Thread: UCD v Bohs on Newstalk 106

UCD v Bohs on Newstalk 106

Match live this pm, or so it is alleged. Fair play to them. Don't know what RTE is doing.

I've been scouring the meejia for preview coverage. There are all of two pars in the Mirror. Haven't seen the Star, though. Times, Indo, Cork (when it comes to football) Examiner have precisely nothing, obviously saving their energy for another 'What's wrong with Irish football' analysis.

There's a bit about the team news in the Times below the Shels v Waterford report. All about UCD mind you, not a mention of anything Bohs related.

Anyway this is nothing new from our national media. But grumbling will get us nowhere. Many people here are connected to the clubs...why not arrange to have previews and team news published on foot.ie or in the blog, or your own blog, or send it to us at Walk The Chalk and we'll start publishing it, or if you're involved in a your club's site organize an RSS feed so we can all subscribe to the team news. Media by the fans for the fans etc (but maybe without the silly fanzine style blinkered view of things).
    Last edited by el punter; 29/07/2006 at 12:33 PM.
    www.WalkTheChalk.com - Stats, Opinion & Bluster on Irish Club Football

http://www.newstalk106.ie/

Just click to listen live!

Peno in the last minute agaisnt UCD
    For all your League of Ireland news - www.extratime.ie

Bohs, in the last minute, Dessie Byrne scores from the peno spot!!!
    For all your League of Ireland news - www.extratime.ie

Well deserved. Would have been a travesty if we hadn't taken three points.

Quote Originally Posted by el punter
    There's a bit about the team news in the Times below the Shels v Waterford report. All about UCD mind you, not a mention of anything Bohs related.

Anyway this is nothing new from our national media. But grumbling will get us nowhere. Many people here are connected to the clubs...why not arrange to have previews and team news published on foot.ie or in the blog, or your own blog, or send it to us at Walk The Chalk and we'll start publishing it, or if you're involved in a your club's site organize an RSS feed so we can all subscribe to the team news. Media by the fans for the fans etc (but maybe without the silly fanzine style blinkered view of things).
    You can call it grumbling if you like. I think of it as pointing out the shocking deficiencies of Irish media.
    With all due respect for your blog, ELP, and the online efforts of others (including my own modest contribution -- see sig.) I think a few inches in the Indo or a few seconds on RTE carry more weight at this point in media evolution.

100% agree with you that the media deficiencies are indeed shocking, but I don't expect it to change. Having said that I'd still like to get the information...and some people here certainly have the information but perhaps not the facilities or motivations to broadcast it. I'm just calling on them to help fill the gap that the national media have shamefully allowed to exist.

Back on topic....just isn't going UCD's way lately is it?
    www.WalkTheChalk.com - Stats, Opinion & Bluster on Irish Club Football

International Prospect DmanDmythDledge's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by el punter
    Back on topic....just isn't going UCD's way lately is it?
    Story of my life.

One positive from today something approximating to a first Eleven took the field for the first time all season.

Quote Originally Posted by CollegeTillIDie

One positive from today something approximating to a first Eleven took the field for the first time all season.
    No. Shorthall was out and Tony Mc was forced to play CB. Kavanagh is our best RWM, imo.

The defence last week conceded six you couldn't expect it to remain the same !

Ye but that was a shock result- it's not like we're sh!t or anything. But the point is it wasn't our best XI.

Well Alan Mahon is first choice right back and Conor Kenna is the first choice left back this season Darragh Ryan would probably be first choice left winger and Paul Byrne would have been first choice to play upfront had he been fit.
    Ronan Finn was expected to be a regular player this season and had he not been injured probably would have been. That was kind of what I meant.
    But even with your suggestions... that is now possible for next week.

Well Alan Mahon is first choice right back and Conor Kenna is the first choice left back this season Darragh Ryan would probably be first choice left winger and Paul Byrne would have been first choice to play upfront had he been fit.
    Ronan Finn was expected to be a regular player this season and had he not been injured probably would have been. That was kind of what I meant.
    But even with your suggestions... that is now possible for next week.
    Paul Byrne was playing.

Don't see how you could have Finn in instead of Tony Mc or Dicker.

It wasn't our first choice XI- you can't argue that.

Quote Originally Posted by BohsBohsBohs
    John Paul Kelly... what a performance.
    Simply brilliant. I thought Devlin was brilliant too, but he needs people to link up with. Leech looked promising.

3,220 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by BohDiddley
    Well deserved. Would have been a travesty if we hadn't taken three points.
    Nonsense. Bohs were the better team and if anyone deserved to win, it was them, but it would have been no travesty had youz not won. You created feck all during the game - think Quigley had one save to make - and the penalty was dubious at best.

We didn't look like scoring. If Belfield Park was a brothel and our team arrived sober, got the girls drunk and naked and brought the Dalymount Park wage budget, they still wouldn't have scored unless the maitre d' undressed the lads and manhandled them into the workers, and that's what happened last night effectively. Thanks ref.
    I got no lips I got no bones where there
    were eyes there's only space

I think if you look at the video you might change your view.
    http://www.bohemians.ie/goals.htm#2006
    While we certainly didn't create many chances, it's pretty unfair on Quigley to say he only made one save. He made two or three good stops, and one superb one with his toe.

21 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by BohDiddley
    I think if you look at the video you might change your view.
    http://www.bohemians.ie/goals.htm#2006
    While we certainly didn't create many chances, it's pretty unfair on Quigley to say he only made one save. He made two or three good stops, and one superb one with his toe.
    Yep - that's a definite penalty (can see it clearly on the replay at 2mins45seconds)
    Mahon is wrong with his 'ball to hand - hand to ball' quote too - I WISH people would read the bloody rule book