Thread: League win over Rovers

176 Posts
    This thread is getting stupid now. "You started it, no they did".

I wasn't there, but it was fairly obvious beforehand, that there was going to be aggro to some extent. There was trouble when I was in Rathbane for the cup tie in '87, when we had no "reputation", so it's no shock to find out that there was trouble there now. We've been to some sh!tholes on our travels this season, and this is the first time there has been aggro. Wonder why?

Quote Originally Posted by lfcinexile
    There was a far heavier garda presence at this game than other game in Limerick in years. This is down pure and sinple to Rovers reputation. Trouble arises too frequently at their games for it to be a coincidence.
    Fyi, Rovers fans don't scrap for no reason. There had to be, and indeed was provocation/trouble caused by fans "supporting" your club. If anyone's fans were looking for trouble, you should look closer to home to find out who they were.
    Last edited by mypost; 10/07/2006 at 2:01 PM.
    NL 1st Division Champions 2006
    NL Premier Division Champions 2010
    NL Premier Division Champions 2011

Keep Tallaght Tidy, Throw your rubbish in the Jodi

Ten Years Not Out

Quote Originally Posted by mypost
    Fyi, Rovers fans don't scrap for no reason. There had to be, and indeed was provocation/trouble caused by fans "supporting" your club. If anyone's fans were looking for trouble, you should look closer to home to find out who they were.
    How can you be so sure that there was cause for trouble or any provocation if you weren't there. You're relying on second, maybe third or fourth hand information.

I'm sure that this will be investigated thoroughly by Limerick FC, and if there is cause for any action to be taken by the club against any supporter then that action will be taken.

It's a tad ironic however, that this is the first time since moving back to Hogan Park that there has been any type of violence at all. Never ever been an iota of a problem from any other club to have visited. It's also ironic that practically every other club in the league have had problems with certain elements of Shamrock Rovers support over the years...

I have to say I thought the match was fantastic, the athmosphere was excellent, the chants inspired and the blues brilliant. Thoroughly deserved the win.
    Its worth pointing out to some of the rovers fans a few points here. Some of your "support" stole a flag (or flags counting tuesday night), some of your "support" were thrown out of the ground during the match. At the end of the match near the exit some of your "support" were roaring and shouting, giving the finger and all that well hard behaviour, lims supporters reacted with "cheerio cheerio", hardly provocative behaviour. Some of your "support" then charged at the Limerick fans who included parents with their sons. Then the bottle incident.
    We were then held back for several minutes while yer mob were escorted away. Meanwhile inside the ground one of yer hard men was thrown into the back of a garda van. We eventually leave the ground.
    Yer mob were then seen "charging" the steering wheel pub, the worst possible course of action they could have taken. Fighting then takes place.
    I love the way this becomes translated by rovers fans as "we were merrily strolling around taking in the gorgeuos roxboro shopping centre sights when we were come upon by a pub full of thugs".
    As for incidents of stone throwing from outside the ground and a car being broken into: I didn't see any of that however, thats not to say it didn't happen. Theres a mound of earth behind the wall where the rovers support were stationed. This is due to road works taking place there. For weeks now the sight of a few little heads popping up over the wall to get a free gander at the match has been common. Drew should have taken steps to ensure that when visiting support were being placed there, they would not get hassle from them. Simple as that. The car being burgled is ridiculous considering the unusually high garda presence there. That too should not have happened, no excuses.
    Hogan Park as is, is not the ideal for anyone, not visiting supporters or those of us who call it home (footballing home of course!)
    It is worth noting that on the "ultras" site, which quite frankly is ridiculous, one rovers supporter rightly says that there was no excuse for the behaviour of some of the rovers "support" that he himself saw that night. If more of your support would stand up and face the element within your group that drags you all down, maybe you would not have the reputation you have today. Instead you make excuses for them, which is a pity since they haven't made any for themselves.

Not going to get into all the usual back and forth but it struck me as incredible that after kids outside the ground were throwing in stones on tuesday that this could have happened again friday. Steps should have been taken to make sure this didnt happen.

