Page 20 of 170 FirstFirst ... 1018192021223070120 ... LastLast

Thread: Darron Gibson

253 Posts
    I don't agree with Ealing on everything, but it's hard to disagree with his assertion that Evans is in that elite first team group, and Gibson is very much on the fringes, more in a reserve/second team role.

And I'd also say that based on performances, Ferguson is bang on with his pecking order the way it is.

If somebody offered me one of Evans and Gibson, I'd probably go for Evans (at this stage).

Now that said, I'm happy we've got Gibson and I feel he's got the potential to become a good player for us, but sadly for him I think he'll have to move clubs if he's going to establish himself as a Premiership/European player.

284 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by BarelyLegal View Post
    Good point. Lots of other good points in fairness.
    Thank you.
    It's obvious that you have a huge bias toward the North
    No doubt. (In my experience, all fans are partial towards their own team to a certain extent)
    I would be of the opinion that the Republic have much more quality in general than the North at present
    Agree.
    but couldn't argue that when it comes to centre mid there's feck all in it
    Indeed.
    ....well with the players that Trapp has is using anyway.
    Exactly.
    For if S.Reid wasn't permanently injured, Carsley wasn't 30-something, A.Reid wasn't in Trap's bad books and S.Ireland, well, away with the fairies half the time, then Gibson wouldn't be within an Ass's Roar of getting into the ROI's senior team at present.

630 Posts
    Ealing Geen

Most of us are well aware that Evans is a more established player at UTD than Gibson for now anyway. The best of luck to the Lad and Gibson as well. Its no mean achievment to be anywhere near the first team panel at UTD.
    Hopefully Gibson will make the grade as well and from an International point of view have the honour and glory of displaying his footballing skills at that wonderful new stadium at Landsdowne RD.
    I would encourage all players from wherever they are on the island of Ireland to take the opportunity to regularly display their skills at our fantastic new stadium.
    It begs one to wonder do players like Jonny Evans regret his choice when he has to turn out at that shabby excuse for a stadium that is Wobbly Windsor Park

International Prospect Razors left peg's Avatar
    1,001 Posts
    [quote=SkStu;1111894]here is a typical discussion between Ealing Green and the rest of Foot.ie

Foot.ie Poster 1: fckin hell that Paddy might be a decent player in a few years

Ealing Green: no good, wouldnt make the NI team, snipe snipe snipe

Foot.ie Poster 2: ah now, come on lad, in fairness, all i said was

Ealing Green: snipe snipe snipe

Foot.ie Poster 3: ah come on now, seriously

Ealing Green: snipe snipe snipe

Foot.ie Poster 4: are you seriously saying Billy's better than Paddy?

Ealing Green: snipe-ity, snipe snipe, snippy snipe

Foot.ie Poster 5: FCK YOU, YOU ORANGE TINTED SO AND SO!

Ealing Green: BINGO!!!!! [quote], snipe, [quote], snipe, [quote], snipe,
    , snipe

Mod: Keep it on topic lads. FP#5, one week suspension...

Ealing Green: Where to next?....
    Have to say that made me laugh out loud, very very funny mate
    Its really not that complicated!!!

Hes just upset that the north are now a feeder club to the international team!

72 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by EalingGreen View Post
    Being of similar age and background (as well as good friends), Evans offers a very good comparison to Gibson.
    Evans, Gibson and Marc Wilson were all at the Man United youth academy in 2004, as well as Man U training camps prior to this, so all three know each other quite well.

Two out of three ain’t bad

20 Posts
    Gibson on the bench for the CL game today.
    There is no such thing as a miracle cure, a free lunch or a humble opinion.

2,796 Posts
    I'm surprised nobody picked up on this extract from the Mail article I posted previously (which in fairness was streets ahead of Irish papers & some posters here when it comes to capitalising north and south in the Irish context).

"When I got my chance with my country, I got it with my club."

214 Posts
    Central midfield is hardly more competitive at OT than centre back (imo), since each has five genuine contenders (i.e. internationals) for two slots:
    CM - Scholes, Carrick, Anderson, Hargreaves and Fletcher
    CB - Vidic, Ferdinand, Evans, O'Shea and Brown. (Plus Gary Neville can slot in there, if required, just like Giggs in CM)

Imo, had Hargreaves and Carrick not suffered so many injuries this season, Gibson wouldn't have got even so many games in CM as he has.
    O'Shea is a full back by trade and only plays centre back for us because we are so bare in that department. Wes Brown also had his best season at Man Utd when playing right back and I'm sure if he stayed fit this season then he'd be first choice right back. Evans is thus already third choice before the season had even started! One injury to Vidic/Ferdinand and he's straight in. Gibson on the other hand has a much tougher job on his hands (imo) to get that breakthrough. Obviously if he's good enough he'll make the grade but Fergie will test the waters (CL rubber games and Cup games) and once Scholes and Giggs start to fade away (from next season and beyond) hopefully Gibson chance will come and he can grab it with both hands.

I rate Evans and think he'll develop into a top player for club and country and hope Gibson does the same.

Quote Originally Posted by shakermaker1982 View Post
    O'Shea is a full back by trade
    centre back is his preferred position...
    Was he crazy!! Yeah , in a very special way , an Irishman.
    I slept, and dreamed that life was Beauty;
    I woke, and found that life was Duty.

