Thread: super blues

super blues

Great crowed at limerick v leeds last night.there was many
    locals there with there leeds gear on whitch i'v no problem with. but what stricks me as been sad is the same people wont bother follow there own home side week in week out!!they'y rather support a team from another country..

Great Night last night and the turnout was excellent.

I know the following other teams does grate a bit ok. We mostly all have teams we follow in the UK and thats grand. I follow the misfoutunes of QPR for my sins and head over to a few matches yearly. We have Watford, Man City, Man U, Leeds, Liverpool etc supporters among our Limerick FC Supporters.

But that does not stop these guys from following their local team, both are not mutually exclusive. Hopefully some of people from last night who bought scarves, Badges will turn up on a Friday eve to watch their local team play.
    "How Can you lie there and think of England when you don't even know who's in the team"-- B.Bragg

super blues

I'v no prolbem with people supporting the likes of the man u's liverpool's ect.its just sad that these people won't bother there arse supporting there own.i have an interest in west ham but that dos'nt stop me putting limerick first after all thats where i'm from.Hopfully some of the people will return on friday night but i would'nt bank on it though!!!

Agree prob find that we will back to approx 250 people on Fri night
    "How Can you lie there and think of England when you don't even know who's in the team"-- B.Bragg

This is only to be expected!The problem is that these potential fans won't bother to come and watch even when their teams are away/not playing!

Agree - It's mighty at Hogan park!!!

After years supporting Limerick on the teletext , I finally took the plunge with the Rovers game. Loved it , been at the few matches since. Doesn't mean I won't support Liverpool any less but the least I can do is support my own local team. If a few more were to follow my example we could build a serious support..

Quote Originally Posted by BarryD
    After years supporting Limerick on the teletext , I finally took the plunge with the Rovers game. Loved it , been at the few matches since. Doesn't mean I won't support Liverpool any less but the least I can do is support my own local team. If a few more were to follow my example we could build a serious support..
    Fair play Barry - welcome to the fold. I've always preferred live football to TV football (though doesn't mean I won't watch any game from any league on the TV). It does get addictive. You are right about teh need to bring a few buddies along too. The problem is that lads come along judging the standard of play by the standard tehy see on television each week. Nobody should go to eL division 1 for the quality of the play. The important thing is to be part of your local club, to make a difference as a fan rather than as a target market for merchandise. To shout support that can actually be heard by teh players rather than at a tv screen that disappears into the ether and really doesn't make any difference to anyone.

If you stay with it you are in for a hard brutal struggle (that once or twice migth get rewarding) but will be worth it all the same. Make sure you make yourself known at the next game to the guy selling the scarves etc at the next game. That's Gael on here. He can hook you into the supporters club or a few of the lads that post on here if you want.
    "It's impossible to make a man understand something when his livelihood depends on him not understanding" Upton Sinclair

What type of a team did we put out? I hope we played u-21s and gave the first team a break. Especially with the heat.
    "It's impossible to make a man understand something when his livelihood depends on him not understanding" Upton Sinclair

Quote Originally Posted by BarryD
    Damn straight,nothing like the pride of supporting your local team!
    No Comment.

Welcome BarryD. Call over to us on Friday night We will be in the shed behind the goals.The more the merrier

Last night we started with our normal starting line up. Lester ran the show in midfield. He does trhe simple things well and brings the 2 Wingers (Well One as Waters is more a central player IMO) into the game. We played well and had good shape. We could learn a bit from the Leeds defence though, they held a very high line, almost the Half way line. Something we don't seem to be able to do well. We have a habit of letting teams in on us and defending from the edge of our box

Half time no Score and Wholesale changes were made on both sides during the second half. Carthy came on ran himself ragged and scored a nice header. By the end of the game it was Limerick U21s v Leeds Youths and the game petered out, not before Leeds scored a nice equaliser in a scramble in the box.

At least the lads wont be too tired for Friday as they let the ball do most of the work last night and only played 45mins generally.

I'm actually getting abit sick of arguing this point but here are the reasons why people won't 'get off their arses' to support a local team

A) The Eircom League is considered a joke amongst the majority of football fans living in Ireland, end of story, and this buisness with no promotion this year hasn't helped dispell that image at all.

B) Anytime anyone I know that doesn't really give a damn about Eircom League football goes to watch Limerick all they see is a long ball team in action. Pretty much 100% of people I know that have gone to see what the Limerick FC team is all about said they wouldn't bother going back because of the style of football the team plays. Can't say I blame them for that, if I didn't support the team and have a laugh in the shed I'd be bored to tears at those matches*

C) Eircom League fans are notoriously cliquey, think they are better than your average football fan that doesn't watch Eircom league etc. and if you stroll around this forum and other Eircom clubs forums you'll see where that idea comes from.

