Thread: Mooney strikes again

Angry Mooney strikes again

35 yard speculative, harmless shot....goes in under his legs...lost 1-0.

I feel for him, what a howler..

After having lost our sixth league match in seven I seriously believe that NOC is not capable of leading Limerick to the new Premiership this season or in the future. As the poll below shows, which was put up almost exactly 8 months to the day, there are quiet a few who felt this way back then. I wonder whether they would still agree with me now and feel that we need new management if we no longer want to languish in the graveyard of Irish football.

http://foot.ie/showthread.php?t=31804&highlight=poll
    If you don't like John 3:7...
    There's always Limerick 37!

IMO we need Paul Finnucane back, an experienced striker who scores goals consistantly and a new manager. Repeat of last season, good start, false dawn, downward spiral.

Im baffled how yee have been top for so long.I thought yee were abysmal back in March and i still think the same.No direction at all from any of yere players.Yee were trounced in the 1st half and could have been down by a few.Second half yee improved but never looked like scoring.The only thing in yere favour isd the excellent start yee had.Yere still well in the race but not for long i'd say!
    www.galwayunitedfc.net -----New GUFC fans forum and Gust Website.

Europe's Big Club.
    "Cause Galway are MASSIVE"-RW Rover on 24/8/07 00:29am

NOC isn't good enough and we marked his card ages ago, like you said. I haven't been posting anything negative, in case of being lambasted cos we're up near the top. But I can say that I still think our quality of football is quite poor and not good enough to make the premier. NOC would be lost in the Premier anyway. He's still tactically inept and that can be seen clearly as we are struggling again as we enter the business end of the season.

The fans are still staying away because of the style of football. Even the Leeds game was dour, and that was supposed to be an advertisment for the watching barstoolers. Not good....

Easy to see how ye lose by so few goals. ye played the offside rule better than arsenal!
    "Are those my feet" Fr Jack Hackett

Cool Mooney slips up again

Quote Originally Posted by joeSoap
    35 yard speculative, harmless shot....goes in under his legs...lost 1-0.

I feel for him, what a howler..
    Its beyond me how the man is still in goals when he keeps coming up with these howlers... Theres better keepers in this town that could do a lot better and would keep there legs closed..... Noel o connor better look else where for a more reliable keeper..

Quote Originally Posted by foot2
    Its beyond me how the man is still in goals when he keeps coming up with these howlers... Theres better keepers in this town that could do a lot better and would keep there legs closed..... Noel o connor better look else where for a more reliable keeper..
    I think that was meant to say 'Noel O Connor better look elsewhere for a new job'. Christ it almost makes me happy to be living in Dublin away from that team, well it would except for the roaming band of junkies outside this internet cafe window right now

its all gone pear shaped these last few weeks,we'll be lucky not to finish in the bottom 3 with this kind of form.

there is still time to get out of the downward spiral ye are in. The positive I seen in the limerick team would be, They are looking much fitter than when I seen them last with Derek McCarty the biggest improvement, the team can play as a unit with them finding it easy to play the simple ball to make ground going forward, ye controlled midfield for large periods of the match and as tir oilean said yer defence were as tight as the old arsenal used to be. Negatives would be, dodgy keeper, poor imaginative forwards and yer wingers dont like running the line with every attack during the 90 minutes going straight inside and kept running into the brick walls of Foley and Charles.

Its a pity yer 2 games in hand are against the top 2 teams in the division.

Good Luck, except against us!!!

"Yee were trounced in the 1st half and could have been down by a few"
    This is absolutely not true. The chances in the first half were pretty much even.

Quote Originally Posted by JW.
    "Yee were trounced in the 1st half and could have been down by a few"
    This is absolutely not true. The chances in the first half were pretty much even.

Thanks JW i didnt want to say it cos yes we lost and we didnt play well, but i didnt think Galway were too hot either. Also JW will you give your views on your attendance, i see a figure of over 1100 on the attn link on the main page. I would have thought a figure close to 600/650 myself.

gael,
    I thought it was about 1,000 myself but there is no reason to doubt the official attendance (which seems to be accurate every week) or 1,150 or so. I thought ye played okay but not alot in attack really. Defensively pretty sound.

JW tell me how it was not a one way show in the 1st half?
    Tell me one clear cut chance Limerick had in the whole match?
    Do you not remember Barry's miss?
    Also our midfield was good on Friday.You're totally unjust in saying we lost the battle there.

Gael how could you think there was 650 there?
    Unlike other clubs our official attendances are accurate and if anything give a lower figure than the real attendance.It doesn't include all the U-12's that get in for free.
    1300 at the game overall i's day.10 Limerick fans.
    www.galwayunitedfc.net -----New GUFC fans forum and Gust Website.

Europe's Big Club.
    "Cause Galway are MASSIVE"-RW Rover on 24/8/07 00:29am

Quote Originally Posted by Conor H
    JW tell me how it was not a one way show in the 1st half?
    Tell me one clear cut chance Limerick had in the whole match?
    Do you not remember Barry's miss?
    Also our midfield was good on Friday.You're totally unjust in saying we lost the battle there.

Gael how could you think there was 650 there?
    Unlike other clubs our official attendances are accurate and if anything give a lower figure than the real attendance.It doesn't include all the U-12's that get in for free.
    1300 at the game overall i's day.10 Limerick fans.
    Wasn't at the game(obviously) but try looking at it without yer maroon glasses on and maybe it was a bit different like JW and gael are trying to tell ya? .

I remember Barry's miss. I can't remember any other good chance we had. Our goal couldn't even be considered a chance.
    Limerick nearly scored just after we scored and I remember the ball being cleared off the line as well. I genuinely think the midfield is performing adequately at best.

1,552 Posts
    Was at the match as a neutral and to be honest thought it was dire. Both teams, like pretty much everyone I've seen in the first this year, were depressingly negative and played little in the way of football.

Galway played a little bit before the goal but after that it was painful to watch. That said the three points is all that matters and United took them, but they'll need to be better than that if they're to win this division.

Would agree that the crowd didn't seem like 1000, as looking at the stand from the far side there didn't seem to be many in it. There was a lot scattered around the ground though, so I guess the official attendance wasn't too far out.

37 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Galway Harps
    Was at the match as a neutral and to be honest thought it was dire.
    Indeed Galway Harps. Bit of an understatement. It was worse than that. However, a win is a win is a win.

With regard to Conor H's comments about GUFC winning the midfield battle, he was spot on. We had 51% of posession and Limerick had 49%.

The attendance was given as 1152 (which includes Season Tickets holders and kids who get in free). Mr Club Shop (howya Tom!) reckons that there were almost 400 match programmes sold so does this mean that every third person buys the programme?
    Nobody knows us, we don't care

Its always hard to judge a crowd at a place you dont visit that often. For example if the stand was half empty, there would still be over 850 people in it !

I agree with Conor H Lims had feck all in the first half however Utd's efforts tailed off significantly after the goal. On the attendance the official attendance as supplied to the press (as it is at every home game) was 1130 plus the free kids. Everyone has a different outlook on predicting crowds.
    "Are those my feet" Fr Jack Hackett