Page 39 of 170 FirstFirst ... 2937383940414989139 ... LastLast

Thread: Darron Gibson

International Prospect Razors left peg's Avatar
    1,001 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by SkStu View Post
    anyone know where i might beable to watch the goals online?? They sound pretty good.
    http://www.tvgolo.com/football.php?s..._from=&ucat=40&
    Its really not that complicated!!!

229 Posts
    anyone know where i might beable to watch the goals online?? They sound pretty good.
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SJ7GmKiMna0
    I thought you were off the drink Ronnie?

"No, I drink to help me mind my own business....can I get you one? (c) Ronnie Drew

He can fairly kick the ball hard.
    I think I should the parachute, because I'm great.

In fact, I think I should get both parachutes, in case one doesn't work.

622 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Torn-Ado View Post
    He can fairly kick the ball hard.
    are you a dyslexic cavan man?

2,771 Posts
    cheers lads - nice strikes. I wonder if Trappatoni doesnt get as much out of him as he can due to the formation and tactics of the irish team - thats not a criticism by the way. He needs to push on now though at club level and seize the opportunities that Ferguson seems willing to give him. He'd be gone from Old Trafford by now if Ferguson didnt think he could do it.
    I like high energy football. A little bit rock and roll. Many finishes instead of waiting for the perfect one.

Quote Originally Posted by Acornvilla View Post
    are you a dyslexic cavan man?
    Eh, On.
    I think I should the parachute, because I'm great.

In fact, I think I should get both parachutes, in case one doesn't work.

Well done Darron - good way to silence yer doubters. Hopefully yer progress continues lad - should be an important part of our plans for 2012 and 2014.
    Finn Harps Dot Com
    www.finnharps.com

Formerly: vega007 Colbert Report's Avatar
    167 Posts
    Two great goals does not make a good player. Fair play to him but I've still yet to see any kind of consistency from him for either Ireland or Manchester United. Now is hardly the time to be declaring him a future Ireland and Manchester United captain. The lad isn't 18.

253 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Colbert Report View Post
    Two great goals does not make a good player. Fair play to him but I've still yet to see any kind of consistency from him for either Ireland or Manchester United. Now is hardly the time to be declaring him a future Ireland and Manchester United captain. The lad isn't 18.
    In fairness how is he to develop any consistency if he's playing one senior match every few weeks?

I'm not saying he's going to be a future Ireland captain or anything like that, but let's reserve judgement until we see him get a run of games before we hype him up or write him off.
    Eirebhoy's "We Love You" Chant. RIP:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=V7UfSbASyrQ

Formerly: vega007 Colbert Report's Avatar
    167 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by irishfan86 View Post
    In fairness how is he to develop any consistency if he's playing one senior match every few weeks?

I'm not saying he's going to be a future Ireland captain or anything like that, but let's reserve judgement until we see him get a run of games before we hype him up or write him off.

Simple answer. He needs to go out on loan and play week in and week out.

253 Posts
    No arguments here.
    Eirebhoy's "We Love You" Chant. RIP:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=V7UfSbASyrQ

2,796 Posts
    cheers lads - nice strikes. I wonder if Trappatoni doesnt get as much out of him as he can due to the formation and tactics of the irish team
    I think he plays within himself a lot. I only saw bits of the second half but with 2 goals under his belt he looked a lot more assertive and positve, playing more meaningful passes rather than just finding anyone in red. What I saw of him last night confirmed what I thought of him beforehand: really sweet passer and receives the ball well in tight situations.

229 Posts
    2 great strikes and some nice passes throughout the game.

Though has been mentioned on here many times, often throughout the game he would be at walking pace, not necessarily offering himself up for the pass. Needs a bit more dynamism about him - but all in all a good performance, confidence booster, hopefully he gets the start against Wolfsburg in the CL and he will have the Semi Finals in this cup to come as well. Momentum will start to build hopefully.

"No, I drink to help me mind my own business....can I get you one? (c) Ronnie Drew

1,928 Posts
    Not that I could see the game properly, squinting through Bet 365's little window but I thought his positioning and anticipation was good. He is a Trap type CM. Good control of the ball as well.
    Last edited by geysir; 02/12/2009 at 9:35 AM.

214 Posts
    Should do his confidence a world of good. Man Utd need a goal scoring midfielder more than ever and if he could step up to the plate it might save Fergie a few bob. I was saying on the Man Utd topic in the World forum yesterday it was a big game for him and he duly delivered.

214 Posts
    decent write up about Gibson here.

http://www.guardian.co.uk/football/b...ottenham-youth

Spurs centre midfield was woeful last night, first half particularly Jenas & Palacios were weak, giving posession away, and looked flat, no one closed Gibson down for either strike.
    Not sure if that's a testament to Gibson & Andersen or not but I thought Gibson did well, used the ball sensibly and took his chances (apart from his first attempt) well.

Patience is rewarded at United (see Fletcher & O'Shea). Sure we have been listening to retards write off those players for years; I actually think Fergie was right the other night when he defended his young team. People look to write off players, they think it shows some footballing insight or something I guess.

229 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by shakermaker1982 View Post
    Its a glowing report alright but in all honesty it only refers to the 2 great strikes plus the professional foul he committed on the half way line.

Quote Originally Posted by Junior View Post
    Its a glowing report alright but in all honesty it only refers to the 2 great strikes plus the professional foul he committed on the half way line.
    Its a crap article. The same journalist wrote him off last week after the Besiktas game. Usual fickle stuff really. Last week he was a Championship player, now he is the new Scholes.
    Last edited by Brendan 82; 02/12/2009 at 1:03 PM.