Imo, Sligo were better and deserved the win. Quessionble refereeing in the build up to btoh Sligo goals but I thought yez would've gotten them anyway. Your man Mansaram is a reall gifted player. My Man of the match.
Can bray fans give ther take on the game?
heard ye were piling on the pressure in the last 20 mins or so?
Imo, Sligo were better and deserved the win. Quessionble refereeing in the build up to btoh Sligo goals but I thought yez would've gotten them anyway. Your man Mansaram is a reall gifted player. My Man of the match.
Extratime.ie
Yo te quiero, mi querida. Sin tus besos, yo soy nada.
Abri o portão de ouro, da maquina do tempo.
Mi mamá me hizo guapo, listo y antimadridista.
fair play superfrank.....you are spot on about Mansaram.Derry fans said the same about him and they know their stuff.Originally Posted by superfrank
what was the attendance like frank and how were our fans?
Dcent amount of Sligo fans. Very well behaved and seemed to be good fun.
I guess there was around 500 at it. Not too good.
Extratime.ie
heard rovers fans were in 2 different groups?is this true?
Did you notice the guy with the bodhran?
Yes and yes.
Extratime.ie
your full of detail anyway....
We started poorly and made a bit of a spurt before half time. But we didnt deserve anything the way we defended. What the fu*k were Wesley and Gifford doing for the first goal and who was supposed to be picking up Hughes when the ball came across (think it was from Keith Foy?)?Originally Posted by superfrank
Agree that Mansaram looked good, especially the way he went past defenders to score his goal, but thought that Keith Foy played well for Rovers.
If our defenders can stand up and pick up their men (big if, I know!) we can do them in the cup.![]()
Honest! I am not a secret Tim nor a closet Sham - I really am a Seagull.
Wesley Charles was one of yer best players tonight in my opinion. Our first goal was made by Keith Foy. The Bray player was clearly obstructing the ball but the ref wasn't giving anything so Foy never gave up and went in and took the ball off him, passed it across the goal to Hughes and he slots it into the net. No offence, but Bray are the worst team I've seen this season. That scoreline flattered ye, it could have been way more. Don't know what Judge was at trying to lob the keeper in that one on one situation, all he had to do was put it passed him, never mind showing off.
It doesn't suprise me that Bray are the worst team Sligoman has seen all season...some of our players are still trotting around as if they're in the First Division, and just can't keep up with the game. Even Caffo, who I would regard as one of our genuinely talented players, seems to be falling off the pace. I think they could all do with a week in one of those US "bootcamps". Franco was like a breath of fresh air tonight...he was sharp, committed, and played with a focussed passion missing from the Carlisle Grounds for quite a while now. I'd have to give his score tonight my Wanderers goal of the season, so far.
I'm not sure about Wes and McGovern playing together in the centre of defence...they're too similar...ie. error prone. We need a leader in there. That first Rovers goal was ridiculous...and all too reminiscent of others conceded this season...loads of players standing around looking at one another. Sligo's Mansaram was excellent, and I actually called him to score early on in the match...he seemed to have the measure of our lads.
Talking of Sligo supporters being in two different groups, there were a handful of lads with Dublin accents cheering on Rovers, and trying their best to act up to the leery football supporter stereotype. By the end of the match, I reckoned they're just come to the game to act the maggot, and supported neither team.
which group are you talking about...the group who were standing behind the goal at the bowling alley end or the lads beside the dugouts?Talking of Sligo supporters being in two different groups, there were a handful of lads with Dublin accents cheering on Rovers, and trying their best to act up to the leery football supporter stereotype. By the end of the match, I reckoned they're just come to the game to act the maggot, and supported neither team.
I see that alot of people are saying that Wes was our best player. Imo, it was Skippy played really well and made a brilliant save when he should've had a free kick.
Extratime.ie
Some of our more established players are letting us down. Particullary in midfield. Fox & Keogh were poor. Franco & Robbie linked up well together with little support from midfield. Defence is shocking - just hoofing the ball anywhere without trying to set up play. Skippy played well but his kicking gives the ball away all the time. Thought we could have got something out of it when Sligo missed those late chances. Reckon there was about 900 there with a good crowd from Sligo.
900...ha ha...about 300 and 50 from sligo
My head was wrecked after the game last night ! Few things that really fcuking annoyed me ! Sligo started slightly the better but we got back into it and created some really good chances that we should have taken. We did pretty ok in the st half and Doyle and Franco had some really nice interplay. Half time comes and McGuirk decides to change the formation, why ? we were creating chances and playing decent stuff, no worse than Sligo (who by the way play nice football). Puts Doyle to right wing and Foxy up front, was'nt working so he changed it back after 10/15 minutes. The game was fairly even with both sides creating chances..... Now i've never really liked as a ref but last night set it in stone for me, because some of the decisions he made, for both sides, were just plain silly and in the end cost us the game. Mansaram clearley fouled Wes (twice) AND Giffy in the lead up to the goal, then as Giffy was on the ground Foy was kicking him trying to get at the ball, how he did'nt give a free out or even a hot ball was just beyond me. The booking of Doyle was for absolutely nothing, he was'nt even close to Foy who just dived. Mansaram did the very same thing twice of Wes and Doyle yet did'nt get booked for it.
Thought our goal was very much deserved as we were well on top at that stage, although Sligo were playing good counter attack stuff and had easier chances than what they scored.
The 2nd Sligo goal was a joke ! i've never seen a goalkeeper to dive as slow, the ball bobbeled into the net, and our defence had chances to clear before Mansaram finished. While talking about Mansaram, i was actually dissapointed after all the hype from Sligo fans! 1st half he barely got a touch, Wes totally outplayed him, 2nd half he was better though and made some great runs and held it up well.
Sligo created about 2/3 realy good chances to finish the match in the 2nd half but were let down by really really poor finishing, but we had our chances as well, again let down by poor finishing.
The there a decent crowd there as well, easily over 800, with about 30/40 at most sligo fans i'd say.
FAO: Bray Fans, in particular SuperFrank - Are ya still going to defend Skippy and his kicking ?
Tony is just following on from a Devo tactic of moving people around. Robbie started up front. Moved to right wing at start of second half. Then he swapped with Pip on the left. Sign that the manager does not know his best team. No other club make that amount of changes. No wonder the players look lost on the pitch.
Fully agreed, i could hear him shouting at Doyle saying go back to the 1st half, it was working better ! Another thing, Why did we not attack Foy more ? he's a good footballer and all but FFS he is as slow as they come, not once did we try and use that to our benifit......
Last edited by BrayUnknowns; 19/07/2006 at 11:06 AM.
Actually that's where your wrong. Foy is clearly unfit but that does not affect his pace much. Very few can actually outpace him in my opinion. He makes up ground quite easily.Originally Posted by BrayUnknowns
he uses his class and reading of the game to insure he is rarely left one on one and if he is he just blocks them off if they try to get around him.
he always has so much time on the ball aswell and can go past a player so easily.
Nah ive seen Foy play a good few times before, If Doyle had of run at Foy then theres not a hope in hell if would have caught him, same goes for david Tyrrell if he had of been on long enough.Originally Posted by sligoman