OSO is that you dancing in the suit in the thin lizzy video?
killer moves man.
A couple of my favorites.
Boomtown Rats in 1978( The state of them) and Thin Lizzy from 1977 laying it down!.
Did you ever notice that in every painting of Adam & Eve, they have belly buttons. Think about that...take as long as you want.
OSO is that you dancing in the suit in the thin lizzy video?
killer moves man.
Eh, no! I did wear some whacked out stuff back in the day, but I couldn't do a gimp like that lad. Ah yeah, dancin' and throwin' shapes I was.Originally Posted by paul_oshea
Did you ever notice that in every painting of Adam & Eve, they have belly buttons. Think about that...take as long as you want.
I do and I remember the Fureys signing "When you were Sweet Sixteeannn"Originally Posted by Metrostars
Forget about the performance or entertainment. It's only the result that matters.
Originally Posted by paul_oshea
Hardly over - hyped
Most people i know dont like Oasis
Of course it hasnt been fashionable to like them in a decade so they can be easily dismissed but IMO Noel is a fine songwriter very underrated
At the time the BBC wouldn't allow the words "puss and grime ooze from scab crusted sores" in the first verse to be used on air so the words for TOTP's and the Single as aired on BBC is not the version that was sold in Record Shops. Honestely haven't a clue what the new words were but watch Geldof as he mimes the original with some sort of botch jobs sound over the "offensive lyrics".Originally Posted by strangeirish
http://pix.ie/widgets/generate/accou...000-F5F5FF.jpg
"It's time for the FAI to grow up." John O'Donoghue, Minister for Sport, RTE , Sunday 7 Nov 2004
favourite moments from TOTP, havent watched it in years though...
Oasis's first performance of Live Forever - bought the album and was converted on that performance
this from wikipedia.org
While performing their 1982 hit "Jackie Wilson Said" the band Dexys Midnight Runners were seen performing in front of a projection of the darts player Jocky Wilson. This was a deliberate joke by the band and the production staff, but many people (including, apparently, host David Jensen) didn't realise this and thought it was a genuine mistake. Despite this, to this day, many TV nostalgia shows and other sources still claim this was an error.
Classic!![]()
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Top_of_the_pops
Says it all! Was there any famous bands which never appeared on TOTP?
'Fascists dress in black and go round telling people what to do, where as priests.....'
Arctic Monkeys havent appeared have they?
not yet gustavo,cant see them lowering themselves to that level.Wouldnt appear on the brits last year(fair play).best raw energy band since the specials imo.i remember them in 1980 doing 'too much too young' live.best memory i have of totp by far
Waiting to see any Irish bands on TOTP in the 1970's you could be waiting a long time back then. Lizzy , Boomtown Rats, even Foster and Allan ( a bit embarrassing). I used to leg it home at lunch on a Tuesday to hear the official British Chart on BBC Radio 1 at 1 p.m. then there would be the US Top 20 on Radio Luxembourg on a Wednesday and Larry Gogan's Irish Chart run down during the evening I think on Thursday.
Pop Music used to be exciting and of a fairly decent standard and Singles were relevant. Sadly they are no longer relevant and are just issued to promoted Albums nowadays normally.
The Smiths were on TOTP a few times and never disappointed. On Morrisey's first appearance with The Smiths, he wore a wooly cardigan, thick black framed glasses and a hearing aid. He looked so silly that he actually looked cool.
Some of the songs tha The Smiths brought to the Top Ten had titles like "Shoplifters Of The World United", "Girlfriend In A Coma" and " Heaven Knows I'm Miserable Now".
The Smiths split in 1987 and are still played on daytime radio.
(If you want an introduction to The Smiths, buy the album The Queen Is Dead)
Nobody knows us, we don't care
Found the programme disappointing and Tony Blackburn talking about himself all the time irritating and Jimmy Saville just acting the clown he always did.
No Police, Gary Glitter (although the latter now knows the former), Donny Osmond and other icons of a generation (for good or bad) and no Irish other than U2 (there was a glimpse of Geldorf though).
Hard I suppose to fit 40 years of music history into an hour.
So farewell then TOP OF THE POPS.......................![]()
Forget about the performance or entertainment. It's only the result that matters.
Well most great bands of the last 40 years have played on it so i dont see how they would have been lowering themselves!Originally Posted by antofact
Musical nostalgia time with MTV being 25 years old too. Cant remember the last time I watched so cant really say I'd miss it but farewell and that...end of an era. Incidentally has their ITV rival, CD:UK gone the same way too?
'Fascists dress in black and go round telling people what to do, where as priests.....'
ah lads and lassies i think top of the tops is no longer with us!!! closed up shop this summer