D) Limerick people are legendary glory hunters, so why hitch up t the Limerick FC-First Division Leaders (sometimes) bandwagon when you have Munster-Champions of Europe out the road

Until most of those points are rectified the attendence won't be massively increasing I'm afraid.

*I haven't been to most games this year due to living and working in Dublin and Cork so the long ball tactics might have changed, although from reports it hasn't

Quote Originally Posted by jebus
    C) Eircom League fans are notoriously cliquey, think they are better than your average football fan
    They are much better than your average football fan and only an average football fan would tell you otherwise.

Quote Originally Posted by jebus
    I'm actually getting abit sick of arguing this point but here are the reasons why people won't 'get off their arses' to support a local team

A) The Eircom League is considered a joke amongst the majority of football fans living in Ireland, end of story, and this buisness with no promotion this year hasn't helped dispell that image at all.

B) Anytime anyone I know that doesn't really give a damn about Eircom League football goes to watch Limerick all they see is a long ball team in action. Pretty much 100% of people I know that have gone to see what the Limerick FC team is all about said they wouldn't bother going back because of the style of football the team plays. Can't say I blame them for that, if I didn't support the team and have a laugh in the shed I'd be bored to tears at those matches*

C) Eircom League fans are notoriously cliquey, think they are better than your average football fan that doesn't watch Eircom league etc. and if you stroll around this forum and other Eircom clubs forums you'll see where that idea comes from.

D) Limerick people are legendary glory hunters, so why hitch up t the Limerick FC-First Division Leaders (sometimes) bandwagon when you have Munster-Champions of Europe out the road

Until most of those points are rectified the attendence won't be massively increasing I'm afraid.

*I haven't been to most games this year due to living and working in Dublin and Cork so the long ball tactics might have changed, although from reports it hasn't
    You left out the glaring point that fans will not go to watch games in sub-standard grounds with sub-standard facilities. Almost to a man, anytime I mention going to a Limerick game to any of my mates/family, I get "sh!thole", in reference to the ground, in some part of the reply. There were six of us at the Leeds game and they were even moaning on the way to the game. I had to bring my car, as the two other car drivers wouldn't park in the area and so parked at my house beforehand instead. This is what Limerick are up against. The attraction of the First Div isn't strong enough, and coupled with the reputation of the ground and the area, the pull just isn't there for the floating fan. Look at Thomond Park, Gaelic Grounds. Look at Dalymount, Tolka, Turners X even, then compare to Rathbane. There's no comparison. At all!

If the Eircom League is a bit of a joke to football followers in this country, well it's nobody but the League, FAI and the Club's fault. Down through the years there has been mismanagement, wasting of funds, lack of promotion and scandal. There has been no stadium/ground developments, no planning for the future, no football academies. Results in Europe have been dismal. Thankfully all this is changing. We're seeing stadium plans, full-time players, licensing, standards, a national technical plan and in general, real ambition for the first time. Results in Europe are getting better and better. If Limerick can build a proper football ground with good facilities it would be a lot more impressive to the barstoolers than what we have now. It would entice support, people would take it more seriously. It's a big factor, believe me.

I hope you didn't park your car in the lane of death,what an entrance to a football stadium.A clever hooper decided to park his car down the lane and drove home with the country air in his face,what a KIP!
    No Comment.

Quote Originally Posted by JohnD
    Last night we started with our normal starting line up. Lester ran the show in midfield.

I dont think that was the normal starting line up especially as it is the first game cooney has started and also Molan was missing was he not?

Fair Comment. Although I thought it was a very good formation and Cooney should be starting all the time..Class Player

Ya he looks very good from what i have seen but does Barrett deserved to be dropped for him is another question..Maybe all 3 could play??Also the is Synnot is he anygood He looked ok on the right the other night but i think that he maybe a centre Mid player also ..whatever way u look at it i suppose that there is a lot of cover in there

Agree We are well coverd in the middle now and Barrett is currently undroppable but we need another Defender (Cover for Paddy and Poss replacement for Kiely) and A Striker who will score at least 10 goals a season..Not to much to ask is it ? . Also a Left Winger as Walters is not one , more of an attacking midfielder imo.

Then we will be guaranteed to win the Divsion

Smile

get finnucane back and surely one of the Dublin City strikers might join our expanding Dublin contingent..Problem solved..

Great minds think a like and all that .