Thread: Rovers fans

46 Posts

Rovers fans

first of all not all rovers fans.

rovers fans last night the lads who was there know who they are. they are the biggest load of scumbags iv ever withnessed thinkers is to kind of word for them animals throwing bottles stones in top of kids who are about 7 to 13 years of age going to the game with there parents. and what i withnessed outside the wheel was just crazy i must agree with gael they picked the wrong pub there. them animals should not be allowed near another limerick game down here again all rovers supporters incuded ye who had noting to do with it and ill be saying it to danny drew what he plans to do about it. from a personal point of view i dont know if i will go to another limerick game again i dont want to go to a game worried about protecting my son from bottle and scumbags and alot of people i was talking to WILL never go to a lim games again. garda also was at fault how did the rovers fans get out ahead of the lims fan when they were suppose to be kept inside the ground. o well it happens i suppose

25 Posts
    The Rovers fans were kept back, I left just after the full time whistle and didn't come across any rovers fans.

Same thing happens anywhere they go to be honest. Galway girl organised sambos for them b4 the last game and there was a great bit of crack but at the game there was one ejection and several missiles thrown onto the pitch. Trouble follows them its as simple as that. I talked to several of their supporters at two a.m. and they were sound even when full of booze. You'll have hassle every now and again at most grounds and I recall years ago away fans getting threats in your ground from young lads riding Pie bald ponies so your not strangers to it no more than ourselves!

tír oilean- one fan being thrown out is no big deal. as for objects being thrown on the pitch , it was a result of your own player celebrating in front of Rovers fans

the gards in limerick were the most useless inept fvckers ive come across in the EL. no wonder the ****e hole of a town in run by gangs

lkimerick fans on a high horse is amusing-limerick is a horrible dive of a place.its been one of the worst places to travel to away games in the EL for decades.

Quote Originally Posted by Roadend
    The Rovers fans were kept back, I left just after the full time whistle and didn't come across any rovers fans.
    They were asked to stay back for 5 minutes until the Limerick fans had gone out of the ground, they must have been told 5 times, but the wannabe Millwall/Rangers fans walked out fast in a group of about 30 looking for trouble.

We met a few real Rovers fans who were disgraced by the Burberry boys, they called them "Scumbags", one guy agreed but said "not all of you though" The Limerick fans had a good craic and went to enjoy the game but about half of the Rovers fans were there to start a riot and were a right shower of thugs, they could have been mistaken for England supporters.

Quote Originally Posted by anto eile
    as for objects being thrown on the pitch , it was a result of your own player celebrating in front of Rovers fans.
    I heard some really pathetic excuses from Shams supporters in the past but this has got to be the worst Why do Shams supporters always try to defend the scumbag element within their support

With every group of supporters there is a chance of a few spontaneous incidents but with Rovers it seems some of their fans are only waiting for an oppurtunity for a little aggro. They have a few ditties which i heard at Terryland with lines like "if your in a pack your gonna get a smack". In fairness though alot of their support are sound.

176 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Ceirtlis
    i heard at Terryland with lines like "if your in a pack your gonna get a smack".
    Of course, you heard it wrong.

Quote Originally Posted by anto eile
    I'm a bit of a wannabe myself whose dearest ambition is to emulate the pond life element supporting Rovers so my opinions should not be afforded any substance at all. This view should also be applied to a proportion of my colleagues on this message board. It is strange that no other club has had trouble in Rathbane I'll concede though...
    Well put anto eile, well put indeed.

quick question for the Limerick fans?

Whose supporters started throwing rocks?

Who broke into Rovers cars and robbed phones etc?

Whose locals steamed out of a pub with stools looking for a row?

Not one incident at that game was started by Rovers fans.

Quote Originally Posted by Roverstillidie
    quick question for the Limerick fans?

Whose supporters started throwing rocks?
    Neither - unless you think there Limerick FC supporters outside the ground?