284 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by seanfhear View Post
    Ealing Geen

Most of us are well aware that Evans is a more established player at UTD than Gibson for now anyway. The best of luck to the Lad and Gibson as well. Its no mean achievment to be anywhere near the first team panel at UTD.
    Hopefully Gibson will make the grade as well and from an International point of view have the honour and glory of displaying his footballing skills at that wonderful new stadium at Landsdowne RD.
    I would encourage all players from wherever they are on the island of Ireland to take the opportunity to regularly display their skills at our fantastic new stadium.
    It begs one to wonder do players like Jonny Evans regret his choice when he has to turn out at that shabby excuse for a stadium that is Wobbly Windsor Park
    Unless they're barking mad*, I somehow doubt that prospective international footballers will seek career advice from someone who imagines the state of the stadium is the key criterion in deciding which international football team to opt for...

* - Or possibly Stephen Ireland

386 Posts

Why the constant Stephen Ireland digs?

2,081 Posts
    O'Shea is a full back by trade and only plays centre back for us because we are so bare in that department. Wes Brown also had his best season at Man Utd when playing right back and I'm sure if he stayed fit this season then he'd be first choice right back. Evans is thus already third choice before the season had even started! One injury to Vidic/Ferdinand and he's straight in.
    That's not the point. O'Shea, Brown and Neville are still big options for centre back in a crisis and Evans has jumped above them in the pecking order for that position.

284 Posts
    O'Shea is a full back by trade and only plays centre back for us because we are so bare in that department. Wes Brown also had his best season at Man Utd when playing right back and I'm sure if he stayed fit this season then he'd be first choice right back. Evans is thus already third choice before the season had even started! One injury to Vidic/Ferdinand and he's straight in. .
    As Roger M has pointed out, O'Shea has always seen himself as a CB, as has Brown. The fact that they are versatile enough to play Full Back is one of the reasons they're valued by Ferguson (I imagine) and have got regular games.

Anyhow, the key to Evans' place in the pecking order at OT is actually to be found in the decision of Gerard Pique to leave MU. For it is quite clear that he saw himself as (at best) 4th choice CB at OT i.e. behind Evans.

For not only did Ferguson turn down a higher fee for Evans than that which he accepted for Pique, but he must also have persuaded Evans that he will get his chance soon enough at OT (Otherwise Evans would not have turned down a permanent move to Sunderland, on a hugely increased salary and with a guaranteed start in the team).

And if you want to know how good Pique is, consider this:
    1. He's 6'4" and a year older than Evans;
    2. He had already played a decent number of games for MU before leaving (more than Gibson?);
    3. He has already broken into the Barca team this season - the best team in Spain;
    4. Earlier this month he made his full debut for Spain - rated the best international team in the world at present.
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Gerard_Piqu%C3%A9

Gibson on the other hand has a much tougher job on his hands (imo) to get that breakthrough. Obviously if he's good enough he'll make the grade but Fergie will test the waters (CL rubber games and Cup games) and once Scholes and Giggs start to fade away (from next season and beyond) hopefully Gibson chance will come and he can grab it with both hands.
    As for Gibson, I agree that following his recent progress, he must have a reasonable chance of making it at OT. However, the definition of "making it" must include playing a bit part, like e.g. Brown or O'Shea (imo). For if/when Giggs and Scholes etc fade, it is just as likely that Ferguson will replace them by splashing out £10m or £20m on another Michael Carrick or Owen Hargreaves etc, as promote Gibson (imo).

Interesting to observe, mind, and quite something that a little place like NI can produce two prospects who can compete at a club which has the pick of the best young players from all around the world.

630 Posts

Talking

Unless they're barking mad*, I somehow doubt that prospective international footballers will seek career advice from someone who imagines the state of the stadium is the key criterion in deciding which international football team to opt for...

We will give you Stephen Ireland for Jonny Evans

Its a good deal honest

284 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by ifk101 View Post

Why the constant Stephen Ireland digs?
    Cos it's easy?

http://www.here.org.uk/2009/02/for-t...int-again.html

284 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by seanfhear View Post
    We will give you Stephen Ireland for Jonny Evans

Its a good deal honest
    I don't think Stephen Ireland qualifies for OWC, unless it's by the Granny Rule?

Mind you, if he changed his first name to "Norman", he'd at least sound as if he qualifies...

386 Posts
    Aye and there is a Stephen Ireland dedicated thread. Discussed before so move on EG. Anyways it's a bit unhealthy for an old man like you to be taking such an active interest in a young lad, no?

Topic of discussion is Gibson.

284 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by ifk101 View Post
    Anyways it's a bit unhealthy for an old man like you to be taking such an active interest in a young lad, no?
    And you accuse me of taking this thread off topic? Jeez, the implication of that comment is bizarre, if not downright creepy.
    Have you got bored with all those Swedish babes the country produces?

284 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by co. down green View Post
    Evans, Gibson and Marc Wilson were all at the Man United youth academy in 2004, as well as Man U training camps prior to this, so all three know each other quite well.

Two out of three ain’t bad
    On the basis that Quality trumps Quantity, you can have Gibson and Wilson, as "surplus to requirements"