your fooling yourself if you think theres no support from outside the city... with hibs and mervue and the like doing so well in the city sometimes it feels like a country support in the stands
Connacht Tribune or does John McIntyre still believe we have no support outside of the city.
your fooling yourself if you think theres no support from outside the city... with hibs and mervue and the like doing so well in the city sometimes it feels like a country support in the stands
more water!
its John McIntyre im talking about im from the county and would say our support is 50/50 between city & county.
We had a supporters club in dublin with over memers at once stage and we wrote to the editor over the coverage that GUFC received in the tribune because you couldnt get the city edition in dublin and we got a letter back from John stating that there was no interest in GUFC or soccer in the county that was over 20 years ago and it has only improved slightly since.
50/50![]()
My arse!
80/20 anyway.Feck all from the country areas support UTD.One thing about City people in general is they know all about UTD but won't make the treck up the Dyke road!"
I can't imagine the Spidal or Loughrea residents talking about UTD's next match or doing what the city lads do best."We're ****e...We should do this etc etc"![]()
www.galwayunitedfc.net -----New GUFC fans forum and Gust Website.
Europe's Big Club.
"Cause Galway are MASSIVE"-RW Rover on 24/8/07 00:29am
what are you saying there conor
"We're ****e...We should do this etc etc"
is it that city lads complain very well
dont know about 80/20 like i was saying above city heads have other teams they can distract themselves with - next thing it will be comparing relative populations![]()
and i dont know about your attitude of city people, a lot of them would know the score in the knocknacara game at the weekend before the united one
either way surely mcintyres atitude is/was the problem
more water!
Your arse migh be 50/50 but the divide between between city and county supporters is more than 50%. Three years ago, three Commerce students from NUIG carried out a comprehensive study of the potential of support for GUFC. As part of the thesis, they profiled the people who go to games on a regular basis and ther majority were from outside the city.Originally Posted by Conor H
Indeed many of those who contribute to Foot.ie are country boys including gufct, geezer, JW, Tir Oileann (ya T.O., you're a culchie), JC and of course Patrick Dunne. Indeed, PD's back garden is half of the county of Roscommon!
Sorry Conor H, we are in the minority.
Nobody knows us, we don't care
ah jaysus paddy what was i saying about comparing relative populations![]()
anyway im from achlaigh na gaillimhe myself
but sure isint that why its united and not city - im only waffling now!
more water!
Sorry but galway county is full of GAA die Hards.
If UTD were doing well the bulk of our support would come from the City IMO.I know there are a fair few GUFC fans from the Sticks but i still believe the city would have more interest than the county areas.
BTW In my experience nearly everyone with an interest in football would know the score in the last UTD match.Totally disagree with you Corby on that point.
www.galwayunitedfc.net -----New GUFC fans forum and Gust Website.
Europe's Big Club.
"Cause Galway are MASSIVE"-RW Rover on 24/8/07 00:29am
Well Paddy FYI I'm actually within the city boundaries by about a good country mile! I can't win you call me a culchie yet at work I'm the City Slicker! Most of the die hards are from the county rather than the city but you'll find the majority of the remainder are from the city. IIt doesn't matter anyway what's important is that we unite the people as our name suggests.
PS The Tribune should look at the Sligo Champion every once in a while. Even when they were ****e in the first division they had brilliant coverage. I know they have poor GAA / Ruygby but it just goes to show it can be done once the will is their.
Originally Posted by Tir Oilean
Well spotted Tir Oileann. I sometimes peak through the newspaers in a certain downtown Newsagents and it's not only the Sligo Champion that gives good coverage.
And the Sligo Weekender
And the Kilkenny People
And the Kilkenny Advertiser
And the Donegal Democrat
And the Donegal News
And the Dundalk Democrat
And the Athlone Topic
Oh, and the Limerick Leader gives $H!+€ coverage to Limerick FC but that's not our problem.
Nobody knows us, we don't care
Quoting an opinion from the mid 80s and then slating it in the present is a bit over the top IMO. From my experience of reading the sports sections of the paper, the city edition covers events in the city and countywide events in the connacht edition. Slating the local press is never a good idea. Can Galway Utd not be a bit more proactive in their promotion of the game in the county. Get more people interested that way, although the way we're playing right now we'd probably have to pay them to come.
been asking to come down to matches and eventually did start coming are saying there not setting foot in terryland again after sitting through the athlone and dundalk games,if we paid ppl theyd still end up leaving at half time or something if they continue playing the way they are,i want to type a big rant here but will give the players another week(3 games),if no improvement then im letting rip and may copy what a middlesborough fan did last season except ill throw my season ticket at a player not the manager just yet obviously.
with that comment about paying the players,i was continuing the joke,obviously not being serious,just wanted to clear that up![]()
that the situation had improved slightly but the connacht tribunes coverage of united is still bad and actually anyone should check out the papers paddyfield mentions for their "sport coverage" not just soccer which is miles ahead of the tribune.Originally Posted by Gaillimh Al
Conor what you have typed here is absolute crap and as i lve in Athenry and work in loughrea i can tell you that there are far more knowledgable people with a genuine interest in united from both towns than "the city experts" you talk about.
These are also people who have travelled all over the country for years supporting united through thick and thin.
thats right gufct - it takes a lot more effort to get a bus/train/car into united from the country
the people that make that effort really want to be there - sure its easy when united are top of the table(when was that again) or playing a big cup match to head down the road to terryland from the city
conor h - when your talking about football do you mean gaa or soccer - if soccer youd expect that anyway - if it was gaa - i guess we will just have to disagree from my experience - there are plenty of gaa diehards in the whole county - city included - thats why with the poplulation in the city - there isint such a support turning up for the matches, i think
anyway this should not be a city/county thing way more people should be turning up to see united - ive brought so many people in during the years and so few have gone back - their expectations are way to high with telly standards they have seen
its catch 22 - if they dont turn up the money isint there - the standards wont improve
more water!
I have move the posts from the "new stand" thread so this conversation can continue in its own thread.
The Connacht Tribune coverage of football is brutal. At least the City Tribune normally has a back page slot for GUFC.
The Sentinel on Tuesday is a good read for senior and junior football, notices, etc. McIntyre is notoriously anti-GUFC, but he also has the odd amusing swipe at the rugger buggers.
In general, I despise the "people in a pub, yesterday" features which are prominently featured in our local media, as well as tenuous "pillars of the community" articles, which are used to promote individuals businesses.
Last edited by Patrick Dunne; 07/07/2006 at 1:21 PM.
Originally Posted by Conor H
I would have to disagree with you there Conor, Our strongest support has always come from the country IMO. My cousins from Glenamaddy, Athenry, Gort and a few more places dont make the matches much anymore due to family commitments and what not, but they still have very close relationships with the club and would often have news, results and whatever else for me before anyone in the town would catch it on errortel.
errortel - i like that!
how many times were you thinking boring 0-0 - and it turns out beaten 2-0!!
more water!
they never update!
more water!