Secondly there shouldnt be any missiles in the ground whatsoever. But there hundreds of stones lying about. What happened was inevitable because its hard to turn the other cheek when stones are raining in on you. Have to say that NOBODY there should have been chucking them but..........

What difference did it make to have our fans behind the goal?

That ground has been like that since Limerick moved there with absolutely no improvement. Its time to give up on it and move back to the Markets Field surely?

Lastly felt sorry for the guy who wrote " I hate Shamrock Rovers " in the programme. How pathetic and sad. That kind of crap should be left out of official programmes

No complaints with the result btw.

176 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by NY Hoop
    felt sorry for the guy who wrote " I hate Shamrock Rovers " in the programme. How pathetic and sad. That kind of crap should be left out of official programmes
    Great idea to calm tensions, that. What did I say about provocation again??

Imagine the furore if our chairman wrote "I hate Bohemians" on Page 1 of our match programme for the cup match?? Clubs should be looking to diffuse tensions, not fan them at will. But of course, we get blamed for everything that moves, when it comes to security at our matches.

Ten Years Not Out

Quote Originally Posted by WeAreRovers
    Possibly the most ridiculous thing I've read on here. Personally I hate cheap nylon brightly-coloured football jersies. Doesn't mean I'm not a "proper" fan though.

As for the trouble, Sam Savic pretty much summed it up. Rathbane is a disgrace as was the stewarding and policing. As Sam said, one of our Directors was hit by a rock.

A Rovers fan's car window was smashed and the local beauts from the Steering Wheel came charging out with stools and chairs in their hands.

These are, to quote Northside Hoop, stone cold facts. The rubbish on here can be summed up by LFC in Exile's daft notions about wearing colours and the references to Burberry hats. It's been a long time since anyone other than about 3 kids wore Burberry at Rovers.

But hey, don't let any of these facts get in the way of your prejudices. And best of luck with your High Court action - it's the only way you lot will ever be promoted.

how long more are you going appear on foot.ie defending the actions of scumbags? youre at it a long time now. fighting your losing battle.

that group of 60-80 non colour wearing knackers didnt even look bothered that ye lost 1 nil.

as far as the steeing wheel incident goes. if your fans turn around and throw bottles in the direction of kids leaving (on a high i might add) a football match then you gotta take what follows after that.

KOH, the moderators should remove you altogether. youve become a joke.
    you gowl!

176 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by declan hide
    that group of 60-80 non colour wearing knackers didnt even look bothered that ye lost 1 nil.
    And how did you come to that conclusion?

60-80 people paying good money to travel 150 kilometres to Knackeragua were not bothered at losing a top-of the table match? Pull the other one. Limerick fans are as responsible as ours for any trouble that occurred. It takes two to tango.

Any more conspiracy theories up your sleeve while you're at it?

Ten Years Not Out

And how did you come to that conclusion?

60-80 people paying good money to travel 150 kilometres to Knackeragua were not bothered at losing a top-of the table match? Pull the other one. Limerick fans are as responsible as ours for any trouble that occurred. It takes two to tango.

what amuses me WE are denying there is a problem....

How any rovers persons can defend the actions of the 30 scum before during and after the game is beond me. Maybe the ones who are defending are from the 30 scum? Most rovers fans i met on Friday refused to stand anywhere near the scum and one told me that it was the scum who fired stones first at the locals over the wall, climbed the wall and shouted abuse at the locals ( thus inviting trouble onto themselves) i like the way a "female" rovers fan was attacted or hit or something, kinda like Mo Sislack in the simpsons "would someone think of the women and children!" Its a line often thrown in by someone trying to distract from fact/truth. Why wasnt the "scum" bus brought into the ground like any other supporters bus? i think it maybe because of what was on the bus. 1 0 to the blues top of the league, munster cup finalists, 1/2 finals of league cup and next round of FAI cup...thats the real story!

didnt want to part with their "good money" (is the dole and drug money regarded as good? ) when they got to the gate did they????

tell me where in dublin do all those "fans" come from?

yep it takes two to tango but isnt it gas that one of those two is always rovers "fans".

milo corcoran was there. and the league accessor was there also. would be great to hear how they would call it.
    you gowl!

