Thread: First Division

Quote Originally Posted by 1 9 2 8
    With the league so tight this year you would expect the crowds to be a lot better then they are.
    ours are resonable and we are bringing the locals out everywhere we play.

100 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Roverstillidie
    ours are resonable and we are bringing the locals out everywhere we play.
    In fairness, I thought there would be far more Rovers fans at the game yesterday.

We are a transformed team from the one at the start of the season. I am very confident indeed.

Quote Originally Posted by holidaysong
    In fairness, I thought there would be far more Rovers fans at the game yesterday.

We are a transformed team from the one at the start of the season. I am very confident indeed.
    1,200 of us, 200 of you. same as when we met in the prem last.....

100 Posts
    1,200 of us, 200 of you. same as when we met in the prem last.....
    I guess I was just expecting about the same amount that was at the first match of the season. There must have been over 2,000 at that was there?

Quote Originally Posted by holidaysong
    I guess I was just expecting about the same amount that was at the first match of the season. There must have been over 2,000 at that was there?
    was the biggest crowd in dublin that weekend as i recall.

100 Posts
    was the biggest crowd in dublin that weekend as i recall.
    It was the best atmosphere I have ever witnessed in a First Division match. The result kind of spoilt things however!
    See you in Oriel!

37 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Battery Rover
    Its amazing three wins in a row two of them against the two poorest teams in the division and all of a sudden ye have gone from giving out about the team to being one of three teams that will win the championship in your opinion .

The jury is still out Battery Rover on Galway United. I suspect that De Town are due a good run too.

GUFC beat all of the top contenders too including Sham Rovers and Limerick. Our next two games are against Limerick and Rovers so we will have a clearer picture then!

I'd love it if both ATFC and GUFC went up!
    Nobody knows us, we don't care

If Monaghan are a poor outfit, what was there last 2 results before the match against Galway?

84 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Terry
    If Monaghan are a poor outfit, what was there last 2 results before the match against Galway?

I left myself open for that one

We played that bad even Mick McCann scored against us

Follow Us on Facebook and Twitter

Goes to show that Lavine does make a difference for ye, missing that match, to return the following weekend and beating Limerick !!!!

84 Posts
    Agreed he makes a big difference. Great at holding he ball up for people to run through but a loose cannon as you all know. He is suspended for the match against Cobh on the 5th of August as well. We need another one up front that can hold the ball as well.

Our Tuesday matches havent been going well for us. Lost 1-0 to Kildare, 4-0 to Monaghan and I think we have to play monaghan on a Tueday again. Theres 3 points for you magicme.
    Last edited by Battery Rover; 25/07/2006 at 7:52 AM.

Follow Us on Facebook and Twitter

Hey but I am out of hospital so they will probably lose! When I am in hospital the lads seem to play better....me being at the games must distract them!

Saying the first division is "tight" is a bit like when GAA people describe the latest outbreak of violence at Croke Park as "exciting" - it merely hides the fact that the standard of play is appalling.

The Rovers v Dundalk game on Sunday was probably the worst game of football I have ever seen in my life, and I include UCD Superleague games in that.

That Dundalk are considered title contenders says a lot. A team of overweight kickers who have lost something like 8 games and they are still in with a shout.

I reckon it's between Rovers and Galway, but, as has been said, I think winning this division is purely about pride. Both teams will probably go up regardless.
    Champions.
    16 leagues & 24 cups.

Quote Originally Posted by Passive

The Rovers v Dundalk game on Sunday was probably the worst game of football I have ever seen in my life, and I include UCD Superleague games in that.
    You my man have led a charmed life!

Think Shams or Limerick will finish in the top 2, then Dundalk, Cobh and Athlone to fight for the next three spots.

115 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by sligoman
    Think Shams or Limerick will finish in the top 2, then Dundalk, Cobh and Athlone to fight for the next three spots.
    And United to finish sixth yeah?! Ha ha you've got to love these sligo muppets!

Can't wait til we're in the Premier next season and get to thump you again!
    I phoned the speaking clock to hear a voice speak, it said - "At the tone you will be very much alone"

Quote Originally Posted by sligoman
    Believe it or not Sligoman i won't fall for the bate.
    pathetic!
    www.galwayunitedfc.net -----New GUFC fans forum and Gust Website.

Europe's Big Club.
    "Cause Galway are MASSIVE"-RW Rover on 24/8/07 00:29am

Quote Originally Posted by Conor H
    Believe it or not Sligoman i won't fall for the bate.
    pathetic!
    They get promoted and win a few games and they get all cocky and condescending,you can rest in the knowledge that you'll beat them in the premier next season and we'll beat the both of yous

koh
    No Comment.

Quote Originally Posted by dcfcsteve
    Great to see Irish football being so competitive at the moment. Much more fun than wondering which side of Easter Chelsea will have wrapped up that bore of an English league....
    Ha ha ha! Don't compare the premiership to the EL first division. Much more fun? You obviously don't go to many first division games. It is absolutely ABYSMAL stuff. In fact there isn't a superlative to describe how bad and boring it actually is. It's that bad, seriously. I should know, I'm a sucker for it most weeks......

Quote Originally Posted by 4tothefloor
    Ha ha ha! Don't compare the premiership to the EL first division. Much more fun? You obviously don't go to many first division games. It is absolutely ABYSMAL stuff. In fact there isn't a superlative to describe how bad and boring it actually is. It's that bad, seriously. I should know, I'm a sucker for it most weeks......
    It's true,it beggars belief!
    No Comment.