Thread: 3-2

3-2

Finally we've turned them over - of course we didn't seem to make it easy for ourselves if those goals scored times are correct on aertel. So that's six goals from the new signings in two games. Second in the table I reckon - well that's all the obvious stuff out of the way. So if someone is on here before 11 bells Irish time could they post the team before I finish work over here.
    Effenberg played like my grandmother!

shedboy
    Ya could someone throw up the team and some info on the match!! For us poor unfortunate folks in North America.The only good thing is i still have a long day to celebrate the result, doesn't make up for missing it though.Ah well off to the offi me things.Wonder if they have galvin's in Canada??

John O' Flynn got two goals and Billy Woods got one after he came on for Mucky. UCD scored from a one-on-one and a penalty and Devine saved another.
    The starting team was:

Devine
    Hoggy - Gareth - Napier - Carey
    Warren - Bennett - O'Brien - Mucky
    Flynn - O' Callaghan

shedboy

Devine
    Carey Napier Cronin Horgan
    Mulconroy CT O'Brien Bennett Warren
    George
    O'Flynn

Woods for Mucka 36min ( Mucka did nothing wrong, but something had to be done)
    Reynolds for Colin 2nd half.

Center mid was definitely a problem and Conor/Greg/Rennie will probably take over fairly soon.
    Carey at right back was dodgy and if Greg misses out on centre mid, he could take over at RB

Ref was Jim O'Neill.
    I know we all have " wrost refereeing ever" favs, but this one is now top of my list.
    Did anyone get a good look at the second peno for UCD? I saw nothing wrong.

As for Doyle #7 - how was he not sent off!!

Did O'Neill blow up for a free and then change his mind to allow Flynny in to score?

Two games, six goals - and none of them a fluke....

Great Match

Very entertaining Match.

City started out well and scored a great goal, if perhaps somewhat lucky- Gaz took a free looked like he was going for goal but John O'Flynn took a gamble and ran into the box, he got his head to and beat Ryan.

City were in controll but a defensive error, Gaz I think, let UCD player in on goal and he went round Devine and taped in. UCD started to get on top after that and got a peno. Bennett took out one of their players but Super Keeper saved it!!

City's second was a beauty, Carey send in one of the best crosses you will ever see and Billy volleyed home, I think it was his first touch

O'Flynn got his second by rounding Ryan after the ref Played a great advantage.

UCD got another peno, but this time it wasn't deserved, looked to me like the City player got a great touch on the ball but the ref gave the peno and UCD scored it.

Great crowd and craic there again I 'd say the crowd was just as good if not better than the Shels game.

Bring on the FAI Cup match

There will be some crowd at the Rovers match in a few weeks time!!
    Oh no not them again

Great stuff! Referee allowed an advantage for O'Flynn's goal according to that soccercentral report above. Has they the great mystery of CCFC been resolved - the ability to score goals - and good goals from the sound of things. Well I'm off home and proudly hitting Boston tonight in my City shirt!!
    Effenberg played like my grandmother!

shedboy
    Am thinking vancouverb might see a tricolour with Cork City F.C. shed on tour tonight!!!!!!

Lightbulb i actually thought

that it wasnt a great performance. O'callaghan did nothing much but stroll around the pitch all night. ild say he has a bit of a temper as well. O'Flynn looks like a really good find and can put away his chances. U.C.D were a little unlucky although where did the ref get their second penalty from? i didnt see anything. funnily enough i though that alan caryy played alright. my cork player of the match was Stephan Napier who put in one of his best ever performances in a city shirt. great to see another large crowd. 5000-6000? the atmosphere was a bit muted though. i think this summer soccer lark is really going to work. who wants to go to match at -4c?

shedboy
    Cork City
    Cork City
    Cork City
    Just home this pacific time mightn't be abad thing when it comes to celebrating good results just hope they keep coming!!!!

U know, I could also have sworn that Jimmy blew for a free and the next thing he was waving his arms in advantage!! Either way though it was a great advantage.
    Jack

i watched the match from the stannes end and i taught the match was quite poor .the shed was dead and the scum from the city were out in force throwing rubbish onto the pitch and being general knackers,there were these guys ****in me off 4 the whole match and ****inm every1 in the general area off too.the nearest steward u ask? donie forde section c.
    -ill add that i bust a seat pretty good-
    j'accuse!

Originally posted by ccfcman
    -ill add that i bust a seat pretty good-
    that was a good idea. Whats the point in giving out about people behaving like knackers when you go and say you've done that?!

Re: i actually thought

Originally posted by eoinh
    great to see another large crowd. 5000-6000?
    When was the last time -if ever- we ahd that kind of crowd against UCD?

Originally posted by ccfcman
    ill add that i bust a seat pretty good

Personally i hope that someone saw you and you get banned from the ground for doing something as "mature" as that you knacker scum clown.

Thumbs up great atmosphere

In the Shed last night for the UCD game, it was very alive, lots of great songs and chants and Moses was in fine abusive form as usual. The crowd numbers were very encouraging and the new summer league is a really good idea as there are no English soccer distractions. Nice to see lots of families in the new enclosure too.

Thumbs up Good stuff

5000 or so against UCD? whats the world (well eL anyway) coming to? I suppose if the goals keep on flowing the crowds will definitely return.

If we had Bohs or Pats coming up soon we'd probably fill the cross.

Must be along long time since we scored 3 against UCD + greg, conor, reynolds to return too.

ccfc made hard work of it. the UCD number 7 (can't remember his name now) had a blinder and I thought we were poor in midfield and in defence. still thought the game really woke up when flynn scored the third goal and ucd got the peno.

we definitely could do with a change in midfield. fair play to gunther for bringing on woods when he did as mucky was having a stinker.

is john flynn class or what? himself and devine were super. carey looked great going forward but was given a roasting in the first half
    john flynn? - awesome!!!!!!

I thought that the atmosphere was great until the equaliser, then it went a bit flat, although the Shed really picked themselves up for the 2nd half, so fair dues to everyone concerned there, coz there was nothing really to shout about until O'Flynn's winner when the game really shot to life. The ref had a stinker, the Shed & O'Flynn had blinders, our midfield is very poor - Warren didnt do much, those in the centre wernt at the match at all and Billy was good when he got the ball which wasnt very often. I think that George is a bit tempremental alright, like the way Olli€ was, but I think that he just gets frustrated at the long ball going over the top. He had some fantastic tutches in the 2nd half that maybe the Shed missed. The empty vessicles, I mean the kids, were in fine voice again, congrats to those running that, its a fantastic success.

PS Did that drunk feen in the Shed for the 1st half pi$$ anyone off big time aswell?
    As I say, we're just young & a bit nieve.

the long ball stuff was getting on my goat alright. consdering we have 4 lovely ball players in warren, woods, flynn and george could someone tell gunther to play it a bit on the ground.

i think the ucd showed a lot of flaws in our game. still though bring on the cup
    john flynn? - awesome!!!!!!