Quote Originally Posted by gael353
    How any rovers persons can defend the actions of the 30 scum before during and after the game is beond me. Maybe the ones who are defending are from the 30 scum? Most rovers fans i met on Friday refused to stand anywhere near the scum and one told me that it was the scum who fired stones first at the locals over the wall, climbed the wall and shouted abuse at the locals ( thus inviting trouble onto themselves) i like the way a "female" rovers fan was attacted or hit or something, kinda like Mo Sislack in the simpsons "would someone think of the women and children!" Its a line often thrown in by someone trying to distract from fact/truth. Why wasnt the "scum" bus brought into the ground like any other supporters bus? i think it maybe because of what was on the bus. 1 0 to the blues top of the league, munster cup finalists, 1/2 finals of league cup and next round of FAI cup...thats the real story!
    Read my earlier post again. I didn't "throw in" the line about a female supporter being attacked to distract from the truth. The cheek of you. I knew I was wasting my time.
    Just thought I'd mention - we brought 700 fans to Newbridge, 2 Gardai on duty, no segregation, no trouble. We brought 400 to Monaghan, no Gardai on duty, no segregation, no trouble.
    I'm not the one on here making things up as I go along. EVERYTHING I've stated is fact. I'm not in the habit of resorting to Evening Herald journalism.
    But yes, I am wasting my time.

176 Posts
    didnt want to part with their "good money" (is the dole and drug money regarded as good? ) when they got to the gate did they??

tell me where in dublin do all those "fans" come from?
    What's it to you?

yep it takes two to tango but isnt it gas that one of those two is always rovers "fans".
    Like at Bohs-Drogs, Bohs-Cork, Bohs-Shels, Shels-Pats, and of course Shels-Linfield. "Always" Rovers fans. Paranoia, how are you?

milo corcoran was there. and the league accessor was there also. would be great to hear how they would call it.
    I hear the sound of silence from them instead.

Ten Years Not Out

Not going to get into all the usual back and forth but it struck me as incredible that after kids outside the ground were throwing in stones on tuesday that this could have happened again friday. Steps should have been taken to make sure this didnt happen.

Secondly there shouldnt be any missiles in the ground whatsoever. But there hundreds of stones lying about. What happened was inevitable because its hard to turn the other cheek when stones are raining in on you. Have to say that NOBODY there should have been chucking them but..........

What difference did it make to have our fans behind the goal?

That ground has been like that since Limerick moved there with absolutely no improvement. Its time to give up on it and move back to the Markets Field surely?

Lastly felt sorry for the guy who wrote " I hate Shamrock Rovers " in the programme. How pathetic and sad. That kind of crap should be left out of official programmes

No complaints with the result btw.

I agree 100% with you about the stone throwing. It happened at the game tuesday nite and steps should have been taken to ensure it did not happen again. This is Limericks responsibility. Also the ground does need a clean up so no potential missiles are lying around.

However saying that, the behaviour from that 30 or so group of Rovers supporters was unacceptable. It was clear that they were in Limerick with the intention of starting trouble.

how long more are you going appear on foot.ie defending the actions of scumbags? youre at it a long time now. fighting your losing battle.

as far as the steeing wheel incident goes. if your fans turn around and throw bottles in the direction of kids leaving (on a high i might add) a football match then you gotta take what follows after that.

KOH, the moderators should remove you altogether. youve become a joke.
    I stood behind that goal and for that ALONE, I've been called scum and a scumbag by more than one poster on here. And you want me banned?

All I offered was an eye-witness account, nothing more, nothing less. I suspect your hysterical reaction was due to my comment about you not getting promoted. Try sorting out your own problems before taking it out on away fans - both in the ground and on message boards.

Under current circumstances you won't be promoted and calling football fans who were attacked both inside and outside your ground "scum" won't deflect from that or help your situation.

