Thread: Totti the Cheat (to his own players and fans)

Totti the Cheat (to his own players and fans)

Anybody else think that Totti was a disgrace last night in his performance and behaviours. It was one of the worst, self centered performances I have seen in a long time. It reminded me of playing football as kid and there was always one guy playing on his own rather than with or for the team. In my view he was the exact opposite of Cannavarro last night.
    In Trap we trust

Totti is an idiot but he was one of the best players on the pitch for the 1st 45 minutes. That is how Totti plays. He doesn't hold onto the ball and just gets rid of it asap. It's how he gets so many assists and should have had his 5th assist of the WC last night if Perrotta showed more composure.

I couldn't stop laughing when he tried to hurdle Ballack.

I think he played well possibly for the 1st 20 mins but I will give him 30 mins. But after that he was a disgrace in my view. In the 2nd half when they needed to keep the ball he never did. Zidane plays in the same position as him and he keeps the ball far better. Totti has been rubbish at every major tournament that he has played in.
    In Trap we trust

Quote Originally Posted by NeilMcD
    Totti has been rubbish at every major tournament that he has played in.
    I have to correct you on that. Only Zidane was better than him at Euro 2000. Regarding his first half performance - I went onto the BBC site at h/t and he was the highest rated players which isn't bad considering he's despised by most outside of Italy. In fairness, he's usually frustrating when he tries to do the impossible but after half time last night he couldn't even pull off the simplest of passes, every pass was going astray.

He's regarded as probably the best player in Serie A and that is by regular Serie A watchers. I don't think it's right to judge him on his performances in major tournaments without watching him weeks in week out for Roma. Probably only Henry would produce more end product than Totti at club level.

Sorry I am judging him on his performances for Italy as that says a lot about the guy. He does not do it for his national side. He was a disgrace last night in my view and any time I have seen him play he has been a disgrace. 2002 and 2004 he was a joke. Thats enough times I feel to judge him at international level. I agree he is top class at club level but that shows there is something vital wrong with his personality. I never said he did not have the ability THat is why my thread is titled Totti the cheat. I feel he is cheating the players the fans and managment.
    In Trap we trust

38 Posts
    I thought he played selflessly and well last night.

Held his position, didn't try to make the world revolve around himself, recognised the limitations imposed upon his game by lack of match fitness and delivered some quality first-time mid-range passes behind the full-backs when the opportunity arose.
    A leading authority on League of Ireland football since 2003. You're probably wrong.

Quote Originally Posted by Sheridan
    I thought he played selflessly and well last night.

Held his position, didn't try to make the world revolve around himself, recognised the limitations imposed upon his game by lack of match fitness and delivered some quality first-time mid-range passes behind the full-backs when the opportunity arose.
    Exactly but anti-Italian hysteria is hard to combat at times.

He was playing alongside Pirlo and Gattuso so his role was very well-defined and he did exactly what was asked of him. Fair enough he got tired towards the end but he had as much left in the tank as the much-vaunted Michael Ballack.

FORZA ITALIA

No One Likes Us, We Don't Care

Jaysus, I thought it was the best I've seen Totti play in a major competition.

Quote Originally Posted by WeAreRovers
    He was playing alongside Pirlo and Gattuso so his role was very well-defined and he did exactly what was asked of him. Fair enough he got tired towards the end but he had as much left in the tank as the much-vaunted Michael Ballack.

Thats a pretty accurate assessment of how Totti did in my book and for NeilMcD to call him a cheat for having a particular style of play is an ignorant stupid remark. Cheating in my book is diving, trying to get others booked etc, not laying the ball off too quickly, or holding on to it for too long or not passing it well enough. Lippi knows what kind of game Totti brings and picks him accordingly. Clling him a cheat over his style of play is like saying Phil Mickelson is a cheat because he's a left handed golfer.Why isn't Ballack being called a bigger cheat for the way he drifted in and out of the game, and doing nothing really of note??

Stupidest comment I've seen posted here for a while.

2,796 Posts
    Thought Totti played well enough. Some of his passing was very speculative but sometimes it pays off & sometimes it doesn't.

