Thread: Real Threat or Free Holiday for Garda?

Quote Originally Posted by NY Hoop
    True but the old bill in full regalia is something new. Looked weird in Cologne have to say........

There is Irish diplomatic staff on duty at every Ireland away game.

How do you go about applying for a job in the diplomatic corp?? Im available on a partime basis generally 1st or 2nd weekends in Sept Oct mid Nov etc.

reder
    Dont really think there is anything to worry about. Rubbish paper talk. Last time I saw trouble at an Ireland away game was in Russia where russian nutters went mental. The german hoolies might lose it if they dont win and half of the stadium is populated with drunken irish fans singing. Anyway if it does ko all the package folk sitting in the german section will cry off, come home and spend the next week ringing Joe Duffy about their shocking experience.

Quote Originally Posted by Forever Dreamin
    How do you go about applying for a job in the diplomatic corp?? Im available on a partime basis generally 1st or 2nd weekends in Sept Oct mid Nov etc.
    I'd say best bet is to emigrate to some really small country with no irish embassy & offer to setup & staff a consulate office?

57 Posts
    The English police were in Germany for obvious reasons. There have been great steps taken to eradicate hooliganism from the English support. I wore my Irish shirt to 2 England game sin Germany. i couldn't open my mouth at England v Cameroon in Naples in 1990.

If the guards have some special info then i don't think they would be telling the Herald.

Any Garda trip to Stuttgart would be a jolly.

No doubting the general crowd followiing England has changed hugely over the last 10 years.

Quote Originally Posted by Forever Dreamin
    http://www.dfa.ie/aboutus/employment/j08.asp
    Full time only, sorry...

Well of course it is pure fantasy. Its the herag ffs............
    Lads, there was a plan by a load of neo-fascists ( over on a metal forum an irish one ) to deface the statue to phil lynott outside bruxelles, until the guards got wind of it.....so its not as unrealistic as you all may think.

in this case it probaly is a load of ******....but you never know, just becase WE are ireland, doesnt mean it doesnt, can't and wont happen.....
    Last edited by paul_oshea; 28/07/2006 at 10:02 AM.

Quote Originally Posted by paul_oshea
    Lads, ( why is it always the shamrock fans that deny it straight away ) there was a plan by a load of neo-fascists ( over on a metal forum an irish one ) to deface the statue to phil lynott outside bruxelles, until the guards got wind of it.....so its not as unrealistic as you all may think.

in this case it could well be a load of ******....but you never know, just becase WE are ireland, doesnt mean it doesnt, can't and wont happen.....
    Simply because they make stuff up about our fans and print it. Any football fan who goes to league games here knows that it is completely unrealistic.

You know the old saying "the bigger the lie the more it will be believed"? Well that applies to the herag readership who will believe anything.

Articles like this are dangerous and could cause German elements to react by coming out in numbers to respond to this fabricated threat. I knew the herald was prone to writing lies about eL fans but they're going out of their way to make a story here. Ireland is a small place where football is concerned so if there was anything planned or any noises being made, we'd have heard about it before the herald.

The sooner that rag folds, the better!

Articles like this are dangerous and could cause German elements to react by coming out in numbers to respond to this fabricated threat.
    Thats, what i would be worried about too.

Cannot see ANY truth in this tripe story........if the German "element" didn't manage to organise a tea party with the Ingerrlund Mob (or the Dutch ) during the WC, then surely they won't find much kudos in tackling a few mis-guided paddies!!

812 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by WeAreRovers
    Of course, loads of fans were even visited by their local Football Intelligence Officer in their local pubs before the WC and told exactly what was going to happen in Germany. Then again, they're miles ahead in the UK when it comes to policing football.
    They kind of have to be.
    You can't spell failure without FAI

Quote Originally Posted by paul_oshea View Post
    ..... but maybe if there had been and the gardai had help foil something before would we be aware of it?

are you serious!! you are talking about the same gardai who are still unable to foil drunken violence in every city and town centre in this country every sat night even though it happens in exact same locations for over 20 years!!!!

There was also presence of police from portugal, italy and other countries at the world cup. Maybe its just become common practice although I dont think that it would be necessary for Germany vs. Ireland. Dont think there has ever been any bad words between the two football nations.
    The papers did the same when we played in Glasgow in 2003. Hundreds of hooligans from Germany were expected to go over to have a go at the english who were supposed to come up to support scotland (just shows you how little they know).

We ended up having a huge party with the scots, drink in the same pubs and brought some colour to the streets of glasgow ............

Quote Originally Posted by grounded View Post
    There was also presence of police from portugal, italy and other countries at the world cup. Maybe its just become common practice although I dont think that it would be necessary for Germany vs. Ireland. Dont think there has ever been any bad words between the two football nations.
    The papers did the same when we played in Glasgow in 2003. Hundreds of hooligans from Germany were expected to go over to have a go at the english who were supposed to come up to support scotland (just shows you how little they know).

We ended up having a huge party with the scots, drink in the same pubs and brought some colour to the streets of glasgow ............
    stayed in edinburgh that nite and had great crack with both hearts and hibs supporters on th etrain back and in the pubs, mind you had to buy a paper to find out who scored for ireland the following morning, some f***** hangover