Thread: Shelbourne vs UCD

International Prospect DmanDmythDledge's Avatar

Shelbourne 6-0 UCD(******!)

Tony Mac, Alan Mahon and Paul Byrne are back in training, but will not be in the squad tonight. Same squad as Drogheda game so same team probably. The run of starts as seemed to be good for Doyle.

As for tonight I think we will give Shels a good game as always. I think we will definitely grab a goal(well fecking Waterford did!) but the key is how many we concede. Shels are capable of getting 3 or 4 against us if we switch off, but we should be able to limit the damage. I think Shels' form is too good at the moment and also we are struggling to put teams away lately.

2-1 Shels I say.
    Last edited by DmanDmythDledge; 21/07/2006 at 10:37 PM.

nil all draw i say
    "float like a butterfly,sting like a bee-his hands cant hit what his eyes cant see!"

30 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by ihatejam
    nil all draw i say
    6-0, close enough.

Fecking terrible display. 6-0- worst day of my life. Deserved to lose but not that bad.

Ah you did deserve it now lads....I hope to Christ that's not your normal keeper...
    The Model Club

Tell all the Bohs you know
    that we've gone and won two-in-a-row
    and it's not gonna be three
    and it's not gonna be four
    it's more likely to be 5-1.

It is but the outfield were worse than usual... a lot worse.

He had all night to save the last one beaten at the near post by Ndo and Cahill and a few hair brained clearances..

Some of the players looked shattered with ages left..
    The Model Club

Tell all the Bohs you know
    that we've gone and won two-in-a-row
    and it's not gonna be three
    and it's not gonna be four
    it's more likely to be 5-1.

71 Posts
    I thought we shaded the first half and actually played some nice football. Dicker imposed himself on the game in the first half and made some nice forward runs which he's always looked capable of but has rarely done. Second half was just a shambles. Shels scored some lovely goals and just bossed us off the park. I don't know why we collapsed so badly. I guess the early 2nd half goal killed our spirits off. Bizarre as it sounds, if we can keep playing like we did in the first half, particularly Gary Dicker, we'll do well. You've just got to suck it up and carry on after a day like today. Well done Shels.

3,488 Posts
    A disastrous second half collapse saw UCD slump to their heaviest defeat in five years, and their joint second heaviest defeat in senior football as a rampant Shels ran up six goals without reply at Tolka Park on Friday night.

Aware of Shels' recent form - their most recent win, a 5-1 hammering of Waterford, extended their run to ten wins in the last 11 in all competitions - Pete Mahon sent out the same team as against Drogheda (with the exception of Kieran Harte in for Alan Cawley), but with Pat McWalter deployed as a right-winger in a 4-5-1 formation.

The game started at a good pace, and Gary Dicker had the first real opening on ten minutes when a corner was cleared to where he waited, unmarked, on the edge of the area. However, the ball wouldn't come down to him quickly enough, and his shot was just deflected away for a corner. Two minutes later, Dicker was at the centre of things again when he found Conor Sammon free in the area with a nice pass; Sammon turned his man well, but took too long to shoot and a relieved Shels defence were able to clear.

A couple of minutes later again, and the difference between the two sides was highlighted. Darragh Ryan was found wanting at left back, allowing Jason Byrne behind the defence; his cross took out Darren Quigley and was sidefooted into an empty net by Glen Crowe.

The pace slowed down after that, as both sides were content to probe with series of passes not often seen in the league. UCD's best chance of the remainder of the half - and indeed the match - came after a passing move of some 20 passes and which ultimately saw Darragh Ryan pop up to skin his man on the Shels touchline, but his cross was too deep for Conor Sammon in the middle.

After the break, however, it was all much different. It took Shels just 20 seconds to extend their lead as Alan McNally carelessly gave the ball away to Glen Crowe on the edge of the area; he squared to Jason Byrne, unmarked 18 yards out, and he had no trouble driving past Darren Quigley.

Ten minutes later, it was all over as Joey Ndo went on a winding run past Conor Kenna, in along the touchline before drilling past Quigley from a narrow angle. As UCD heads dropped, Brian Shortall had to clear off the line before Ollie Cahill found the same corner of the net with a quarter of an hour left on the clock before the goal of the night five minutes later, when Glen Crowe took a ball on his chest 25 yards out and casually lobbed it over Quigley, who was by this stage having a nightmare of a game. And when Alan McNally was booked for a foul in the D, there was a sense of inevitability about what was about to happen; and it indeed came about as Jason Byrne drilled home under Quigley's grasp.

UCD did manage a late rally, and after a couple of corners, Ronan Finn saw his low drive from the edge of the area well turned away by Dean Delaney in the Shels net.

All in all, remarkable game of football given UCD's recent performances against Derry, Cork and Drogheda. Certainly, this was a night to forget completely, with the hope that a good many off days were taken at once!

UCD - Quigley; Kenna, Ryan, Shortall, McNally; Harte, Hurley (Cawley 85), Dicker, Doyle (Brophy 65); McWalter (Finn 85), Sammon. Subs not used - Last, Hussey.

Att - c 700
    Last edited by pineapple stu; 21/07/2006 at 11:36 PM.

I dont agree how you could have shaded the first half or even viewed it as close to 50/50!!

For me that 6-0 was looking likely from near enough the first whistle. Every Shels player got stuck in from the word go and I thought we were first to most balls and snapping at your heels all night long.

That performance from UCD does not just happen, its made to happen. Shels gave you no space and no time on the ball and as a result you were forced n error after error. Your defenders had no time to think and the amount of wasted possession that you kicked straight back to Shels was the result of some very hard work.

From 5 mins on it was just a matter of time for me as I could see the attitude was right in all them players and I sure as hell know they have the ability. I didnt think we would get to 6 but I knew you were in for a tough game early on.

Cant see how you got 50/50 out of the first half.

and wasnt it Ryan who crossed for Glens first???
    Same ball delivered about 10 times in the first half yet you failed to deal with it!
    John Delaney!! GET OUT!!!
    www.ssdg.ie

20 Posts
    This is the second 6-0 defeat I've missed. The first was to Bohemians way back when they were managed by a fine man by the name of Pete Mahon.

On that occasion my excuse was that I was getting up at half three the following morning for a flight to move to Scotland for a year.

Half an hour after full time of that match I checked Aertel and they had the score as 0-0!

I checked last night around half an hour after the end of the game but they actually got it right this time.
    Check out my new sports blog http://www.action81.com

Mean while Aidan O'Keefe scored 4 goals 2 miles away, all be it against Phoenix FC!

It's a funny old game.

Hahahahah Ucd ! :d

Eh.......?
    That was the worst I've ever seen them play. Like a bunch of amateurs playing the pros. Dicker looked OK I guess but that formation was a mess. I'm still kind of in shock.

Highlight for me was some of the local kids shouting abouse at the Dublin City fans "Ha ha, we beat ye 6-0". One of the auld fellas told his 10 yr old son to go over & deck one of them!
    Last edited by Colie; 23/07/2006 at 6:36 PM.
    "I always likened him to a Rolls Royce. You just used him once a week & he'd be flawless"
    Townsend on McGrath