The game in general was played in a great spirit, especially Gattuso who just goes up & up in my estimation, as a player and as a sportsman.

However, two natable exceptions were Ballack (pretending he was hurt SHAKING HANDS with Gattuso) and Totti who was holding his face pretending he was hurt so many times I lost count.

Quote Originally Posted by WeAreRovers
    Exactly but anti-Italian hysteria is hard to combat at times.

I agree. Italy were not playing much of a possession game especially in the last third of the pitch. When people say he faded in the 2nd half they should remember he came into the tournament off a broken leg & hadn't played a game in the 2nd half of the Serie A season.

Its hard to compare him to Zidane or others as he a different player & more forward than midfielder.

The anti Italian bias is everywhere.

If he was crap why didn't Lippi sub him? He did it in other games.

Sorry can we stop this crap now. Anti Italian bias, I love Italy its country and its players and Cannavarro was top class last night. I jumped out of my seat when They scored and it was one of the most enjoyable games I have seen in a long time. So number for to say my comments were motivated or to hint that was the reason is ignorant.

Also I did not call him a cheat for having a particular style of play, and to say that is an ignorant remark in my view. I said he was a cheat because he was not selflessing dontating himself to the Italian cause. I have seen him play for Roma and I have seen him play for Italy. Its like 2 different things. His bevaviour in 2004 was a joke as was his performances in 2002.

In my view the guy is self centered and he plays the game as such. The amount of times he tried Hollywood passess last night both in the 1st half and the 2nd half was unreal. Giles compared him to Rodney Marsh and I would add Duncan Mckensie to this list also. Its a player playing to the gallery rather than doing the basics of football right which is keeping the ball and tracking back and tackling etc. So many Italian moves broke down when Totti got the ball because he kept on trying to make a killer pass which was clearly now working.

Also I posted a thread about Henry and now I post one about Totti and I get accused of not postilng about Ballack. I can only post up about so many players. Why did I not post up bout De Marcus Beasly or Frank Lampard or many many more. Cause there is only certain about of hours in a day.
    In Trap we trust

Quote Originally Posted by pete

If he was crap why didn't Lippi sub him? He did it in other games.

One reason penalties, Giles Dunphy and Brady said as much last night. I was shouting at the TV throughout the whole game at Totti for his performance before anybody accuses me of blindly following the RTE panel.
    In Trap we trust

Giles & Dunphy have lost the plot so i don't listen to them anymore. FFS Giles was criticising Ronaldinho for not tracking back & marking players in the penalty box - he doesn't do that as thats for the plodders, better for him to be ready to counter-attack & win the game. I also heard Giles was saying Riquelme useless based on 2 games he saw against Arsenal.

I'll admit Totti not great but saying he was useless last night is over reacting.

Giles never said Riquelme was useless, he just said he wasn't the best in the world. I agree

Yeah totall misquoting of Giles.
    In Trap we trust

229 Posts
    I thought he played well myself, as did all the Italian side, particularly the defence and midfield, with Toni being the only disappointment, although he still put in ad ecent shift.

Gattusso - Tireless tackling, breaking down of opponents attacks.
    Pirlo - Absolute quality, taking the ball from defence (always an outlet) and safely starting off attacks, probing, keeping posession
    Totti - Great Link up play, some fabulous through balls (yes they don't always come off).

Im not sure if you've been drinking too much Red Bull NeilMc but you appear very passionate about this subject??? As Dodge said, I thought it was one of the better performances I have seen from Totti.
    I thought you were off the drink Ronnie?

"No, I drink to help me mind my own business....can I get you one? (c) Ronnie Drew

Totti lost his super powers when he cut his locks.

I found that people watching the match on BBC didn't think Totti played badly but the lads on RTE absolutely hate Totti. I'm just happy Houghton wasn't commentating as he seems to hate all things Italian.

Italy deserved to win last night end of story. I am with Brendan Behan on the subject of their begrudgers
    Cannavaro is player of the World Cup and Buffon is the #1 keeper in the World!