Page 7 of 12 FirstFirst ... 56789 ... LastLast

Thread: Dublin City Fold

My heart goes out to all the fans of Dublin City FC.

I will always remember you for relegating the homeless scum.

The Rovers fans on here say "you are not a real club", obviously to them you have to have won trophies in the stone age, brag about it ever since and have people afraid to bring their families to your games to qualify for that privilege.

At least you guys bowed out in the Premier Division, unlike the green and white history book.

Quote Originally Posted by dancinpants
    Has Ollie got an appeal against the point deductions in the pipeline yet?

Top scorer list needs updating too.
    I reckon we won't hear the last of this, sure we won the league in the courts before.
    Who Cares?!

I was talking to a couple of Killester players this evening to see if they have heard anythin about this yet regarding their cup game, they just hope they get a biggy in the next providing that they don't have to play Monaghan?!
    Who Cares?!

Well Dublin City are gone it begs the question who will be next?

I also wish to wishes to fans of Dublin City who were constantly the butt of jokes on this and other sites. At the end of the day we are all Eircom league fans and a rarity, I have no love for Seery, Dublin City and especially not for the filthbag Keely but I have a lot of respect for the small hardcore of Vikings. Fair play lads
    "The Derry fans were fantastic in both matches. They sang their hearts out all the time and created an even better atmosphere than the Cup Final. They were brilliant. - David Graham, Gretna striker

agreed
    No Comment.

Well any Dublin City fans are welcome in Belfield any time they want to visit. Just bring your scarves and colours you'll blend right in!

are they gone as a football club full stop just an EL side?

Are yous moving to the belfield bowl for next season?
    No Comment.

Quote Originally Posted by nshoop
    Are yous moving to the belfield bowl for next season?
    Yes the Nou Campus will open for the 2007 season for soccer

Quote Originally Posted by Roverstillidie
    are they gone as a football club full stop just an EL side?
    Totally as I understand from the statement issued after the emergency EL meeting held this afternoon.

Quote Originally Posted by CollegeTillIDie
    Yes the Nou Campus will open for the 2007 season for soccer
    ucd fans happy or sad?
    No Comment.

ucd fans happy or sad?
    About Dublin City going? Well honestly don't like to see any clubs leave during a season gives the EL a bad name , gives the bar stoolers another stick to beat us with. Begs the question though which club will bite the dust next?
    We might end up with a one division eighteen team league being run by the FAI if too many more go the way of Dublin City.

International Prospect DmanDmythDledge's Avatar
    ucd fans happy or sad?
    Well I'm sad as Belfield Park has been the home of UCD AFC since I began supporting them 10 years ago. I have many great memories of the ground and despite what some travelling support thought it was a nice ground. Also the playing surface was one of the best in the league. I remain to be convinced that the Bowl will be any better than Belfield Park as work still has to be done(I think) to get it up to the standard that Belfield Park is at, at the moment. Also sharing the pitch with the rugby club will deteriate its condition.

Quote Originally Posted by BohsBohsBohs
    If UCD could somehow build up a support amongst its student base, which has got to be possible (though I don't see it happening) then they would be a fantastic addition to the league. As it stands I don't think that they bring anything to Irish football.

Well it's clear that you are too young to remember Dave Tilson and EOin Mullen who were developed into EL players at UCD and later played for Bohs. That's what we bring to the League not to mention educating young fellas who might not otherwise get third level education and setting them up for life after football , before their careers begin in earnest.
    The student base is a dead duck as regards support. Summer soccer has killed that idea off permanently.
    Better chance of getting support from the local suburbs and work has been done on this very point over the past number of years. Soccer camps run during the summer of attracted kids and their parents to matches. Core support is growing. Drop in average gates is largely down to massive drop in visiting support at UCD this season.
    Last edited by CollegeTillIDie; 19/07/2006 at 11:11 PM.

FORMERLY: City till I Die Aaron's Avatar
    74 Posts
    Well it's clear that you are too young to remember Dave Tilson and EOin Mullen who were developed into EL players at UCD and later played for Bohs. That's what we bring to the League not to mention educating young fellas who might not otherwise get third level education and setting them up for life after football , before their careers begin in earnest.
    The student base is a dead duck as regards support. Better chance of getting support from the local suburbs and work has been done on this very point over the past number of years. Soccer camps run during the summer of attracted kids and their parents to matches. Core support is growing. Drop in average gates is largely down to massive drop in visiting support at UCD this season.
    I agree, you gave us Clive Delaney, Ciaran Martyn, Pat Jennings. Three quality players. I was reading an old programme and the squad UCD had then, if you put that team back together now they wud be challenging for europe. The players were inexperienced then but have come on great now.

Quote Originally Posted by Drumcondra Red
    give back all points removed, they were won on the pitch, not off it!!!
    Couldn't agree more -where were you in 2001/2002, you could have told that to the FAI!

Always knew it would end like this for Seery's Continuity Home Farm, just surprised that the end happened so quickly. Although the fact that this hasn't even been a major story in the sports bulletins this evening shows that maybe the signs were there but nobody really cared.

The good news for the league is that this was surely a one-off. The only way this would happen again is if there was another club with financial difficulties, a history of overspending for short-term success, no ground, no great tradition in the area they play in, a small but unquestioning fanbase and 99.99% owed by one person....

Hmmmm
    SIGNATURESCOPE

About Belfield Park I am sad. I have been attending games there since 1981 and as has been pointed out one of the best playing surfaces. One possible upside of sharing with Rugby. We might end up the only team able to play on that surface

Quote Originally Posted by City till I Die
    I agree, you gave us , Ciaran Martyn
    they gave him his education,but the streets of Sligo is where he learned how to play.

FORMERLY: City till I Die Aaron's Avatar
    74 Posts
    they gave him his education,but the streets of Sligo is where he learned how to play
    Do they have good coaches on the streets of sligo aswell??

Page 7 of 12 FirstFirst ... 56789 ... LastLast