Who broke into Rovers cars and robbed phones etc?
    I suppose it was local yobs. The fact that stuff was stolen would suggest it wasn't football related but opportunist crime but some lowlife who saw mobile phones on view in a car.

Whose locals steamed out of a pub with stools looking for a row?
    I presume if it happened in Limerick then the locals were Limerick people. Again, hardly Limerick FC supporters if they were in drinking while the game was on.

Not one incident at that game was started by Rovers fans.
    Now for you. Whose supporters stole a flag and planned to burn it at half time? Is that a provocative act? Whose supporters threw a bottle over the wall after leaving the ground back towards where the Limerick fans were exiting? Whose supporters refused to move back to where they were standing at the request of gardai and stewards? Whose supporters refused to stay in the ground for 10 minutes after the game - when they could have been escorted back to buses ift hey wanted?

By definition one car broken into - which happens at grounds all over the country and is not just to get at Rovers - and the Steering Wheel incident happened after the game. How could that justify throwing a bottle at a crowd that includes kids and older fans leaving the ground? Or burning a Limerick flag. Was burning the flag intended to start trouble with Limerick fans?

Every Limerick fan would condemn vandalism of the car, fighting at the Steering Wheel and the stones thrown from outside. I will look to the club to sort out the latter and they are trying to reduce the former (not helped if phones are left on show).

Will Rovers condemn anything their "fans" do? Or will they continue to live in a world where they are white as snow and don't start anything?
    "It's impossible to make a man understand something when his livelihood depends on him not understanding" Upton Sinclair

just one word to sum up the so called rovers fans behind the goals..SCUM

Quote Originally Posted by LFC in Exile

Will Rovers condemn anything their "fans" do? Or will they continue to live in a world where they are white as snow and don't start anything?
    we aren't the ones staring threads on the internet denying all culpability!! the reality is that from start to finish locals attacked rovers fans with stones and there was a reaction. we have never denyed there was a reaction, but the limerick fans are trying to blame it 100% on us. pull the other one.

Will Limerick condemn anything their "fans" do? Or will they continue to live in a world where they are white as snow and don't start anything?

70 Posts

reaction

The only reaction i seen was **** this staying behind 5mins
    getting stoned were out of here

a few of them started a fight down in cobh but got a hammerin,the rest of them were sound up inside the ground.
    Mar 19 Cobh Ramblers3-2 Limerick
    July 23 Ramblers 2-1 Limerick
    Sept 23 Limerick 0-2 Ramblers
    June 28 Ramblers 2-1 Limerick
    Aug 18 Limerick 0-1 Ramblers
    Oct 21 Ramblers 1-0 Limerick

Quote Originally Posted by nismo
    a few of them started a fight down in cobh but got a hammerin,the rest of them were sound up inside the ground.
    Absolute rubbish. You've already posted this in the Cobh section and then said you "heard" it was lads in celtic jersies. Grow up.

Quote Originally Posted by nismo
    I heard that rumour too Nismo but am happy to report thats all it was a rumour started by someone with nothing better to do. The rovers fans were sound and were a good laugh.

1,025 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by NY Hoop
    Absolute rubbish. You've already posted this in the Cobh section and then said you "heard" it was lads in celtic jersies. Grow up.

To be fair, this guy does nothing but troll other boards trying to wind people up.

One of those arrested had a Scottish accent. He took a peno on the pitch at half-time. Did Rovers have a Scottish firm in tow on the night ? The policing at the game was dreadfully inept.

Quote Originally Posted by Johnnie C
    One of those arrested had a Scottish accent. He took a peno on the pitch at half-time. Did Rovers have a Scottish firm in tow on the night ? The policing at the game was dreadfully inept.
    No,he isn't scottish and I think you have been reading a bit too much hoolie literature or watchin too many football factories.There is no firm,it's just a load of wannabes throwing shapes and the odd bottle and most if not all the trouble was caused by locals,it's the truth
    No Comment.