No One Likes Us, We Don't Care

Quote Originally Posted by Sam Savic
    Just thought I'd mention - we brought 700 fans to Newbridge, 2 Gardai on duty, no segregation, no trouble. We brought 400 to Monaghan, no Gardai on duty, no segregation, no trouble.
    I'm not the one on here making things up as I go along. EVERYTHING I've stated is fact. I'm not in the habit of resorting to Evening Herald journalism.
    But yes, I am wasting my time.
    fair enough but honestly poor examples. Monaghan have no support and Kildare County arent far behind them...its hard to riot on your own!..id imagine

I stood behind that goal and for that ALONE, I've been called scum and a scumbag by more than one poster on here. And you want me banned?
    The spinning and twisting here is unreal. Rovers are obviously well usedto trying to defend the indefensible. The pattern seems to be to pick on one aspect of the criticism and defend that, for example standing behind the goal. As far as I can see nobody is suggesting that for standing behind the goal ALONE was the problem. That was incidental in the bigger scheme of things. Also, I think every poster is referring to the element of Rovers fans that caused trouble and tried to provoke trouble by stealing and attempting to burn the flag as the problem. It is accepted by all that most Rovers fans are sound - their efforts to save their club are a great example to all eL fans. I didn't go into the shed last Friday because I was at the match with a friend who supports Rovers.

Every Limerick fan here agrees that the club needs to do something about the stone throwing. Gael, with your connections to the club can you raise it as a problem with them. It is the club's own interest to solve this because if someone gets hurt by it we will rightly be in big trouble.

Lads, lets forget about this now. We are not going to change minds among Rovers fans and anyway why should we bother. If they don't want to deal with their issues let them off. Let's deal with our own and take care of our own club.
    "It's impossible to make a man understand something when his livelihood depends on him not understanding" Upton Sinclair

I'm surprised at you NY Hoop - you sound like a sensible fella. You should in fairness also quote the end of the article.

"Despite starting out this article claiming that I hate Rovers I take no pleasure from their relegation and the disgraceful actions from another "sporting organization" in an attempt to scupper the Tallaght stadium project and kill Rovers. Whatever about football rivalries I can't imagine any Irish football fan taking pleasure from Rovers current situation. I hope the government has the courage to finally stand up to a so-called "sporting organization" and tell them to back off on Tallaght and count their own blessings on the amount of funding they've received. I hope to see Rovers contest many more cup finals and then I hope they lose every single one of them."

I hate Rovers too - but it is a sporting rivalry. I admire (and envy) what their fans have done to save their club. But I still love to see tham lose because I think they have an inflated idea of their own importance and everyone likes to see those types of clubs and teams get taken down a peg (on the pitch). I'm sure you take great pleasure out of Bohs failures.

Don't make this out to be something it's not by using selective quotes.
    "It's impossible to make a man understand something when his livelihood depends on him not understanding" Upton Sinclair

All I offered was an eye-witness account, nothing more, nothing less. I suspect your hysterical reaction was due to my comment about you not getting promoted. Try sorting out your own problems before taking it out on away fans - both in the ground and on message boards.

Under current circumstances you won't be promoted and calling football fans who were attacked both inside and outside your ground "scum" won't deflect from that or help your situation.

so you stood behind the goal. grand...tell us about the flag then?

as far as i can see thats what started this whole mess.
    you gowl!

so you stood behind the goal. grand...tell us about the flag then?

as far as i can see thats what started this whole mess.
    No, the flag started nothing. Because it was taken off the Rovers fan that had it before he could start to do anything to it. I think the intention was to provoke some reaction by burning it but that did not happen. The real issue IMO was the two sets of fans arriving at the exit together. If the Rovers fans had stayed behind after the end to allow he Limerick fans disperse (even if the gardai and stewards had allowed them move over to the dressing room side but held them back from the gate then there would have been no incidents to speak of really.

Quote Originally Posted by northside hoop
    The proper thing to do is get the away fans out first because they have to go home.
    That's presuming they'd go home.

No, it is easier to escort the away fans to their buses etc when they are kept together. Unless you think all crowd control efforts around teh world have got this wrong.