle free grounds in the league this season?

Quote Originally Posted by Krstic View Post
    I would say it's quite the opposite David, i think they are very Predictable.

You know the attraction Linfield has for these people, but what interest would they have in Gretna?

But David, keep throwing the mud.
    What mud am I throwing? What happens outside the ground is completely beyond the remit and control of Derry City FC so it is certainly not a dig at Derry or their supporters . I have heard Eircom League club supporters mentioning that they have been attacked outside the ground which is why I said it is unpredictable.

Page 3 of 6 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast