Thread: League win over Rovers

Thumbs up League win over Rovers

First up can i just say that the majority of Rovers fans are some of the best supporters in the country. Well done on comming down and on playing a great roll of supporting your team in what was a very exciting game.

The Flag
    Yes it turned up under the jacket of a "rovers fan" douced in petrol and beer. Great to have it back and no i wont gloat over the rovers fans who were saying it wasnt them etc.

About 1100 at the game with about 100 real rovers fans and 30/40 giro boys in burbury hats throwing stones Rov security guy " i didnt see anything" three arrested outside the ground for fighting, Rov security guy " i didnt see anything" one kicked out for robbing or being in possession of the flag, two more arrested for fighting and charging at the women after the game Rov security guy " i didnt see anything" but then they all got nabbed for being stupid....yes they went into the steering wheel Wrong pub, wrong city lads, and all spent the night in the cells of Roxboro Garda Station. It was funny but even as one guy was being arrested and put in the paddy wagon earlier in the ground the rovers security guy was still saying " i ddint see anything that would warrent any action been taken, if you have the names of any of our fans who done anything please let me know" i asked him to walk over to the paddy wagon but he refused and then gave him the number of Roxboro but he wouldnt take it. Funny That lol

But happy days as we won this game with a cracker of a goal from Rose. Well taken and well deserved me thinks. Type away lads lol we are top of the league we are top of the league
    Last edited by gael353; 08/07/2006 at 11:38 AM.

Great, great result, I'd say it must have been a corker of a game, sadly my Dublin exile continues *sob*. Shame about the trouble after and during the game, but sadly when a club's supporters go around pretending they are akin to the Lazio Ultras then they will attract a certain Burberry element to it.

The result made me a very happy man but the fact that the scroats paid a visit to the Steering Wheel made me Feckking Delerious.
    Superb

Great Win. Still Laughing about the Rovers Scumbags going into the Steering Wheel . seriously though the Club stewards should have kept them in for the 10mins and we all could have gone home safe. Next time hopefully that will happen.

They are some shower. I have never seen behaviour like that at a LOI ground before.

On the Pitch though Full credit to the boys: Rosie was great as usual and Tommy was outstanding in the middle again. Great Win Well done boys
    "How Can you lie there and think of England when you don't even know who's in the team"-- B.Bragg

It is probably a waste of time replying here. Firstly, the Rovers fans throwing stones were throwing them at the knackers OUTSIDE the wall who started throwing them over at us. One of our board members was hit while he waited outside the portaloo. Secondly, one of our female supporters was assaulted by a steward as she ran onto the pitch after the final whistle to avoid the stone throwing. The steward hadn't a word of English. Luckily, another steward came over and sorted him out. Thirdly, you forgot to mention that the Rovers team bus was attacked. Maybe you were gone home at that stage and didn't hear about it.
    Also, the Rovers security guy was on the bank behind the goal until about 10 minutes after the final whistle to observe the stone throwing situation so I presume when and if he said he saw nothing ( outside the ground or at the exit ) then he is telling the truth.
    Lastly, I can't see Limerick FC being allowed to use Hogan Park next season when the safety of the opposition cannot be guaranteed there.
    By the way, from a football point of view, Limerick were by far the better team on the night.

all one sided nonsense/propaganda from the limerick fans on here..
    drivel

Quote Originally Posted by Sam Savic
    It is probably a waste of time replying here. Firstly, the Rovers fans throwing stones were throwing them at the knackers OUTSIDE the wall who started throwing them over at us. One of our board members was hit while he waited outside the portaloo. Secondly, one of our female supporters was assaulted by a steward as she ran onto the pitch after the final whistle to avoid the stone throwing. The steward hadn't a word of English. Luckily, another steward came over and sorted him out. Thirdly, you forgot to mention that the Rovers team bus was attacked. Maybe you were gone home at that stage and didn't hear about it.
    Also, the Rovers security guy was on the bank behind the goal until about 10 minutes after the final whistle to observe the stone throwing situation so I presume when and if he said he saw nothing ( outside the ground or at the exit ) then he is telling the truth.
    Lastly, I can't see Limerick FC being allowed to use Hogan Park next season when the safety of the opposition cannot be guaranteed there.
    By the way, from a football point of view, Limerick were by far the better team on the night.
    Yes, but whos time are you honestly wasting? Thats the biggest load of **** ive ever read on this MB. You dint have a job in the 40s as a propaganda guy for a party in Germany no?

[QUOTE=Sam Savic]. Thirdly, you forgot to mention that the Rovers team bus was attacked. Maybe you were gone home at that stage and didn't hear about it.
    QUOTE]

Were the attackers of the bus wearing burberry hats?

You are unreal. Well said Gael. I have never seen so much revionism since the denial of the Holocaust by David Irvine !

Rovers Fans were looking for Trouble and I'm afraid they got it. Why dont You try to watch football for a change ?
    "How Can you lie there and think of England when you don't even know who's in the team"-- B.Bragg

First off a great result - we were well worth our win.

After something like this there is always conflicts in evidence but in fairness afew things have to be noted.

There was a far heavier garda presence at this game than other game in Limerick in years. This is down pure and sinple to Rovers reputation. Trouble arises too frequently at their games for it to be a coincidence. IMO the gardai were not heavy handed.

At half time a large group of Rovers "fans" moved over behind the goal and refused to move back to where they were for the first half. This was the first inkling of any bother as far as I could see. What was really noticeable about that group was the complete lack of jersies, scarves or any Rovers colours. It strikes me as amazing that a group of fans would travel 120 miles to support heir team and of the 60-80 of them not one would have a jersey or scarf on.

It was one of that group who tried to take out the flag to apparently burn it. He was escorted out of the ground.

I am very reluctant to believe the Rovers fans posting here, though we have heard before of stones being thrown over the wall into the ground. I think Limerick security have got to do something about this if it is happening. It would be unacceptable if someone gets seriously hurt by something like this. They must post security men outside the ground.

The gardai and security were unable to keep the Rovers "fans" behind afterwards because they were climbing over the wall at that end and it was pointless trying to hold them. However, once the decision was made to take them out the main gate the Limerick fans making their way from the opposite end should have been held back. There were Limerick fans taunting the Rovers fans as they left. It was not bad but it was obvious that some of the Rovers "fans" would react. I did see one bottle thrown from outside the ground just after the Rovers fans exited that was aimed at the gathering of Limerick fans still inside the gate.

I think it was clear that there were fellas down with Rovers that were not interested in the game and were looking for trouble. This is by no means all of the Rovers fans. But there was sizeable proportion up for it. Rovers really need to do something about this. If they don't then they deserve the treatment they get each week from security and gardai.

As far as Rathbane is concerned I agree that it is not suitable for premier matches as it stands froma security perspective. The walls are too easy to climb. There is no policing of the wall outside the ground. All fans must enter and exit by the same gate. If the incident was worse last Friday then we were in trouble because of the layout of the ground which makes it very difficult to properly secure.
    "It's impossible to make a man understand something when his livelihood depends on him not understanding" Upton Sinclair

Ok to spell it out for you:

The Burberry clad types (apprx 50) are not interested in football just having a Scrap. They caused trouble outside the main gate...Rushed in without paying..tried to burn our Flag that they stole on the previous Tues..threw bottles and stupidly tried to cause trouble in the Steering Wheel Pub.

Need I go on. In Short they are Scum and deserve all the tretment they got from the Law. Everybody in the League hates ye..I wonder why ? We all cant be wrong

25 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by LFC in Exile
    What was really noticeable about that group was the complete lack of jersies, scarves or any Rovers colours. It strikes me as amazing that a group of fans would travel 120 miles to support heir team and of the 60-80 of them not one would have a jersey or scarf on.
    This may surprise you, but a lot of fans don't have to wear colours to prove they are a fan, I find your comment to be ridiculous actually.

I have to say though, the "trouble" as its coming across here is being blown out of all proportion.

Quote Originally Posted by Roadend
    This may surprise you, but a lot of fans don't have to wear colours to prove they are a fan, I find your comment to be ridiculous actually.
    Of course they don't. But are you seriously telling me that it is not unusual that not one of a group of 60-80 travelling supporters had any colours? Most of these guys were not wearing colours so that when they started or responded to trouble they could not be identified as Rovers fans. If you think otherwise you must be simple. Now, either Rovers sort this problem out or they accept the horrible element that follows them.

Every single time there is trouble at a Rovers game there are excuses. The player celebrated in front of the fans, there were stones thrwon at them first etc etc etc ad nauseum. It is time for Rovers to cop on to themselves (I mean the club) and seriously sort out this problem. Making excuses for it just prevents the problem being dealt with and Rovers have got a problem.

With regards to the problems being over-hyped, you are probably right. But this is the first time I have seen any animosity at all between fans at a Limerick match since a Rovers match in the mid-90s. What happened may not be big news for Rovers fans - maybe it happens every week. But the reaction from Limerick fans is not innocence or hype - it is that this does not happen at Rathbane on even a rare basis.
    "It's impossible to make a man understand something when his livelihood depends on him not understanding" Upton Sinclair

I have to say though, the "trouble" as its coming across here is being blown out of all proportion.
    Possibly the most ridiculous thing I've read on here. Personally I hate cheap nylon brightly-coloured football jersies. Doesn't mean I'm not a "proper" fan though.

As for the trouble, Sam Savic pretty much summed it up. Rathbane is a disgrace as was the stewarding and policing. As Sam said, one of our Directors was hit by a rock.

A Rovers fan's car window was smashed and the local beauts from the Steering Wheel came charging out with stools and chairs in their hands.

These are, to quote Northside Hoop, stone cold facts. The rubbish on here can be summed up by LFC in Exile's daft notions about wearing colours and the references to Burberry hats. It's been a long time since anyone other than about 3 kids wore Burberry at Rovers.

But hey, don't let any of these facts get in the way of your prejudices. And best of luck with your High Court action - it's the only way you lot will ever be promoted.

No One Likes Us, We Don't Care

Quote Originally Posted by WeAreRovers
    The rubbish on here can be summed up by LFC in Exile's daft notions about wearing colours and the references to Burberry hats.
    Fair enough. Keep fooling yourselves. Everyone else is out to get Rovers fans. You were all down to enjoy a nice day at the game. Nothing sinister at all.

You can pick up on one little comment and attack that if you want (you should know that the reference to Burberry hats - which wasn't mine by the way but why worry about grammar - is not literally about Burberry hats but the Ultra/hard man styled lad very much in evidence among the Rovers contingent last Friday).

Second, you can try to deliberately miss my point about colours all you like. There were obviously guys at that game who did not wear colours because they did not want to be identified as Rovers fans if trouble flared. They can more easily blend into a crowd and can also subsequently pin blame on 'locals'. You can accept this if you want or you can continue to be petty about it. I hardly think there is a huge nylon and polyester allergy among Rovers 'fans'.

I think if you read my earlier post you'll see I accept all teh problems with Rathbane from a security perspective.

At this stage it's just time to let it go. We got our three points - we were the far better side. We cannot play in the premier next season if Rathbane (as is) is our ground. But we'll be playing you next season all the same - you're awful.

25 Posts
    As regards the Burberry gear, I arrived 5 minutes late just as the kerfuffle at the gate died down, I did notice that a guy who appeard to be a senior Rovers fan figure had a burberry polo shirt on....

A quote from a Rovers fan on the Ultras website:

"since they were not wearing colours(how suprising!) there should be no penalties for the club except for another dent in our reputation!"

He seems to also think the lack of colours could be linked to the need to not be identified as a Rovers fan rather than the nylon allergy. Silly boy.

25 Posts
    Did you read what he said?
    Quote Originally Posted by WeAreRovers
    Personally I hate cheap nylon brightly-coloured football jersies. Doesn't mean I'm not a "proper" fan though.

Still you still seem to equate colours with how much of a fan you are, which I really find quite silly.

Did you read what he said?

Still you still seem to equate colours with how much of a fan you are, which I really find quite silly.
    Jesus Christ. How many ways do I have to say it. I do not equate colours with the quality of a fans support. If one lad turns up decked out head to toe in blue he is not by definition a better Limerick fan than someone who is not wearing any blue. Okay, is that clear?

My point is that the lads behind the goals were not wearing colours. As the poster on the Ultras website also seems to suggest I think this was to avoid being identified as Rovers fans if trouble started. It is unusual that so many would not have any colours (not jersies but any colours) of the team they have travelled so far to support.

25 Posts
    Its true, I had no idea they were rovers fans because of it. None whatsoever.